We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
98
33
4
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
33
4
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rustic cabin redwood trees shared shower cold cereal homemade muffins breakfast included hot water suzanne property grapes
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our second visit to MHR. We were there 7 years ago with our twin boys (4 yrs at the time). This time we brought our close family friends and all bunked in Grandpa's Cabin. The children (ages 7, 9, 11, 11 and 12) were in kid heaven. The open nature and laid back environment was exactly what we all needed. The highlights were feeding the animals, swimming, paddle boats at the lake and even the mediation room. But the key is there are no TV's, telephones, and reception is shady, at best.

When it was time to leave, there were many sad faces and declarations of wanting to move there. A family friendly oasis hidden in our own backyard. The best stay-cation ever! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Grandma and Grandpa's cabins are conveniently located by the small pool and next to Main Lodge. They are the biggest and have full kitchens. They are older buildings and are pretty rustic, but can sleep up to 8 people. Sunrise and Sunset are smaller, newer and also good locations.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrittaMistalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We've just returned from our second stay at the ranch and our kids (ages 8, 10, and 12) declared that they want to make it an annual tradition.

John and Suzanne are personable hosts and make everyone feel comfortable. They serve a wonderful breakfast each day with homemade baked goods and jam, fresh fruit, and eggs. The grounds are lovely, from the lake, to the lookout, to the trails. My kids love feeding the animals, playing with the cat, picking wild blackberries, boating on the lake, and swimming in the pool.

The accommodations are rustic, and that is part of the charm. We enjoy preparing simple meals and eating them on the patio of our cabin. Making s-mores in outdoor fireplace is a nightly routine and a lovely way to get acquainted with other families who are staying at the ranch.

Room Tip: Cabins with kitchenettes are good for families with hungry kids. The Madrones cabin has a loft with a skylight where the kids like to play.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountainsancturay, Owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for the great review. We love to see families come back year after year. Parents don't see the incredible changes that we see in a year's time. Even better is when we see people we remember as children who now bring their children!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I took my group to Mountain Home Ranch for an opening retreat in April and it could not have been better. The place, though a bit rustic in some senses, is charming and functional, and an excellent value for the money. Rooms are cozy; grounds are inspiring, and the trails into the woods are incredible, with special features reminiscent of the Native Americans who used to migrate here twice a year. Suzanne is an excellent guide for that. The food was absolutely delicious. Great energy to this place. Workshop room was good for our needs, with lots of light and openings to the outdoors, which was lovely in conjunction with the warm weather we had. Overall, a delight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargueriteR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

OK, I'm a bit biased about this place I guess. I started coming here as a child in the 1960's with my family. I've been coming here on a regular basis for the last ten years with my own children. Mountain Home Ranch is an amazing get away from the pressures and headaches of the city. Here is a place you can totally unwind and just breathe. Cozy, homey, quiet and surrounded by the beauty of nature Thank you John and Suzanne for making every trip to the Ranch a wonderful time for the boys and I. :)

Room Tip: We like it upstairs in the main lodge, but every room or cabin is a unique experience.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_AndrewOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Regarding cleanliness, drapes were stained and we found hair in our bed. The only reason we gave a 2 was because the bathroom we had in our room was pretty clean. The main house had a humid smell. The bigger pool was disgusting. It felt like it hasn't been washed in over a year, we could barely see through the bottom of the pool. We decided not to go in it.

Regarding location, the ranch is really deep into the woods which has some of its positive we saw some deer at night.

Regarding rooms, ours had carpet in it which looked pretty old (not to mention like everything else) and it wasn't clean. But when it says you have a bed with a bathroom, that it what you get. No AC in the rooms, be warned.

Regarding value, our room was definitely not worth the 100$+/night we paid, even if its in Calistoga.

In general, we knew the reviews and camping/rustic expectations, but this place was worst than expected. It's a place that isn't really well maintained. Reviews that mention the rustic design of the place misunderstand that there is a way to make things look/feel rustic without providing the feeling like everything is about to crumble to pieces.

We would not return, nor recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BananaBread85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountainsancturay, Owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Once again, I plead for people to bring their complaints to us during their stay so that we can make amends and improve the Ranch. We are celebrating one hundred years in one family and we try to upgrade the physical plant whenever we become aware of a problem. Not knowing where or when the reviewer stayed, all we could do was to search every room in the lodge, but we could not find "stained curtains" to replace. The upper pool was hand-made by my father in 1940, and is now cracked and difficult to keep filled. While sanitary, the constant addition of our water, rich in minerals, makes the pool cloudy unless treated with chemicals to remove the minerals. We keep it filled for fire protection [Dad built it on top of the hill for that reason], and clarify the water when we have large groups. Otherwise, the small pool is sufficient, heated, and more popular. This reviewer obviously came when it was not being maintained, and for that I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews