We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our six weeks residence at The Anza”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our six weeks residence at The Anza”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at The Anza while our residence was recovering from water damage. During this difficult time, what made pour experience tremendously pleasant was the interactions we had with the staff at the Anza. Greg and Zoe, we don't know what we would do without your support, daily smiles, warm and friendly greetings. We never thought we would miss being away from home in anyway, but we truly miss you guys. Shelly's management skills were also truly remarkable. You guys are definitely a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxtravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    403
    108
    23
    15
See reviews for
410
244
71
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The hotel is still remodeling. We heard some construction EARLY in the morning, but we were awake anyway. I would stay again but only when I knew the remodel was done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were involved in an accident, disabling our vehicle during our stay. Greg, at the front desk arranged for a late checkout as we had to wait for the tow truck. At checkin the ladies were pleasant and welcoming. The Shops across the way were fun. Lots of twinkle lights at night, meandering pathways with many gurgling water features, many places tucked away to enjoy a meal or a hot beverage. Missed out on the Fireplace in the lobby. (Technical difficulties) All in all a Hip and Fun Hotel. Starbucks in the Lobby!

Green Features: Be sure to use your 5 dollar coupon given forfeiting changes in linens (go green) before the food kiosk closes.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Everything was fantastic! We are from PA, so the staff was friendly and gave us a few hot spot ideas around town. Very clean rooms, no problems. It was wonderful! The updated room was very sheek and modern. We got the room off of Groupon, so that discount in pricing certainly helped. We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant itself, however, it was an absolutely beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The renovated Anza was really very nice. We had a king bed with a sofa sleeper which was fine for three of us. The room was huge and with the recent renovation everything was modern, clean and shiny new - exactly as pictured on their website. The location is convenient to The Commons for entertainment, shopping and dining as well as the freeway for access to LA goings on. The only complaint we have is the noise from the hall and neighboring rooms. We were unfortunate to have particularly obnoxious noisy neighbors this trip which isn't Anza's fault, but the sound barrier isn't very good. Bring your ear plugs. Otherwise a lovely, comfortable room with good customer service on the part of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZStarGazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Clean, friendly, comfortable beds. No amenities. The gym was inadequate. There was a sewage smell in the hall every evening. The last night, it seeped into the hotel room and awoke me at 3 am. Parking was tight. The location was across from a strip mall, and next to a coffee shop.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsjosens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Great to hear you found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be friendly. On your next visit if there is an amenity you are in need of please give one of our guest service agents a ring and we will be happy to send it up to the room. We have already dispatched our engineering team to address the plumbing issue you referred to in your room and hallway and are happy to report it has been successfully eliminated. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This review is more like a 3.5. However, the front desk lady was nice and helpful, which is why I rounded up instead of down.

Location - close to the freeway, which was nice. Lots of nearby small shops, which looks like a fun area to walk during the day.

Room - Lots of room (spacious). Loved the entire decor of the place. Everything about the room looked new and modern. Room also came with a mini fridge that was not too mini and also a microwave.

WiFi - FREE with no major problems.

Parking - FREE

Breakfast - NOT FREE

The BAD - During our normal check of the bed mattress, we found 3 (appeared unopened) condom packs underneath the mattress. Yes...CONDOMS!!! WTH??? Kinda gross, considering I don't know what happened in our bedroom prior to our stay. I guess it could have been worse...at least we did not find any bed bugs.

Room Tip: Always helps to look under the mattress. Room on the Lobby floor wasn't too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear J E,
Thanks for the positive comments on the décor of our recently renovated property. It’s also nice to hear that the room on the lobby floor worked out for you as well. I do deeply apologize for the undesirable items that you discovered under your mattress. We strive for perfection when it comes to the cleanliness of our sleeping rooms at the hotel. As it turns out we fell short of the mark and will need to take full advantage of this training opportunity with our cleaning staff. We again thank you for your feedback and I assure you upon your return visit you can expect nothing but excellence when conduction your check of the bed mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 6 in Malibu
535 reviews
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agoura Hills
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Property: The Anza Hotel
Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing