We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great offer but could make more of their location and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My fiance and I snapped up a two night offer to stay at the Ugadale and play Machrihanish Dunes. At £75 per night pp B & B, including 18 holes and ferry tickets if you wanted them, we took the chance to drive down and play a course we have been wanting to for ages.

The hotel itself is lovely. Very well decorated in a old style but with modern materials and overall a nice couple of nights. The golf was excellent and it stayed dry for us. The lady at the clubhouse was very welcoming and helpful. Just be aware, there are two courses here so make sure you are at the right one.

The only downside of the trip for us, was the fact that the main restaurant in the hotel - the Kintyre Club - was closed, leaving the only option of the Old Clubhouse next door for pub grub. We arrived for a Mon and Tues night. We were told it was closed on the Monday so no problem, we tried to book it for the Tues night only to be told the following day that it was actually closed until Thursday. Its a shame because there aren't any further choices if you don't want to drive and whilst the pub grub was ok, we were really looking forward to a wee treat.

As great seafood lovers, we thought that we might be able to get some fab shellfish down here but unfortunately not, the menu was pretty much your standard. Nice quality but standard all the same. Think the estate should really make the most of its enviable position and the nearby delicious food that can be sourced.

Nevermind. All in all, we did enjoy ourselves and played well. Just meant that the Loch Fyne Oyster Bar and Tarbert seafood restaurants got our custom on our travels rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hugsandkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Manager at The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be lovely. I appreciate your comments about the Kintyre Club being closed at certain times. We do have posted hours and in fact it is closed on Monday and Tuesday. The Old Clubhouse Pub next door is open as you stated for pub fare, but it also offers many other options above and beyond the upscale pub food on the menu there, ranging from prime steaks to fish to wonderfully prepared Mexican-themed items. Also available to our guests is a complimentary shuttle service provided to the Harbourview Grille, which is located at our sister hotel, The Royal Hotel, overlooking Campbeltown Harbour. This is ten minutes away and has a full fine-dining menu, including many varieties of seafood, steaks, pastas and chicken for all to enjoy. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Village at Machrihanish Dunes soon, at which time you would have the opportunity to enjoy one of more of our restaurants again.

Once again, thank you for your comments,

Greg Sherwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is amazing! We stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the ocean and golf course.
The room was appointed perfectly. We had a nice king comfortable bed, sitting area, bar and a bathroom that rivaled the one at my own home. The staff were so warm and friendly. We ate at the pub most evenings and tried Haggis for the first time. The restaurant at the hotel was closed the first night of our arrival and was having a special Carribean evening the next night, so we never dined at the hotel. We played golf for three days and enjoyed a wonderful dinner with friends at the Golf Club. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay in Machrihanish for golf. We also stayed one night at the sister hotel in town The Royal.

Room Tip: A room in the Front of the hotel faces the ocean and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Toothfairy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the cottages last year found everything so good we decided to come back and it was once again an excellent stay, manager was very good and his staff very efficient and friendly, we were there the weekend of there golf tournament and there was a dinner dance at night, which was very enjoyable , will certainly being returning to this haven again, great food, relaxing, plenty places to visit roundabout , and the accommodation is superb just wish I could golf would add to the enjoyment. Give it a try you will love it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 940866Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The service I received whilst staying in the hotel was first class. All staff were extremely polite and well-mannered, the room was of a very high standard and the food we ate was excellent. The breakfast was outstanding and there is wide selection on the dinner menu. The pub which is part of the complex is a great place to relax and enjoy the food and a beer or wine. The complimentary wi-fi signal throughout the hotel complex is a great touch.

This was a golfing trip with friends and we stayed in the cottages which are very like high class modern apartments with lots of space. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The cottages are designed for larger groups of people but are very spacious and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golf_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I tried to book dinner here for a special family celebration - they only serve food in the evenings at the weekend. This is a hotel - and it is peak season! There was a half hearted suggestion that we could eat at the pub next door ( also owned by the hotel) - we might have tried it had the suggestion been a little more enthusiastic and had they been able to give us more information. The same group own a hotel 5 miles away that is open for dinner, but there was no mention of that by the hotel staff. I think perhaps the front desk staff need a little more gaining in how to respond to requests - at the moment they are not doing this hotel any favours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Manager at The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear reviewer – thank you for sharing your comments. I notice that you have written several past reviews about our hotels -- The Royal Hotel and The Ugadale & Cottages -- as well as our restaurants -- The Harbourview Grille, the Kintyre Club and The Old Clubhouse Pub. We appreciate your patronage very much.

I am extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations at the Kintyre Club restaurant and equally disappointed that our front desk staff did not address your inquiry with the professionalism we expect of all our staff members. I have investigated this, as we do with all TripAdvisor reviews, and have identified the source of our failure at the front desk that evening. Additional training has already been added to our staff training program to assure that no such misunderstandings take place again in the future. For The Kintyre Club restaurant, we have posted hours of operation which specify that the restaurant is open for dinner on Friday, plus all-day lunch and dinner on Saturday and Sunday. The Kintyre Club is also open 7 days a week for breakfast, which includes an express continental and/or a full Scottish breakfast at the guest’s choice. I strongly recommend that anyone who wishes to visit our restaurants make reservations in advance to avoid disappointment. This will allow us to better care for you and deliver the quality that you expect. Of course, we also warmly welcome guests who do not have reservations, but this can at times lead to the slight inconvenience of having to wait for a table. We do everything possible to avoid this.

Again, thank you for taking time to write and for helping us learn where we might improve in our mission to offer the highest quality experience to all of our guests.

Greg Sherwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

13 of us have just enjoyed a stay in the cottages for a hen party! The cottages are absolutely stunning a true home from home! Everything needed is provided! We all had treatments in the serenity spa located within the Ugadale hotel, the girls were amazing and made us all feel so relaxed and welcome nothing was too much hassle, we also enjoyed nibbles and bubbly provided by the spa. We then had a meal in the Ugadale restaurant and could not fault a thing all meals were thoroughly enjoyed! All staff were extremely attentive and regularly checked to see if we needed anything. I would highly recommend the cottages for any future hen parties!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alibro1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good 4 star hotel with good rooms, very spacious cottages and a very good breakfast and dinner
Staff is very friendly and helpful . Bathroom in the hotel rooms are rather small , Cottages for 4 persons are very good.

Room Tip: Cottages are very good , bathrooms in the hotel rooms rather small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janendom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,766 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
85 reviews
5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
292 reviews
5.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range: £179 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing