We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Ugadale while I was in the area to play golf at the Dunes and the Old course. Very good food, helpful and supporting staff, great shuttle service, just a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

I Have stayed at the Ugadale Hotel for 3 nights this week and can not fault the service, facilities or staff here.. the food was home cooked and plenty of variety on the menu.. they accomodated a meeting for 25 of us at short notice with very reasonable cost per head for refreshments and lunch.. all in all an excellent hotel and i look forward to returning..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Villages at Machrihanish Dunes for a golf stay, 8-15 oct. travelled with 3 others to experience the truest form of golf. We were not disappointed. We stayed at the cottages at the Ugadale Hotel. The cottages are clean and large enough for the four of us to be comfortable. The restaurants and staff are exceptional. We could not have enjoyed ourselves or felt more at home when traveling abroad. If you should ever get the opportunity to experience the true game of golf as it is on the most hallowed ground, plan your trip to Machrihanish Dunes.

Room Tip: Cottage 5 is the closest to the old club house pub.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I just got back from Machrihanish and wanted to add my praise for the accommodations, golf and people associated with Machrihanish Dunes. I have been a member at Machrihanish Golf Club for 20 years and love it dearly. Over the years I and my guests have stayed pretty much everywhere in the Campeltown hotels and the Machrihanish B&B's. This year I went over with three guests. We spent the first two nights in a Ugadale cottage which was wonderful then moved to the Royal Hotel. The whole experience could not have been better. The cottage at Ugadale was spacious and the the staff was so helpful and friendly. It's a wonderful breakfast- where you start with helping yourself to a continental bar with coffee and the best croissants among other things. Then order from the menu. The van and exceptional drivers (thanks Billy and Andrew) took us around to town for dinner as well as Machrihanish Dunes when we wanted to go. The Royal Hotel was exceptional too and we loved the contrast between staying in the village of Machrihanish and then moving into town.

I have played the Dunes several times since it opened and I was wonderfully surprised this year at how much it has improved in playability. We played it twice and truly enjoyed the course but my heart will always be at Machrihanish Golf Club. I love the Club's staff and especially the membership. You really should have caddies if you want to enjoy the course, history and experience. Plus they will shave eight shots off your round through local knowledge.

Some places to go would include Seafeld House in Campbeltown which has new attentive ownership. The food was wonderful, the pints are generous (Belhave and Caledonian are my favorites) and probably the widest selection of scotches in the country. If you like Indian food, we have always frequented Taj Mahal on the waterfront across from the Information Center. The bars in Campbeltown are a treat- love the Commercial and this year we "discovered" Burnside- another pub right around the corner. (The bar at the Royal is great as is the bar at Ugadale that was originally the Beachcomber.)

You also need to take the tour of the Springbank distillery. This year we had a special tour with Frank McHardy that included a luncheon and touring all three distilleries then ending with some sampling.

So salutes to Ugadale, the Dunes and the Golf Club and the wonderful people on the Mull of Kintyre. Last comment- you can fly to Campbeltown but if driving on the left side of the road doesn't scare you- it is so Beautiful going through "Rest and Be Thankful", around Loch Fyne and down through Tarbert. Have fun!
BOBBY JONES

Room Tip: I didn't try the spa. There is a wonderful modern nautitorium in Campbeltown for swimming travel...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyJonesJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the accommodation 16- 19 sept. There were 10 of us so we shared 2 cottages and one suite in the hotel. The cottages were exceptional and the suite was the same .The cottages consisted of 2 double rooms with one on suite and a separate washroom for the other room .A fully equipped living room cum kitchen diner which was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful . We ate in the pub on the site and the food was very good .There was a shuttle bus which took us into Campbeltown on the 2nd night at a cost of £3 a head. The breakfast like the rest of the stay was good with a good selection and it set you up for the day .With unlimited golf on the machrihanish dunes golf thrown in with the cost of the hotel this was a ery good deal .The staff at the the course were very friendly and like laa the hotel staff made us feel at home. All in all a very worthwhile and enjoyable trip even after a 600 mile round trip but well worth it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clakcker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Getting married this July at Machrihanish Dunes was a truly magical experience. Although I (the bride) grew up in the area, nothing could prepare my husband or I for the exceptional level of accommodation and service we received from this impeccable company. On planning our wedding, we quickly established what we wanted. It needed to be laid back, a little bit luxurious, affordable for us and our guests, and above all fun. Well, Machrihanish Dunes certainly delivered on all of the above, and some......it turned out to be a party to end all parties! All our guests were treated to a weekend of absolute bliss and total relaxation. They stayed in the beautifully renovated Ugadale hotel and luxurious cottages and were well fed and watered at both the Kintyre Club and atmospheric Old Clubhouse pub. Friends and family enjoyed endless golf on the dunes course, walked along the beautiful beach, swam, surfed or simply drank in the views from the hotel across the atlantic ocean to the isles of Jura, Islay and beyond. The venue and surroundings were quite simply breathtaking.

However, that all said, none of this would have mattered if the people behind the organistation were not also first class. From the moment we booked the venue, back in 2011, to the day itself, the level of service we received from staff throughout the organisation was, without exception, outstanding. The professionalism, friendliness and willingness of everyone to help us out was so apparent - it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

The unique location, venue and staff are the main components that set this company apart from all others we considered for our wedding or have had the pleasure of being wedding guests at. We cannot praise Machrihanish Dunes highly enough as a world class wedding venue and would encourage anyone to consider this amazing venue for their wedding day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katieoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel was fully booked and we had to spend two nights at another hotel in the area which was ok.
Managed to get a room in the Ugadale on our last night, as usual the hotel and the staff were excellent,pity we only managed the one night this time but hope we will have many more trips to the Ugadale 10/10.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have great views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
283 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
297 reviews
5.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range: £116 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing