We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Calistoga”
Review of Chelsea Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Inn is located within a short walk from Downtown Calistoga. If you like real Mexican food, try the Pacifico. The Chelsea Garden Inn is cozy, clean and comfortable. If you're looking for a 4 star accomodation, this isn't your place. If you're looking for a warm, cozy, friendly place to hang your hat for a few nights, then you'll love the Chelsea Garden Inn. We stayed in the Cottage. We loved it. Judy and the staff are friendly and helpful, but not overbearing. Breakfast is good and freshly made, and there is plenty to eat. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgemerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for three night while "doing wine country". It was charming. Loved all the landscaping. We stayed in the lavender room. Great to have both a sitting room and bedroom. Room was clean and well cared for. Only a block or two to downtown so it was easy to walk downtown for dinner. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfasts were great. Wonderful fresh fruit as well as a homemade hot dish. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysinVegas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

When I first came here this was the only hotel/bed and breakfast that had availability for October so I did not have high expectations. The are reasonably priced with cozy spacious rooms located in Calistoga. They also served breakfast in the morning with some sort of home cooked omelet or quiche along with fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt with the normal variety of teas and coffee. The front rooms on the ground floor can get noisy depending on who else is staying at the inn. The common room was great with a fireplace where people can get together after a long day of wine tasting. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors of the buildings are spacious but difficult to carry your luggage as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCSpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the inn for the second time September 15 - 20, 2012. The rooms at this B&B have a very home like and private feel to them. We stayed in the Garden room this time and loved it - clean, quiet, comfortable bed. We especially enjoyed the private patio facing the pool. Innkeepers were extremely gracious providing all sorts of information about the area including good recommendations for area wineries and restaurants. The inn is located on a quiet side street about a block and a half from the center of Calistoga. Breakfast consisted many types of fruits, berries and granola with a different hot entree each day.
On the day we had to leave we had a family emergency and had to return to Michigan instead of heading to San Francisco for another leg of our trip. The assistant innkeeper, Samantha was on duty and made every accommodation to make sure we got on the road fast to catch our plane; much appreciated.
This is our absolute first choice of where to stay in Napa Valley!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkRakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Place was clean, private, beautifully landscaped, and friendly staff! First stay in Calistoga for me and my boyfriend. We were pleasantly surprised! Perfect walking distance to down town but in a quite and secluded area. Loved the pool and home made breakfast. Perfect for going wine tasting! Would definatly recommend staying here to anyone. One thing of advice however, book room on their website or trip adviser. We did a deal through livingsocial and did not end up getting much of a "deal".

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenainai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We purchased a Living Social Voucher for the Chelsea Garden Inn and used it Jun 12-14, 2012. Judy, the Innkeeper welcomed us upon our arrival and gave us great suggestions for tasting rooms and restaurants. She really knows Calistoga. She even gave us vouchers for free tastings in town. We were then shown to our suite,The Palm, and Judy walked us through and pointed out all of the details of the suite. The Inn is in a great location in Calistoga and within walking distance of restaurants and tasting rooms. We found the Inn to be charming and eclectic. If you're looking for a 4-star luxury hotel, then the Chelsea Garden Inn is not for you. If you're looking for a charming, comfortable B & B, then you will appreciate the Inn like we did. We thought breakfast was tasty and you can always ask for seconds. Samantha, the Asst. Innkeeper, was attentive and very sweet. We enjoyed talking to her during breakfast. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here in March 2012. Great location, able to walk to town easily. Room furnishings were old and some items in need of repair or replacement. Innkeeper gave us some good tips on wineries. But, we also did not feel really welcomed by the innkeeper. Breakfast was only so-so, we felt like the food was being grudgingly set out. The innkeeper would only put out a very small bowl of berries for 6-8 people for instance, you felt as if you could only take one spoon of yogurt and 4-5 berries! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merrie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Merrie: Thank you for staying at Chelsea Garden Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate input from our guests.

Regarding your review about the furnishings - We would like to point out that our property design and furnishings are chosen to be consistent with a particular tropical style popular in the 1950's. As such some of the pieces are old, but classic. We try to update the furnishings on a regular basis, but the style still harkens to the 1950's.

Regarding your concerns about the innkeeper's welcome (or lack thereof), we strive very hard to be welcoming but also to read our guest's need for attention and information. We recall your visit and believed that your needs were minimal; apparantly we misread you on this visit.

Finally, regarding your concern about the limited food portions, you may recall our approach to breakfast is to provide a "serve yourself" cold buffet and individual servings of the hot entree at your request. The buffet display and buffet offerings are less voluminious than some other B&B's because a) a lack of space on our service counter, b) a desire to keep all of our fruit and pastries fresh and attractive and c) the presence of the innkeeper at all times to replenish the items as they are consumed. If you or any other guest would like a larger or additional portions all you have to do is ask the innkeeper.

Judy Cook, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Garden Inn

Address: 1443 2nd St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1419 (Formerly Scott Courtyard)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £142 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a day of visiting world class wineries and other Napa Valley activities, return home to your private, spacious suite with gas log fireplace. Enjoy the inviting social room, or the courtyard and seasonal pool. Awake to a delicious country style breakfast and continue your wine country adventures. All rooms with complimentary WIFI, TV/DVD, A/C, private entrance and private bath, located just two blocks to Calistoga'smain street for spas, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Garden Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing