We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
98
33
4
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
33
4
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrustic cabinredwood treesshared showercold cerealhomemade muffinsbreakfast includedhot watersuzannepropertygrapes
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 152 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2007

Old school charm at affordable prices. Close to downtown Calistoga but a whole different world away. I loved the canyons and the lake and being able to have my dog with me was a big plus. The pools were refreshing and the staff was wonderful. The scones for breakfast were the best! Not fancy but just what I was looking for. The other review was not of the normal accommodations but of one of the rustic cabins. The lodge rooms and the winterized cabins are quite nice and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cruzerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

1913ish property in need of repairs. Holes at the bottom of the doors allow "woodland creatures" (their words, not mine) to enter - had a cat-sized rat in my room the second night. One step above tenting.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank ltcgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountainsancturay, owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2009

We are sorry for the bad experience. The traveller chose one of our rustic cabins which we describe as "one step up from camping". These cabins are the original cabins built by my grandfather almost 100 years ago and are out in the woods where they can be subject to visits by the other creatures who live there. When the problem arose [we don't know if was a woodrat, possum or raccoon] we immediately upgraded her to an improved unit and did not charge her for the stay. We have chosen to keep some of the old cabins as an inexpensive alternative for the "Sierra Club" types who enjoy the camping experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2003

Rustic! Loved hiking well marked trails, very hilly, deep woods with sun drenched meadows. Deep canyons with glorious volcanic bed streams.
Large redwoods in canyons, even a petrified redwood in the streambed.
Natural sulfer spring tub in the woods. Enjoyed the warm swimming pool in the a.m. and late evening to loosen up tired muscles. The larger pool is cool and refreshing after a long hike and the lake is a delight! The hosts are a delightful couple. This ranch has been in the family since early 1900's. If you are lucky enough to be there when a group is there, you can get 3 meals a day, otherwise, breakfast only.
Some cabins have kitchenettes. Cook is creative and talented. Lots of other activities available on site and nearby. This is heaven for the real nature lover. Their pets include horses, a jersey cow, goats, chickens, ducks. A resident wild raven rides on the back of one of the horses. Wildflowers were amazing in late June. Definitely going back!

13  Thank Journey1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews