We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay - you won't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent three nights at the Ugadale and didn't want to leave! From the minute we arrived until the minute we left there was nothing we found fault with. The staff are so friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble; the decor is calm and understated while our rooms (12 & 15 ) were delightful - the beds are sooooo comfortable! The breakfast was delicious - set both the golfers and the beachcombers/ shoppers up for the day ahead. Meals in the Old Clubhouse were also delicious and served by attentive staff in a relaxed atmosphere. We'd go back tomorrow if we could! The hotel is worth every one of its stars .....and more!

Room Tip: Our rooms were to the front - the views are spectacular !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being on the 'ancestor trail', we arrived without a booking, looking for a hotel for one night and although the hotel had two big golf dinners that night we were offered a suite (2105) which was lovely. A large bedroom running into a well furnished, modern sitting room with a large and modern bathroom attached.
Everything was extremely clean and comfortable! Two large TVs, tea and coffee facilities, loads of cuboards, bottled water in rooms - in fact everything you need.
We couldn't be accommodated in the dining room, because of the golf dinner (which we were informed of before booking in to our room) but were directed to the on-site pub for dinner. The food was was very nice and the pub was friendly with a good open fire burning!
This is a really good top class hotel, surrounded by beautiful scenery, located opposite a rock pool beach.

Room Tip: Suite 2105 is big, comfortable and has a view of the shoreline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sellsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having had two fantastic visits to the Ugadale cottages myself, I organised a two night birthday treat for my parents in the Ugadale Hotel. I had already described the fantastic setting and great treatment they would receive there and it would seem it lived up to all their expectations. They found their room very comfortable and enjoyed fabulous views over the water. They even manged to see seals at close quarters on the beach, a bit hit with my mum! They could not praise the staff enough for their attention and enjoyed the food in the Clubhouse, even though portions were a little on the large side! They both thoroughly enjoyed their stay and will be recommending it to others. I dare say they will be back themselves at some point. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just back from an Amazing Easter break with the kids. We could not fault anything. The most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. Staff are so friendly, kids are made welcome and the food is beautiful. Best Scottish break ever for us. Loved every second and made some great family memories :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Went with the family for the weekend,as usual fist class can't fault anything about the hotel and staff,ate in the clubhouse and the harbour grill, food and service were excellent,will be back again next month. 10/10.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent,ones at the front have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

First time visitors, we booked Suite No 5 (as recommended on another Tripadvisor review) and it is certainly the best room in the house. The bed was extremely hard - but that's always subjective.The quality of the look and feel of the hotel is definitely top notch. Staff really friendly and welcoming - a special thank you to Sandra on Reception - nothing was too much trouble for her. We were staying out of season which meant there were very few guests, resulting in very little atmosphere, expecially when dining. Our meal in the Kintyre Club was excellent - though potentially too big a portion. Breakfast was the biggest let down. The Continental option was very limited with the cold meat, plastic-wrapped cheeses and pastries all looking as if they'd been lying out for several days at a time. The hot plate dishes were delicious but tended to arrive before you'd finished your cereals! You make your own tea and coffee but the water in the urn never seemed to be hot enough, so we didn't manage a hot drink on any morning. There was just a distinct lack of attention to detail with breakfasts - not from the kitchen but from a front-of-house perspective. And don't expect a morning paper to read with your breakfast - the driver has to go into Campbeltown to fetch it, so it was around 11.30am before it arrived! But that's just being picky - this is a very good hotel, which is only a short step away from being excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room at the front to get the magnificent view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel over the New Year holiday. Stunning drive down to Machrihanish with a stop for lunch at Tarbert, Loch Fyne.
The hotel has a real quality feel about it, with well trained friendly staff and a great pub next door (which we ate in as the main restaurant was fully booked).
Great value for money.
I am looking forward to returning in the summer to play some golf.
If only the majority of Scottish hotels could emulate the Ugadale.

Room Tip: Sorry, clicked the Swimming Pool by mistake (No pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
773 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
5 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
592 reviews
5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
291 reviews
5.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range: £116 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing