We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Marathon Recovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at The Roman Spa and Hot Springs resort for two nights following my running of the Napa Valley Marathon. What a wonderful way to recover from my 26 miles and to celebrate my 60th birthday!
The grounds are well maintained and our room, which was directly across from the main pool area, was very comfortable. My wife and I enjoyed soaking in the three different geothermal pools for hours on end. Each pool is a different size and temperature. She had packed some plastic wine glasses (great idea!) so we could enjoy some delicious red wines from the Valley poolside. The weather was beyond "good" and floating in the main pool and watching the palm trees sway in the breeze was the best!
My legs have never recovered so well! We will return with our extended family members in that the hotel has numerous garden sitting areas along with the poolside areas where any family member would find their "favorite spot". We did not use the BBQ area this trip but did go a couple blocks to the supermarket and picked up some delicious sourdough bread and cheeses. Fill up the wine glass, tear off some bread and cheese.....think I'll go for another soak in the hottub!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for spending both your birthday and your marathon recovery with us! Congratulations on running the marathon, it is quite a feat that deserves a celebration! Indeed, the restorative geothermal waters help soothe those sore and tired muscles after such a long run. We look forward to seeing you again with other family and friends enjoying our grounds and barbeque area in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort is Heaven on earth in Calistoga. The rooms are very comfortable, and spacious, the pools are always warm and relaxing, and the employees always have a friendly smile. The grounds are neatly appointed with flowers, wisteria, tables and chairs, and a BBQ area. The kitchenette rooms almost make the Calistoga restaurants a moot point--almost. Everything you might need is close at hand. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Scott,
Thank you for your review, it really made our day. We are so glad that you are able to truly relax and enjoy our property to the fullest. We continually work toward exceeding expectations and take great pride in what and how we do things at the Roman Spa. We look forward to your next visit and serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Once again, I have returned to the Roman Spa to let all of life's tensions drift away in their amazing pool of healing waters surrounded by beautiful gardens. The new pillow-top beds give way to a peaceful slumber after a nice, long soak in the pools. I was able to cook up a wonderful meal on the new gas barbeque. It is no wonder that there are so many repeat guests, we keep coming back to this little piece of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaCruzShutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate knowing that you consider us a "little piece of heaven on earth" what a wonderful compliment! Calistoga is such a special place, and so much of it has to do with our authentic geothermal waters. Historically, people have been coming here for hundreds of years to soak in the "healing" waters. The effects on the mind and body can be amazing. We look forward to serving you on your next visit. Santa Cruz is such a quick trip here and yet it feels as if you have traveled to a far away place in order to feel that immense respite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in October 2011 and we loved it.
This is a perfect hotel to bas yourself at while exploring the local area and reasonably priced too. I particularly liked the enormous bed and outside barbeque area (gas and charcoal options with all utensils provided). We also used the steam room and pool which were very popular will all the guests. The heat is just right and everyone was very friendly.
Calistoga is a beautiful little town and this hotel as I said will suit most types of travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredPornStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Only spent one night here during my long weekend in Napa but next time I will spend more time here.... Staff where wonderful and helpful, especially as I had to make a trip back to get the book I had left in the room... The mud bath I would highly reccommend, I wasn't too sure about the whole thing but will do this again when I return. Carol who gave me my massage after the mud bath has magic hands, need I say any more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissieF1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your first experience taking a mud bath, also that the massage therapist provided an excellent massage. Indeed, one night is never enough to fully partake in the relaxation and rejuvenation that takes place here. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have been coming to the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for over 25 years, and consistently find a helpful and accommodating staff, and exceptionally clean facility. The rooms are cozy, the grounds beautiful and immaculate - we go every February, with spring flowers blooming everywhere. It is a relaxing atmosphere, the pools are clean, well maintained and you have three choices for soaking away the day.

Room Tip: all rooms are great - the rooms with kitchens are well equipped for a quick meal in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah Royat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Deborah,
Thank you for your very kind comments. It's always wonderful to hear positive comments about how consistently we have been serving repeat guests such as yourself for the past 25 years. We constantly strive to meet and exceed expectations and from your comments we are doing just that. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

After I regained consciousness following acute relaxation, I felt that I didn't dare to tell anyone how utterly blissful and beautiful and ROMANTIC this experience was - in the middle of February yet. The air was cool and fresh, the clear night sky was scattered with stars, and the tall palms waved lazily as my sweetheart and I floated warm and weightless with our neon noodles. Which reminds me of the bed and the soft white comforter and falling asleep with the light on.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Robert,
Indeed you have captured our essence. This has been an amazing February weather-wise and the forecast is warm and sunny for the week! The mornings/nights are crisp, steam rises off the pool and the soaking is almost surreal. We are so happy you and your sweetheart spent the time with us and hope you will be able to return again in the not so distant future (Canada couldn't be considered a weekend getaway).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £168 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revitalize at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga, the vacation getaway of the Napa Valley Wine Country. A hot springs paradise of invigorating waters intimately set among flowering Mediterranean gardens, private patios, splashing fountains, and a staff dedicated to your ultimate relaxation and pleasure. This is the perfect Calistoga hotel and spa to explore the wine country, stroll through Calistoga, sample Napa Valley's best restaurants, or pamper yourself with intimate spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing