We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off well--ended in disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
La Honda, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Started off well--ended in disappointment”
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I booked what was supposedly a good deal at $279 for a "Taste of Calistoga" package that included 1 night's lodging, wine tasting at two wineries, 3 course dinner at BarVino, continental breakfast, and a couples hydrotherapy bath. Seems like a good deal, right? Well, the deal isn't so good if you don't get the full deal.

We booked this package because it was a nice way to spend the weekend as a couple and get pampered a little along the way. Things actually started really well--the hotel staff was friendly and attentive, the room was clean and well appointed, the aveda bath products and robes provided were appreciated, the hot tub was hot and bubbly, and the pool/hotel grounds well kept. We enjoyed the wineries included, even though they were at smaller family owned wineries (one of which doesn't charge for wine tasting). We also enjoyed the 3 course dinner, even though choices were limited to 3 per course--the choices were actually good, as was the food. And we enjoyed dipping in the hot tub after dinner. To finish the night off we slept quite well in our comfy bed. The next morning we awoke to a basic but appropriate continental breakfast (juice, coffee, fruit and pastries for two) and were excited to end our nearly perfect stay with the couples hydrotherapy bath.

We had made our appointment for 10am and had a lazy morning waiting for the hour to arrive. At 10am we walked to the spa located downstairs and were promptly disappointed to find out that the hotel had made a scheduling mistake and our spa appointment was not on the books. They were unable to fit us in until 3 hours later. Well, 3 hours later didn't work for us because we already had appointments to visit additional wineries that day. The hotel apologized and offered to refund $20 for the inconvenience. A $20 refund and an "I'm sorry" didn't really compensate for the disappointment when we had saved the best for last. After expressing exactly how disappointed we were, the hotel finally offered to refund another $40. They somewhat redeemed themselves with this, but the money wasn't the issue. We really would have preferred to have the experience. At any rate, we left with a bad impression because this was our final impression. I wish it would have ended better.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasuringlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    134
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
38
237
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We've stayed here before, in one of the suites overlooking Lincoln and was quite comfortable and happy with our room. This time, we thought we'd spring for a cottage, opting for more privacy. At $379 a night, I expected a bit more. The cottage is so tiny you've literally nowhere to unpack. There are nightstands with small drawers but no room for a chest of drawers. The closet is already full with an ironing board etc.

On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable. You get Aveda products and nice robes are provided.

Beware the advertised "jacuzzi" in your private courtyard. This is really just a round jetted tub that must be filled each time you want to soak. NOT a hot tub with a heat element. And you can be seen from the upper floors of the hotel so dip with caution. We also had to ask to get it cleaned out when we checked-in.

The spa at the hotel is very lovely though and we had wonderful treatments.

But $379 a night for a cottage the size of a walk in closet? Never again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

My fiancee and I needed a last-minute getaway and the Mount View delivered everything we could have wanted. The rooms are wonderful, especially the soft sheets and room appointments. Even in January (NorCal weather 50's & 60's) the pool was swimmable and the hot tub a relaxing delight. The staff was first-rate - friendly and helpful. The complimenatary continental breakfast, delivered to the room was awesome. The fresh baked scone and tasty coffee made for a delightful start to our day. Before we left, we booked our next stay and look forward to trying out the restaurant on-site JoLe, which was closed for a brief vacation.

  • Liked — Great service and excellent facilities
  • Disliked — Can't think of one
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foxxdance68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

After a long drive, we turned up without a reservation to be given a wonderful welcome. The reception foyer and halls were lovely and the room had been recently redone and was pristine. The bed was really comfortable as well - we had a great sleep that night and didn't want to get up to go wine tasting.....

Overall, the staff were great and very helpful with directions and tips. Maybe because of the time of year, the price was also really good value. If you are coming to Calistoga as part of a wine tasting trip, this hotel is a comfortable base. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — The bed! The customer service was also wonderful.
  • Disliked — Being zapped on some of the metal accessories!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_in_Oxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our tour of California this summer and thought it was excellent. Very friendly staff, very comfy room and a lovely pool and hot tub out back. I would definitely come again and would recommend this to anyone visiting Napa! 10/10!

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

I had been looking at all the Hotels in the area and were getting quite frustrated that the prices were going up and places were being booked up. When I found this place, I thought it looked cool and the location was perfect.

It's within walking distance to everything in downtown Calistoga. The spa in the hotel is great too.

One thing I always look for in a hotel is not to remember it much. If I remember it, it's usually because there were bad experiences. This place couldn't be further from that if it tried.

Our room was a simple room, a little historical looking with a decent bed. I felt like I was staying at a relatives house and could come and go as I pleased. I was really pleased with this hotel arrangement.

My wife loved the spa and I liked the sauna. We did the couples hydrotherapy bath and absolutely loved it. We were going to do it again, but wondered if we would ruin a perfect memory.

One thing that wasn't there was an elevator, but I didn't really notice it until just now.

Something we did after hours was take a dip in the pool. That was pretty fun and we weren't bothered.

If you are looking for nightlife, Calistoga doesn't really offer any. The "Jazz/Blues" music was fairly boring. I did like the Hydro Grill bar though. It was a very friendly place, just horrible music.

  • Liked — That it felt like visiting a relatives house
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greenofrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2008

We just came back from our trip to Napa and I wanted to write a positive review for the Mount View. While I can't disagree with a lot of the reviews that call the property average we still enjoyed our stay. We too were given a room that didn't have a great view (parking lot), so I would recommend that you ask for a view of the pool/courtyard when booking your stay. You have to realize that this hotel is in the main area of the town and there are shops and buildings around the hotel. The view can't be great in every room.

The room was cozy (a little small) but the bathroom was beautiful (still had the historic tile and feel) and was very large. We were not in Napa Valley to stay in our hotel and we spent a lot of time out touring wineries or eating at restaurants so the size of the room didn't bother us. It was the perfect size to house your stuff, have a nice breakfast in bed and get ready for your day!

The pool and hot tub area is very nice and large. We also had the hot tub to ourselves every time we went out which was very nice. The hot tub does not "close" as long as you are quiet at night and polite for the other customers. That was a very nice feature.

The hotel is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants (again on main street) which is very nice. The Bar Vino looked good and the menu was very reasonably priced but we didn't have time to eat or drink there.

The only comment that I had and I told the hotel manager this was that while the staff was all very nice and friendly the manager was excellent and showed a level of enthuasim that was great!

Overall, it was a great value for the valley, and for the room and ammenities it is well worth it. (We did the vinotherapy package w/ 2 nights and 1 for free).

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OEManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
563 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
922 reviews
23.4 mi away
Silverado Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount View Hotel & Spa
Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing