We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of Chelsea Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We came to the Chelsea Garden Inn Labor Day weekend for a friends wedding. My wife has cancer and is confined to a wheelchair. The bed and breakfast is older and therefore not required to be ADA compliant. Judy put us in the Garden suite and it worked out perfectly. The room was large enough for the wheelchair, the bed was large and comfy, and the shower had a hand held with a seat. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing with a pool. The location is very close to town, walking distance. Judy prepares a great breakfast every morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return to Calistoga again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deerpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Last minute reservation to a lovely B & B in Calistoga. Walking distance to great dining in a quiet residential neighborhood. Only 2 other couples on a mid-week getaway. Great breakfast in a airy sunny dining room. Assistant Innkeeper Samantha was very helpful with suggestions on where to eat and what to see. We arrived very late and the key and room were waiting for us.

Room Tip: Upstairs above the kitchen was very nice. Other rooms are in separate single story buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrykayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were delighted with the inn. The room was charming and so were the grounds. We sat out by the pool for after an afternoon of shopping. Town was so close, and the in room fridge made it a delight to pop into the gourmet grocery store and stock up on cheese and crackers to go with the wines we found at carious tasting rooms in town. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17marla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is are third time staying at the Chelsea Garden Inn. This time we brought two other couples with us and we all had a lovely stay. The Inn has a fun, laid back, wicker style of it's own. The rooms are comfortable and the pool and patio area is a great for sipping wine and relaxing after a day of winery hopping.

The location is perfect for walking to the main street (Lincoln) for shopping and eating. There are many restaurants, a grocery store, shops and a drug store within easy walking distance (5 minutes).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our vacation was absolutely amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the Chelsea Garden Inn. The casual atmosphere at the Inn, the cozy rooms and the breakfasts were wonderful! We loved being a short walk from the main strip where we had several very good meals.
Judy was a terrific help with shipping our wine purchases home which eliminated a whole morning of running around.
Don't expect high end accommodations, this isn't that kind place which you can probably tell from the photos and from the moderate prices. However, it's comfortable and very relaxed. Our room felt a bit cluttered but it & the bathroom were clean. Some of the common areas could benefit from more frequent cleaning, such as the tables out by the pool.
The resident cat, Cabernet, was very friendly and helped us to not miss our own pets quite so much.
We'd stay there again - and wish we were still there!!

Room Tip: The Cottage Suite is a nice size, has a patio & is near to the pool. If the pool is busy, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in the Cottage Suite. It was cozy for 4 adults, but nicely appointed. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. They loaned us the barbeque for the stay so we were able to cook dinner in the evening, wonderful convenience for a family traveling together. Pool was sun heated so no use in early June but it was a nice size for a small property. Being dog friendly was very much appreciated by our guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel206world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Chelsea the first weekend of May, celebrating a few family milestones and enjoying the wine country. We wanted a place to relax, prop up our feet and recover for the next round of food and/or wine tastings. Chelsea Garden Inn was perfect - Just far enough off of the main drag, but within walking distance to anything in Calistoga proper. We stayed in the cottage with our adult daughter and the accommodations were perfect, with two bedrooms, a sitting room, kitchen and full bath. It's worth noting that the accommodations are "cozy", but very generous given the price. This is an Inn or B&B experience, not a lavish resort or high-end spa, so guests need to adjust the expectations. That said, there is no way you can beat the quality of service provided by Judy, the Innkeeper. We arrived very late the first night - no problem. We were up and ready to go the next morning - no problem. We needed help with where to eat in downtown - no problem. Her service was everything from property management to cook (don't miss breakfast) to concierge to, .... well, you get the picture. In closing, we felt like we were going home at night instead of back to the hotel. If that's what you're looking for, this place should not disappoint.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.4 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Garden Inn

Address: 1443 2nd St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1419 (Formerly Scott Courtyard)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £121 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a day of visiting world class wineries and other Napa Valley activities, return home to your private, spacious suite with gas log fireplace. Enjoy the inviting social room, or the courtyard and seasonal pool. Awake to a delicious country style breakfast and continue your wine country adventures. All rooms with complimentary WIFI, TV/DVD, A/C, private entrance and private bath, located just two blocks to Calistoga'smain street for spas, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Garden Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing