We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unqualified recommendation for lunch”

Solbar - Solage Calistoga
Reserve with OpenTable
Solbar - Solage Calistoga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brannan Street
Description: Relax, unwind and enjoy as we surprise your palate and feed your senses with dishes as artfully constructed as they are delectable. Whether you choose our Michelin-starred Solbar – a Napa Dining favorite – or prefer the refuge of your private studio, dining here is always a singularly rewarding experience.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unqualified recommendation for lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very beautiful, peaceful, spa setting outside under the trees, by a reflective fountain. Service sincere, professional and informal. Lunch menu with flavourful options and simple classics. Still savouring the BLT with luscious heirloom tomatoes. A dessert lover, but chocolate denier, the chef accommodated my request for creme anglais instead of chocolate sauce on the Solbar version of a banana split. (it includes banana bread) Off the beaten path and worth every minute.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    227
    62
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding waitress, Chanti'.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had another delicious late lunch today at Solbar. We had an excellent waitress who was really helpful with menu choices and very pleasant to visit with as she was an interesting conversationalist. The food was as delicious as the first time we went there 9 months ago while visiting Napa for the first time. Chanti' made us feel very welcome as well as the manager who took time to stop by our table. We will look forward to eating there again when we are lucky enough to return to Napa Valley.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sscottWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, California
Level Contributor
359 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Upper Crust, Trendy Dining Spot For The Well Heeled”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

About 20 friends ended a road trip at Solage for lunch on a recent weekend. It was very crowded, but the service was excellent throughout lunch. Folks ordered many different dishes and most thought they were excellent. My wife and I ordered the Lucky Pig which is a "some assembly required" meal. It works around a pork shoulder(?) that was slow cooked that you still need to pull apart. With a variety of items like sprouts, spiced peanuts, pickled pineapple, greens, hot sauce, etc. you build a wrap with either the lettuce supplied or with the sesame seed crepes. It was quite tasty but really messy so don't order this unless you like to eat with your hands. It is for 2 people so don't order it if your date is wearing all white. It won't end well.

It was a warm day so we sat outside so we could people watch at the pool. Some words of advice:
1. If you can't stomach old guys in speedos, don't face the pool. Tragic!
2. There are lots of flies, and I mean lots, outside so be prepared to live with them. If you kill one, all the relatives come to the funeral. To avoid the mobile protein, eat inside where it is also cooler.

This is a really lovely spot to grab a meal with friends that truly caters to the well heeled. Gotts this isn't. So grab a table, have a nice glass of wine, and enjoy some truly entertaining people watching.

Cheers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine and breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

nice and light ambiance with very friendly staff for breakfast. i was impressed with the restaurant layout. i wish to visit and eat here during lunch or dinner, i wonder if it has the same caliber as with Bottega.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conquest897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious & creative dishes”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Dined here the first weekend of August. Had a romantic and incredible dinner experience here! We opted to sit inside, and loved the high ceilings and large windows - so much natural light! Our server was great, and suggested we start with the white lady peaches appetizer - WOW, it was so delicious and the peaches were SO fresh!! We ordered the rib-eye and salmon as our main courses and those were also very satisfying. Overall a wonderful and memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solbar - Solage Calistoga also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Solbar - Solage Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing