We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is amazing! We stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the ocean and golf course.
The room was appointed perfectly. We had a nice king comfortable bed, sitting area, bar and a bathroom that rivaled the one at my own home. The staff were so warm and friendly. We ate at the pub most evenings and tried Haggis for the first time. The restaurant at the hotel was closed the first night of our arrival and was having a special Carribean evening the next night, so we never dined at the hotel. We played golf for three days and enjoyed a wonderful dinner with friends at the Golf Club. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay in Machrihanish for golf. We also stayed one night at the sister hotel in town The Royal.

Room Tip: A room in the Front of the hotel faces the ocean and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    45
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
89
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the cottages last year found everything so good we decided to come back and it was once again an excellent stay, manager was very good and his staff very efficient and friendly, we were there the weekend of there golf tournament and there was a dinner dance at night, which was very enjoyable , will certainly being returning to this haven again, great food, relaxing, plenty places to visit roundabout , and the accommodation is superb just wish I could golf would add to the enjoyment. Give it a try you will love it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 940866Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The service I received whilst staying in the hotel was first class. All staff were extremely polite and well-mannered, the room was of a very high standard and the food we ate was excellent. The breakfast was outstanding and there is wide selection on the dinner menu. The pub which is part of the complex is a great place to relax and enjoy the food and a beer or wine. The complimentary wi-fi signal throughout the hotel complex is a great touch.

This was a golfing trip with friends and we stayed in the cottages which are very like high class modern apartments with lots of space. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The cottages are designed for larger groups of people but are very spacious and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golf_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I tried to book dinner here for a special family celebration - they only serve food in the evenings at the weekend. This is a hotel - and it is peak season! There was a half hearted suggestion that we could eat at the pub next door ( also owned by the hotel) - we might have tried it had the suggestion been a little more enthusiastic and had they been able to give us more information. The same group own a hotel 5 miles away that is open for dinner, but there was no mention of that by the hotel staff. I think perhaps the front desk staff need a little more gaining in how to respond to requests - at the moment they are not doing this hotel any favours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Manager at The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear reviewer – thank you for sharing your comments. I notice that you have written several past reviews about our hotels -- The Royal Hotel and The Ugadale & Cottages -- as well as our restaurants -- The Harbourview Grille, the Kintyre Club and The Old Clubhouse Pub. We appreciate your patronage very much.

I am extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations at the Kintyre Club restaurant and equally disappointed that our front desk staff did not address your inquiry with the professionalism we expect of all our staff members. I have investigated this, as we do with all TripAdvisor reviews, and have identified the source of our failure at the front desk that evening. Additional training has already been added to our staff training program to assure that no such misunderstandings take place again in the future. For The Kintyre Club restaurant, we have posted hours of operation which specify that the restaurant is open for dinner on Friday, plus all-day lunch and dinner on Saturday and Sunday. The Kintyre Club is also open 7 days a week for breakfast, which includes an express continental and/or a full Scottish breakfast at the guest’s choice. I strongly recommend that anyone who wishes to visit our restaurants make reservations in advance to avoid disappointment. This will allow us to better care for you and deliver the quality that you expect. Of course, we also warmly welcome guests who do not have reservations, but this can at times lead to the slight inconvenience of having to wait for a table. We do everything possible to avoid this.

Again, thank you for taking time to write and for helping us learn where we might improve in our mission to offer the highest quality experience to all of our guests.

Greg Sherwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

13 of us have just enjoyed a stay in the cottages for a hen party! The cottages are absolutely stunning a true home from home! Everything needed is provided! We all had treatments in the serenity spa located within the Ugadale hotel, the girls were amazing and made us all feel so relaxed and welcome nothing was too much hassle, we also enjoyed nibbles and bubbly provided by the spa. We then had a meal in the Ugadale restaurant and could not fault a thing all meals were thoroughly enjoyed! All staff were extremely attentive and regularly checked to see if we needed anything. I would highly recommend the cottages for any future hen parties!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibro1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good 4 star hotel with good rooms, very spacious cottages and a very good breakfast and dinner
Staff is very friendly and helpful . Bathroom in the hotel rooms are rather small , Cottages for 4 persons are very good.

Room Tip: Cottages are very good , bathrooms in the hotel rooms rather small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janendom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I organised 17 golfers to come here on our 29th Annual tour and it was excellent. First class, comfortable hotel with superior rooms, good food and most importantly friendly and helpful staff. The golf courses at Macrihanish Old and Macrihanish Dunes are very interesting and scenic genuine links although the latter a little let down by poor greens. The local course nearby at Dunaverty while short is a fun course to play and very scenic. So an excellent trio of courses that are plenty for a full week of golf. The Macrihanish Dunes is part of the Ugadale group so our total package was good value with golf included there.

It is a bit of a journey to get there but a very scenic drive as The Mull of Kintyre is a beautiful area of Scotland. There is also a car ferry from here across to the mainland in Ayrshire so a circular route can be taken if wanted. A "Golfers Pilgrimage" for golf lovers.

Kit Spencer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Property: The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing