We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

I live in Calistoga and have frequented most of the spas in town. The spa at the Mount View is among the best and Joy is the best masseuse I have had. She gives a fantastic sports massage that leaves you feeling absolutely refreshed and ready to go work out again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nabglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First need to take into account that being in the Napa Valley area, most hotels are small independently owned so you don't have the support, training or resources of a major resort or hotel chain, however, it could be better. Most glaring was the lack of cleanliness. Upon check-in the room looked as if someone laid in the bed, there was an empty creamer on top of the A/C unit, the sink was very dirty and there was (and still is) a dried up spill of something that dripped down the leg of the table below the TV. On the second day, again the sink was dirty with an orange substance, no residue that we had left behind. Third day, room attendant didn't come to clean until after 3PM and we had to refuse service since we had to get ready for a wedding. Additionally, the sink drained very slowly.
As for service, staff was mostly cordial and friendly, however, on my last night, I asked the front desk agent options about shipping wine via fedex and he looked at me like it was the strangest thing he was ever asked, then said Mount View wouldn't ship it and FedEx wouldn't pick-it up. Then afterwards, he was able to pull-up and provide a list of options. I get that there are laws against shipping but he could have done without making me feel stupid for asking before assisting.
Smaller items, bathroom doors don't have locks and was difficult to latch, no safes in room, I am sure the breakfast pastries are outsourced but there was a long hair in one of them the final morning (however, up until that point, we did enjoy them). Finally, each day when the bread is delivered to the restaurant, it is placed in a box on the lobby floor, uncovered until the restaurant opened. The staff just left it there. Finally, parking is somewhat limited.
A few positives, the appearance of the hotel was nice and quaint, the pool area was nice. Overall, the hotel has alot of potential but just needs to better focus on the details to bring the hotel to the next level. Post check-out I did send an email to the GM with all the above feedback which she was receptive to and gave me some minor compensation which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 17traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Motorcycle trip brought us quite unexpectedly to Calistoga. Glad we stumbled upon it. Booked the Mount View Hotel and Spa with few hours notice. First impression- lovely hotel, nice lobby, very friendly and welcoming staff. Arrived in our room- upgraded and greeted by a personal welcome note. Very low season. Didn't have to do that, didn't expect it, but this is what a place does that understands customer service. Also received a voucher for future stays. Excellent location, beautiful courtyard and pool. Out of the craziness of Napa. I'd come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It is right in the downtown area and within walking distance to many restaurants. It is a historic building so not a typical hotel. HVAC unit in the window for heat and AC but rooms were clean and spacious. Service was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin2Anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello Travelin2Anywhere, I am so happy to see that our location worked with your plans. We do like to promote a park and stay experience. Its even easier with Calistoga offering a courtesy shuttle to all of our guests to any other Calistoga destination! I am sorry the window HVAC was bothersome; we have an improvement plan coming to switch from window units to energy efficient wall units over the few seasons. Thank you for your review and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Cheers!
Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We've had 2 nights here while visiting the Nappa valley. The reception staff were really welcoming & greeted us each time we passed through. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. Ok so no view from the windows but this is a historic building. We had a lovely afternoon in the pool, Jacuzzi - mineral water fed & dry sauna. Breakfast was served in the room at the time requested. The hotel is central with many restaurants in essy walking distance. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daleswalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We wanted to stay in Calistoga for a part of our 3 day Napa valley visit and found the Mount View Hotel through a Trip Advisor. It was a very good choice. I enjoyed being in the historic hotel (but wish they would have played up the history a little more). The facility was in excellent shape (notwithstanding its historic nature) and we were very comfortable. The bed was excellent and the breakfast delivered to our room in the morning was very pleasant. I liked the downtown location (and was very glad that it wasn't noisy in the room). One of the reasons we chose Calistoga was to enjoy the unique spa water - which we had plenty of time to do while at the Mount View.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileyno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.3 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £146 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing