We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for a wedding. The room was beautiful and clean. The hotel was a little smaller than I expected, but had everything we needed. I loved the colors. The room was larger than we expected. A much appreciated surprise. Definitely not your average hotel room. Much like a W or Loft hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
There are newer reviews for The Anza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family of five along with our small dog moved across the country from the suburbs of Chicago to Calabasas and stayed at the Anza Hotel. We only intended to be there for a couple of weeks but fortunately for us, we had the distinct pleasure of making the Anza our home for nearly 7 months! During our stay we were able to really enjoy and get a terrific feeling for the Anza and its staff. The Anza staff starts at the top with the General Manager Gennaro Moten, who continually ensured that the entire staff made my families stay a terrific experience! Whenever my family needed/wanted for anything, Gennaro made it happen! The entire staff all helped make it our temporary home. The hotel was centrally located in town which provided us with terrific access to restaurants, shopping, post office, banks and a lot of great places to walk. We were truly able to get a great feel for the entire area which turned out to be the best way to determine on where our family would be most comfortable on living permanently. The hotel was equipped with nice & comfortable rooms, nice pool, warm lobby area along with a great Cantina/bar area! The cantina/ bar area was well run by Zoe Littlejohn who ensured that her fellow staff was well trained and helpful to us and all Guests. She was very attentive to my entire families needs and interests. The management staff including Marc and Alex were awesome in truly making our stay feel like home.The housekeeping staff was always friendly and good at keeping our room in tip top shape in accordance with our schedule. The engineering staff of Bill and Ben along with others were real nice to us and took care of anything needed with our room and the hotel. The house staff including Pedro again was continually helpful in seeing to anything our family needed. The front desk crew of Chelsae Jordan, Greg Burch, Rosy and others were wonderful to my kids and made sure that my family never wanted for anything. The Anza Hotel is terrific place to stay when you are in the area for all occasions. The staff is engaging & attentive making the Anza a great place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the second time I stay in this hotel. The rooms are nice and recently renovated, the mattress was really comfortable. It is close to nice restaurants and shops and to the 101. We even visited the Saturday fresh market which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funtastic1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here while driving from San Diego to Santa Barbara. The hotel was really nice and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. My mother and I enjoyed catching a basketball game and a late evening snack in the restaurant/bar area. Even though we were traveling without pets on this trip, I was pleased to see that the hotel was very pet friendly. The only downside to this hotel was the slow internet speeds, which made business difficult and streaming movies impossible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ErikaM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Booked last minute but got a great rate and a AAA discount. Nice pool area to enjoy on the hot day we were there. The room was nice and big and loved, loved, loved the bathroom! Great mirror for doing makeup and getting ready. Nice that there was a Starbucks downstairs and yummy quick meals. Definitely will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We actually never got to stay here......

This hotel has a 24 hour cancellation policy. Most properties have a 4 pm the day of your stay policy. Be very very careful when booking this property. In fact, I would recommend NOT booking it in advance at all. Book from the hotel parking lot.

We had a surprise trip planned for our kids to Disneyland. We ended up rescheduling our trip due to an illness on the morning we left. In spite of the heartbroken, vomiting kids, I called the hotel and spoke to a reservation agent at 5 am California time to notify them that we would not be making the trip. She called into the hotel after hearing my story and a manager told her we would be exempt from the charges. I didn't know they had a 24 hour cancellation policy (my fault) but appreciated their willingness to work with us do to the nature of the cancellation.

Since then, I have made three phone calls and been told twice they would waive the charged ($172.00) finally receiving an email from Alex Gottlieb, Front Desk Manager, advising me that we would be charged the full amount because we were a NO SHOW. Never mind the early morning call, and the number of calls afterwards. They will only waive their charges for a death or natural disaster.

We wanted to love this hotel - we have friends in Oak Park and it is nice to find a great hotel to base out of while we are there. Too bad we will never again even try to book this place. They not only have a rigid policy but seem to have issues with their employees making promises they will not stand behind.

BUYER BEWARE OF THIS ONE

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Amanda H,
We are very saddened to hear that you and your family were unable to make you recently planned destination of Disneyland. We hope your kids are feeling much better. I am sorry if you experienced confusion with the cancellation policy of the hotel or if our staff miss informed you. We would love the opportunity to offer you a future night stay on us so that you and your family can enjoy Disneyland. I will reach out personally to find out when you will be able to return and take us up on our offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Anza was within walking distance to lots of food, shopping, and entertainment options. The Commons was very nice and pedestrian friendly. Calabasas was centrally located for our needs-Malibu, Studio City, Getty museum and Reagan library. Hotel was modern and clean. We asked for a none freeway room and we were accommodated. We needed and extra towel, they sent 3! Only thing that could have been better was the wifi, it was free, but very slow and I got kicked off streaming several times.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherryH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range: £98 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing