We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hill House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Hill House”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I recently stayed at the Hill House at Indian Springs Resort. The house sits above the pools and the Buddha Garden up a private road just beyond the entrance to the facility.
The house has a queen bed upstairs in the main house and a queen bedroom and bath downstairs with a separate entrance. The house is beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen has great cookware, knives etc but unlike most VRBO rentals, there was no stock of condiments, oil or anything in the fridge. A drawback to have to bring absolutely everything you need to cook.
There are two great hammocks, several deck sitting and eating areas and a easy to operate propane grill.
I have been to Indian Springs quite a few times as a spa client and spent days at their pools but this was my first overnight. IT is a great advantage to be able to use the pools until midnight and again from 6 in the morning before and after the pool closes to day use folks.
The only other negative at the Hill House is that the easy path down to the pools is now closed and you have to walk a fair distance down and around the hill on a very not scenic dusty road to enter the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    598
    241
    94
    31
See reviews for
512
1,116
90
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We've been going to Indian Springs for years. First in the cottages and then the Lodge. Our kids love the hot springs pool, and recently we enjoyed the newly refurbished spa area - the Buddha pond is lovely. The ambiance is very much like the 50s - with modern touches. The only downside is that it books up quickly so be sure to call early.

Solbar (around the corner) is great for dinner. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebinMillValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Spent 10 nights in northern CA in July winding up our stay the last 3 nights at the Indian Springs Resort in Calistoga. Love this place! It has an old-fashioned earthy charm mixed with lovely renovations. We had a cottage with a front and back porch. The cottage had a nice spacious kitchen so we could make our own breakfast and lunch. The hot spring-fed huge pool was absolutely fabulous! It was very hot when we were there so we also enjoyed the smaller spring-fed pool which has cooler water. Within a short walk is a grocery store and a good number of restaurants and bars for a nice cocktail. Every single thing was perfect about this place. There is a beautiful spa there but we really aren't spa people. The resort itself was spa enough for us! If you want relaxation and beautiful scenery spend some time at Indian Springs!

Room Tip: It is well worth getting a cottage with the porch or porches. We had cottage #5 and it was just per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hc5w77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

After reading many reviews I did not know what to expect at Indian Springs Resort. It was difficult getting a reservation for the weekend so we opted to go at the beginning of the week which was perfect. We have stayed at several 5 star places throughout Napa Valley and surrounding and I can say with all certainty that Indian Springs is by far my favorite place. We wanted the perfect stay for my mothers birthday. We stayed in Bungalow 6 which consisted of a 1 bedroom with a pull out couch in the living room, kitchen, bathroom and front porch. My mother who is 80 and physically limited was able to use the ada complient shower with great ease. Our sheets were Frette and the towels were a very thick soft cotton. Lovely. Bathroom amenities were spa quality. We did not end up using the spa services but we did walk around the spa which was absolutely beautiful. There are Fatboy hammocks and loungers spread throughout the grounds. The resort itself is understated. If you are into nouveau riche modern you may be a better fit for Solage which we also enjoyed immensely but found to be a bit more impersonal surrounded by a lot of cement pathways and prefabishness and a little off the beaten path. Indian Springs is perfectly located at the end of the strip of the Main drag in Calistoga. They offer cruiser bikes to ride into town. Amongst the outdoor amenities included:
Bocce ball, shuffleboard, checkers, tennis, ping pong, basketball, chess by the pool and fireplace and I am sure there are other outdoor activities we overlooked. They provide the equipment.
The weather was in the mid 80's and I found the pools warmth to be perfectly comfortable. Both pools (one adult only/smaller and more private) were both relaxing, very clean and the waters temperature of both pools satisfying. There were kids playing but the main pool is large enough with enough space for everyone. Separating the pools is a lounge area with couches, chess, a fireplace and magazines. There is ice cold water flavored with cucumbers and fruit available at all times in several areas. Customer Service is not obtrusive and well serviced throughout the resort.
The downside: Our bungalow was connected to another bungalow with a family with teenagers. I would suggest asking not being next to someone with children with the chances of it being a bit noisier. The walls were thin even with our noise machine on. Our pull out couch mattress needed replacing. It was lumpy and more than likely older although we ended using a mattress topper we brought with us.
Other than having noisy neighbors I found Indian Springs to be the perfect getaway if you are looking for something more than wine tasting. There are restaurants in walking distance and the vineyards are 5 minutes away. I also suggest Farmstead in St. Helena for dining and drinks.

Room Tip: We chose bungalow 6 because it is off the street and directly across from the pool. It is also a.d.a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danishdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have been coming here since the 80s. The pool was always the main attraction. So it is with mixed feelings that I've read about the new "adult only" pool. On our last visit, diapered babies were allowed in the main pool. As my friend commented, it's like a steeping "teabag." It was very off-putting. There were way to many screaming children. Now, it seems the kids will get the pool all to themselves, and the adults who are paying top dollar will be relegated to the newer, less lovely pool. Not a great solution, as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After a gruelling travel day from Palm Springs, we arrived at Indian Springs and instantly felt relaxed.
Front desk welcome was efficient and helpful, and we went straight to the spa for a mud bath. The spa has an old world charm, and although not as fancy as some spas I've been to, I preferred the genuine quality of Indian Springs.
We stayed in one of the rooms in the "Lodge" as we were only staying one night, and it was very clean and comfortable. Next time we come back, and we will, we'll definitely go for one of the cabins which have that little bit more charm.
The mineral pool is amazing both architecturally and in scale, and is lovely in the cool morning with steam coming off the water's surface.
Love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent the weekend at Indian Springs and the highlight of our stay was the comfortable bed and lovely pool. Since the main pool water supply is from the geyser the water is quite warm but they have added a second adult pool that was 10 degrees cooler. Even though it was a hot summer day with many people, there were plenty of chairs, and it's so large it didn't feel too crowded.

The hotel is quirky and has a few things missing - a work out room, restaurant or bar and phones in the room. It's essentially on the main Calistoga strip so minutes from anything you can need, but would have been nice to have a place to get a drink on-site. They do have sandwiches and snacks at the pool but bring cash, they don't allow you to charge to your room.

A fun get away spot from the Bay Area, we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SADAMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1712 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Indian Springs Resort and Spa sits on 16 landscaped acres in the town of Calistoga. Our accommodations include lodge rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom cottages , 3 bedroom Merchant House and a two bedroom Hill House overlooking the valley. The highlight of our property is our historic 1914 Olympic sized mineral pool kept toasty year-round from our 4 geysers. Our award winning spa offers classic mudbaths, massage and facial treatments. Come take the Waters! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Indian Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Spa And Resort Calistoga
Indian Springs Hotel Calistoga
Indian Springs Spa Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing