We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky natural wonder worth a visit”
Review of Petrified Forest

Petrified Forest
Ranked #6 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A number of huge redwoods in this forest point away from Mount St. Helena, which once erupted violently.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Quirky natural wonder worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The fossilised remains of giant redwoods is quite fascinating, and made an interesting break point while on a journey through the area. Panels explain how the fossils were formed, how they were discovered, and excavated.

The entry price is a little steep for what will only take you about 45 minutes to explore. However on the whole I think it is worthwhile.

Clean toilets too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    146
    107
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a great change of pace from the winery tours and vineyards which can get a little monotonous after a while. It was really fascinating, and the friendly gentleman working at the information desk could not have been more friendly and helpful regarding other things to do & see in the area.

There was nothing earth-shattering about the experience, but the small fee was definitely worth it, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Something other than wine in Napa Valley!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The petrified forest at Calistoga is a nice walk through a lovely forest area. Take the guided tour and you can find out about the petrified redwoods there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The petrified forest was interesting and a nice hike through nature. I would have to say that for non-nature or science buffs or a four year old that it's not real exciting. It did have a nice gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trishyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
471 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Worth diversion from Hwy 101”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am in an RV and staying in Cloverdale, so a day trip along Hwy 128 was worthwhile for those of us who don't care about wine tasting at the 200 wineries along the "Wine Road" !

The signs made it easy to find and we arrived between the guided tours (call ahead to optimize the visit), so we took the map and enjoyed walking the loop and seeing trees that were buried 3.4 million years ago! The 1/4 mile "hike" to the ash was moderate and the views were stunning. My only wish is that we had stopped to get lunch first for a picnic here.

This is NOT a huge National or State attraction, but a small privately owned site. But even if you have been to AZ and other sites, it's worth the picturesque drive. And gr8 for those families who are near the area and may never get to visit the famous big parks.

Caution: when exiting, proceed with caution. There are blind curves with cars speeding along the road and not expecting you to pull out in front of them.

We also did "Old Faithful", had a fab lunch in Calistoga at All Seasons Bistro & Wine Bar and then headed North to visit the Geysers geothermal visitor center in Middletown on our way back to Cloverdale for Fri. night music in the plaza.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petrified Forest also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Petrified Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing