We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disaster”

California Suites Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
California Suites Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Calexico
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a disaster”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived in the dark so pulled into the first place we came across. The receptionist was very helpful, however when we got to the room we were horrified. There were no face washers or hand towels, light globes missing form bedside lights, chairs filthy, no breakfast. Beds were clean though. In fairness to the receptionist (the previous day a group of schoolchildren had been in and stolen every face washer and hand towel and the light globes), she tried everything she could to help us, gave us extra towels to compensate, and in the end we settled for a torch. We laugh about it now, but not a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't - just stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBruvSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag P, Manager at California Suites Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the review, and would like to apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay. We always try to make sure that the rooms have everything in order. As for the chair with the stain we are replacing the chair, we just had new carport, tiles, and paint work done in the last two months so have to get funds to replace them. This is not an excuse but just letting you know that this is not the norm for us. Again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep in Calexico or El Centro this is the place for you; if you are coming in from Mexico you can even walk to it. It is across the street from the city hall, so there is a guard outside during business hours. It is also across the street from the bank WelsFargo with like 5 ATMs that people are continually using at all hours, so yeah, it is safe!

This hotel was out of business for over a year and the wonderful family taking care of the hotel now are doing and excellent job. I got there around 1am and they allowed me to check in early for a small fee (check out is at 11am). I enter the room and it was clean and comfortable. The microwave wasn't working and it was exchange on request. I made some comments about the room and when I came back to the hotel everything was taking care of -I left for the weekend and came back on Monday; They even offered me a ride to my rental car company -for free! (No one else does that). I was late on checking out and they where also very reasonable, what else can I say. Thank you

Room Tip: This hotel has other hotels all around, why pay more when you have it all in this family own clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tank0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag P, Manager at California Suites Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to review us. And appreciate your bussiness and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six weeks. The rates were very reasonable, rooms very clean, owners very professional and nice, it was so quiet, pool was very clean and nice for the hot Calexico weather. You should choose this motel before going anywhere else in Calexico. Not only did we have such a pleasant stay, but we have gained some friends for life! I just do not see how anyone could rate this motel other then 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

my family and I just stayed at this motel and we were very pleased. The whole area is clean, quite and we felt safe. The workers there were very respectful and kind. The price was un beatable and the ac was great. Had a comfortable night sleep. Next time in calexico we will be back here. Thank you Shawn and your lovely wife.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in one level and they look to be a like. I liked that a car was parked in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The room was dirty, the beds were smaller than advertised, the bathroom door did not close, the electricity was not working in all the outlets, lighting was poor and the air-conditioning was so loud we could not sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexicali4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirag P, Owner at California Suites Motel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
This review is form 2010 when the motel was called the Camino Real Inn. The motel is under new ownership and is now called the California Suites Motel as of November 2012. So please come and stay with us and see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calexico hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calexico
1.9 mi away
Best Western John Jay Inn
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Calexico
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
#1 of 20 in Mexicali
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Real Inn Mexicali
Real Inn Mexicali
#11 of 20 in Mexicali
95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Araiza Calafia and Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
#3 of 20 in Mexicali
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Suites Motel

Property: California Suites Motel
Address: 341 E 4th St, Calexico, CA 92231-2701 (Formerly Camino Real Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Calexico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Calexico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — California Suites Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your California Suites Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing