We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan, no frills and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spartan, no frills and outdated”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

For what we paid - we expected the spa to be more pleasant and have.. well... "more frills". The staff were nice and good at what they did - but places like this need to transport you elsewhere and the ambiance of the place was nothing more than some funky 70s lighting and stock photography... The mud bath is a bit overrated - it smells quite strong but it does have a great grounding feeling and I have never felt anything like it before but its something we would not do again. The entire place felt a little too sterile with little character like we were in a clinic of some sort. The mud-baths staff's casual attire is questionable.

Although my massage was good, my wife's was below average and that led to us being somewhat disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    175
    66
    36
    9
See reviews for
152
229
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our room was last updated in 1980. The shower was smelly and very moldy. Apparently, we were too far from the office to get a wifi signal. And we can hear every footstep of the upstairs tenant at 4AM. I say "tenant" because it seems as if some folks live here.
We did talk to the front desk, where we were told "We are full this weekend."
I come to Calistoga annually, and by far this place is the worst ive stayed in.

Room Tip: Stay near the front office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great facilities with lovely pools! The rooms are nice and the staff is super friendly. We visit Calistoga to take in the waters, and Calistoga Spa is one of my two favorite properties with lovely pools (temp and low chlorine level). I truly appreciate that this is a family friendly resort...THANK YOU for welcoming children and letting kids have a little fun. My kids like visiting the snack bar in the summer- the prices are great and thanks for having iced water readily available for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAtraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

4 hot mineral pools are clean and relaxing. Atmosphere is friendly and warm, even on cold rainy winter days. I come here very often. With my kids, or adult family members. Every time it's an unforgettable little vacation. I'd recommend this place to everyone! I'm coming back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilianaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Calistoga Spa and Inn is simply the most relaxing place to stay in the most beautiful place in the world. All the staff were helpful and friendly, the pools cannot be beat , and the accommodations are extremely comfortable and spotless. Really great to have a kitchenette in each room too.

Room Tip: I like the higher rooms as they have a better view. but the lower rooms are closer to the pool, so i...
See more room tips
Green Features: That was the only downside was that they did not have any signs encouraging people to limit water use despite the drought in California, nor did they have a separate bin for recycling.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited the Napa Valley in March 2014 on a road trip down to Arizona. Staying at the Calistoga Spa was a real delight. The facilities are great and the staff very friendly. Of course the hot spring pools are very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Glenn, thank you for choosing the Calistoga Spa Hot Spring on your way through Wine Country. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back this way. Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for a visit in Feb with some friends. We haven't stayed here in a while and were happily surprised by the renovations. The last time we were here, the rooms were nice but a bit shabby. The hotel has done a great job with renovations and the rooms are more modern and up to date. Very nice pools- a bit different than Indian Springs but it's kind of nice here since you get your option of 3 different temps! Mud bath facilities are utilitarian compared to some of the other spas in town but great staff helps to make up for that. Just wish they expanded the pool hours a bit more for guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drewski711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Spa Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Property: Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Address: 1006 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Calistoga Spa Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, a geothermal hot springs resort, recently completed an extensive renovation project that has dramatically transformed a property that has been attracting repeat guests for generations. Located in downtown Calistoga, the 56-room hotel and spa was completely redesigned with a contemporary spa inspired look and feel. The eighteen month long renovation has touched all aspects of the property including a redesign of the guestrooms with spa-inspired bedding, honed Italian porcelain tile showers, kitchenettes with microwave ovens and modern conveniences such as full High Definition LED televisions. The focal points of the renovation are the four-geothermal heated mineral pools. The pool deck was fitted with travertine tiles, new designer-inspired pool furniture and the inclusion of grape covered arbors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Calistoga Spa Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Hot Springs Calistoga
Calistoga Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing