We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for the price you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not good for the price you pay”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Rooms can have nasty views. It's on the expensive side. Breakfast is not good. Feels like you are in a cell. I asked the staff if I can get another room that doesn't face the air-conditioning system of the building, or a wall, and they refused, saying the hotel is full. It clearly wasn't, so I was lied to. Only the hot tub has mineral water in it, and it is a not very big. The other pool has regular water and you smell like pool chemicals when you get out of the pool. For such a high price per room, stay somewhere else, you'd be better off. I would never return, very disappointed, definitely not matching the money paid to stay there. The only good thing is the location. This is what comes to mind when I think of this hotel one week after I visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venera1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello Venera1122, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Mount View Hotel. More than that, I am sorry you feel as if we lied to you. Since all of our rooms are individually appointed, it is policy to show a guest another room if they wish, we try to show the same room type, but will also show upgraded rooms if available. If you were told the Hotel was full, it was indeed full. We understand that not every guest would like to sleep in a room with red walls, or purple walls, so we accommodate room changes when requested and when possible. We do only advertise our Mineral Whirlpool, as our swimming pool, is not built with the Mineral waters. It should not however smell of chemicals, so I will have this checked by our maintenance team immediately. That you for your comments and I do hope you give us another try on a future visit.

Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    131
    44
    18
    7
See reviews for
37
231
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay! Front desk staff was amazing at recommending wineries, arranging tours and setting up the shuttle service for us. Room was small - but clean and comfortable. My husband and I aren't into sugary pastry breakfast - but we found an excellent spot a few doors down at Sarafornia.
You can find amazing cheese, wine and California IPAs a few doors down at the grocery store to enjoy back in the room.

Historic hotel - with modern finish.

Highly recommend Mount View and Calistoga - worth the extra drive!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassi D, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hello Tanya S. Thank you for the wonderful review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Mount View Hotel as well as Calistoga as a whole. I agree, it is worth the extra drive. We hope to have you as our guest again.

Cheers!
Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My mother and I stayed here for us to venture out into wine country. I will say for the price we paid and received two twin beds was a little overrated. I thought the hotel was really nice and good condition however we ran out of hot water. So literally we had to take showers at the spa which was definitely inconvenience. They were nice enough to give us a $100 dollars off for one night. The hotel I will say was in a very convenient location to get around the area. I don't know if I would come here again and stay, but would probably check out St. Helena or Sonoma the next time around.

Room Tip: tell them not put you on the first floor as you will hear everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassi D, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hello Jackie R.

Thank you for the review. I do wish to apologize to you again for our water heater going out during your stay. That was in deed a very unfortunate morning and we have had the water heater replaced. We had several rooms affected by that situation and we had it fixed as quickly as possible. Still, the option to shower in the Spa rather than in room is inconvenient. Luckily, water heaters do not go out regularly and with a new heater, we should not see this issue again. Knowing that, I hope you reconsider and stay again. If two Twin beds are not accommodating to your needs, we do also have two Queen Bed suites.

Cheers!
Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed "The Couple Indulgence" at the spa and were very happy with the experience. Very clean and calming atmosphere, the staff were very inviting and lockers for your personal items - great time and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassi D, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Ryanjbrown,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I love hearing that you enjoyed your Couple's Indulgence Spa Package. We hope you are able to come back for some R&R soon. Keep in mind, anytime you book Spa, you are welcome to come and enjoy the full day in our Backyard, with our heated pool & Mineral Whirlpool.

Cheers!

Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was there on a business trip. The hotel is well located and offers everything that you will need during your trip. The pool is heated, it has hot tub and a lot of restaurants are close by. They offer complimentary continental breakfast delivered at your convenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Calistoga. The room was a corer room, rather small, but well designed and two large windows overlooking the back of the garden. Everything was very clean. I felt like “back in times” when Calistoga was a small sleepy winery and spa town for the well to do people from San Francisco. We got our towels and slippers at the front desk and enjoyed the lovely quiet pool and hot tub, away from the street in the back of the hotel.

A breakfast was brought to our room next morning at a requested time. We were asked what time we would like our breakfast to be brought to our room after our arrival while registering at the front desk. The breakfast was small, juice, some fruit and pastry with coffee.

The staff was pleasant and courteous.

There are two restaurants in the hotel. We didn’t eat there, but they both seem very nice with elegant menus.

Definitely stay here when you are in Calistoga.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great place , Centrally located in the middle of everything Calistoga. All of the Help was respectful and went out of their way to make our stay the best in the Valley. Serina and Matt at the front desk started our stay off incredibly well offering us tips around town as well as setting up massages and spa treatments we were going to look elsewhere for. Top of the card place at reasonable rates thanks to everyone at Mount View. Defiantly coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean128427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount View Hotel & Spa
Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing