We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$566
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$640/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

EuroSpa & Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bergson(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 30/05
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 30/05
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$905
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$513
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
225
146
45
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
146
45
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelrestaurant downstairsan older hotelhot tubdowntown calistogaprivate jacuzzipool areadesk staffno elevatorthe cottagesthe staff was friendly and helpfulwine tastingthe main streetlincoln avebed was very comfortablenice breakfastsitting room
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We picked this hotel, Mount View, pretty much at random on the internet. It is right on the street and a little noisy in the morning, but the room was very nice, the staff very nice and helpful. The bring a nice breakfast to your door every morning. We got lucky picky this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank huzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear huser! Thank you for the review, we are so glad you found us by chance and hope you visit us again on your next wine country adventure. Cheers! Andrea D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff was incredible. They are professional, friendly and offer the type of service you would expect at the Ritz or The W. The pool and the central location is excellent..
Now when it comes to the Hotel itself, hmm. I don't want to bash this place I only want others to know exactly what it is before they drop the coin.
First, the rooms, they are tiny tiny. The rooms with their original 1890s walls and doors are very loud. you can hear everyone walk and talk in the hallways no matter how lightly. The AC, which is very much needed in Calistoga's summer is very loud so sleeping with it is pretty tough for all but the most sound of sleepers. The bed (we prefer hard mattresses') is very soft, like a pillow soft.
They offer breakfast brought to your room. You pick an hour time frame and then someone brings you your continental breakfast of a couple scones, some fruit, orange juice and a couple coffee pods. We would have been fine with the coffee which is excellent. The first day it did not arrive, which would have been fine if we were not waiting, but we did, rather than go to breakfast. The second day it showed up at the last minute of our selected hour time frame. It was nice but if you're in Calistoga for vacation you most likely want to try Calistoga's many local spots and eat there rather than in your very cramped room.
Oh, one last thing. WiFi is horrible. i had to leave the room to use my phone to look things up it was so slow.
If you want incredible service and the room and noise does not matter you will get it here. We stayed half the week here and the other half at the Comfort Inn and two nights at Solage. you want to be pampered and pay some big money, go to the Solage, you want nice clean and big rooms go to the Comfort Inn. You want quirky and impeccable service and perfect location and dont mind noise or small quarter this is your jam.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Dennis K., Thank you for your review. The Mount View Hotel & Spa is celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and as a historic landmark property, some of our guestrooms can tend to be smaller than the average room in a new hotel. We do offer double sized accommodations in our Winery Suites that we would recommend to you on a future visit or an Artist cottage that has a private patio and your own Jacuzzi tub. What we lack in space in some rooms we try to make up for this with our service and signature amenities. Thank you for your feedback on the WIFI so we can look into it right away. This year we upgraded our WIFI system and added many new routers to offer a great signal to each room, but will be looking into why it was running slow during your visit. We are glad to hear your response to the Mount View Hotel custom blend of coffee that is roasted locally by the Calistoga Roastery and can be purchased at the Roastery itself or at our local market. We to have you stay with us again on a future Calistoga adventure. We can also deliver your breakfast to the poolside tables, lobby or Indie lounge instead of your room for a change of scenery to start your day. Cheers! Andrea D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It's a cute hotel in the middle of Calistoga town. Your close to bars, restaurants, winery, supermarket, ice cream shops etc. Nice town to walk in the day or night. Very safe area. I really enjoyed this place. Great spa and great staff and friendly as well. Nice Landmark to comeback to. I would return. With or without kids it's fun for all.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the review Kitty K.! Mount View Hotel & Spa is a National Registered Landmark that has been a fixture on Calistoga's main street for over 100 years, we hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is in the middle of Calistoga within a short walk of a restaurants and shops.
It has a few too many flaws.
Not enough parking. If you arrive late afternoon and the lot is full, you can use street parking, but you have to move you car every three hours (until the evening).
The rooms are way too small. We got a king suite. There was about a foot of space around the king size bed. The adjoining suite had two small chaise lounges and a side table. No place to put the continental breakfast they deliver( which was actually pretty good, with a wam cinnamon muffin). I'd hate to stay here not in a suite. They put ear plugs on the night stand to make up for small rooms with thin walls.
The wall paper and bathroom were old. There's a difference between run down and quaint, and this wasn't quaint.

The hotel isn't terrible, we had a fine time, but there are too many nicer places in the area for me to consider coming back the next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Another hotel would be better
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GuavaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear GuavaMike, We are glad to hear that you had a fine time and enjoyed the pastries from Sweetie Pies that are fresh baked daily for our guests at the Mount View Hotel & Spa. The legendary Napa Valley offers a variety of accommodation styles and we are proud to be celebrating over one hundred years of hospitality as Calistoga’s premier landmark hotel, located right in the center of Calistoga’s many pleasures. The central downtown location does limit our parking options, though we are able to direct you to complimentary parking nearby when our small lot is full. As a historic hotel, some rooms are cozier than others and our largest room type is the Balcony Winery Suite with a separate livingroom, spacious balcony overlooking main street and feature a clawfoot tub in the spacious bathroom. We are continuously updating our rooms and appreciate your feedback to let us know that the table was not ideal for the breakfast tray so that we can look into other options. We strive to provide the highest level of hospitality in our service so that factors we cannot control, like our limited parking do not detract from the experience.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. Our guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance and your valuable input will help us to improve our experience for future travelers.
Best Regards,
Andrea D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great time!! Even though my husband and I had twin beds, they were so comfortable couldn't get out of them; pillows too!!! They gave you bath robes and slippers; the soap, conditioner and shampoo smelled great!!! Great location to everything from restaurants and wineries and mud baths. Swimming pool and hot tub. Definitely will be coming again!!! :)

Room Tip: there are upstairs and downstairs; no elevators so request downstairs if have trouble climbing. You may hear noise upstairs above your head like foot steps, et cetera.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountViewMgr, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear annette r., Thank you for sharing your experience at Mount View Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and hope to have you visit us again soon. Cheers! Andrea D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews