We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WANT TO LIVE HERE.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

There is nothing I look forward to more than my annual birthday trip to the Roman Spa with friends. This year's trip was outstanding. The weather was perfect, sat out in the lovely gardens, right outside my room and watched a large red hibiscus open right before my eyes! The pools were heavenly and spent a good amount of time soaking, chatting, noshing and reading trashy magazines. Enjoyed the Friday special at the spa - two mud, mineral baths and massage. We had so much fun laughing and relaxing. Can't wait for our next stay!

Room Tip: We enjoy the kitchen with 2 queen beds. With a group of friends, this is the best way to go!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We are honored that you choose us for your annual birthday get- together with friends. We truly strive for that relaxed, comfortable, memorable experience, that includes things like "watching a large red hibiscus open right before my eyes." We also believe that soaking, chatting, and noshing are good for the body and soul. Add geothermal water to the mix and the benefits are enhanced three fold!
We look forward to seeing you on your next birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
There are newer reviews for Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Roman Spa in Calistoga is our go-to. Rest and relaxation, beautiful garden environment with table and chairs near every room, bbq and picnic area for all to use and the wonderful pools with welcoming, warm water. We prefer a room that offers a full kitchen as once we are there - we rarely venture off the grounds. Three nights has become our minimum stay - though we always wish we could easily stay longer.
The Spa next door offers specials/deals and we've always been pleased with their services. This time we indulged in the mud/mineral bath and massage combo.
The Roman Spa get-away makes you long for more get-aways!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLO323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I too found it difficult to locate a place with two queen beds for a Friends Getaway and I am delighted to have found the Roman Spa Resort. The grounds are lovely and well maintained and I enjoyed the seasonal decorative touches that were added around the public areas. At first I found the room a bit dated but the bed was extremely comfortable and the decor actually fit the charm of Calistoga. Location was perfection -- walking access to town as well as convenient and for treks to Napa and/or the Alexander Valley. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. The mineral pools, jacuzzi and Spa were wonderful. Thank you Elizabeth for a making my first mud bath a terrific experience! Your timing for bringing a cool towel and a cold drink of water were perfect. I would return to the Roman Spa Resort again and again.

Room Tip: A kitchette was convenient and allowed us to enjoy some fresh produce from the Farmers Market.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CactusFlower4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. Indeed, it is challenging at times to find rooms with 2 queen beds, often hotels offer only 2 doubles which we believe are cramped and uncomfortable when sharing with another, so we have always provided the queen mattress for our 2 bedded rooms.
I'm also glad your first mud bath experience was "terrific," indeed Elizabeth as well as our other mud attendants are excellent with timing and providing the individualized treatment that distinguishes us in the area of superior customer service.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived on Friday evening and were greeted at the desk. Our check-in materials were ready as was our room. It as pleasant and comfortable. We went out and enjoyed the pools then back to room to relax and fall asleep to sound of the fountains.
The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at sarafotnia restaurant and went to the farmers' market. We returned for our spa treatments and were delighted. The quality and the service were outstanding. We had mud baths and massages. They were great.
Spent the afternoon relaxing, went for another wander and an early dinner.
Relaxed some more. Very comfortable, lovely grounds and good service! Will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wndwlkr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We greatly appreciate your comments. Our staff strive to provide truly memorable experiences for each guest. It sounds as if you had a truly enjoyable visit in our delightful town and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for the first time and had a wonderful getaway weekend of much-needed relaxation! This resort was recommended to us by our close friends that have been staying there two or three times on a yearly basis. We were fortunate to book a lower floor unit which was one of the only two remaining ones available for the weekend. Our relaxation began with couples mineral baths followed by excellent Swedish massages side by side! The resort has three mineral pools, friendly staff, and within easy walking distance to downtown shopping and many nice restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend escape and look forward to doing it again in the very near future -- except for a longer stay next time!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rjs2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

I'm so glad we were able to provide you with a much needed weekend of relaxation! Soaking in the pools, mineral or mud baths followed by a massage under the hands of a top-notch masseuse will do wonders for both the mind and body. It is our pleasure to serve and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I booked this place at the last minute, as it was the ONLY place in town with two Queen beds (very hard to find two beds of any type, anywhere these days!) It was a little higher than I had hoped, then again? Harvest time of year and all that...Was pleasantly surprised with an older but GREAT room. The small vignette garden(s) at this place are LOVELY...The Jacuzzi and pools warm and therapeutic for those who need that. Parking was adequate and the place is wheelchair "friendly" for most I thought. The staff was EXCELLENT, helpful and gracious in every way. Honestly, we were there on a Tues/Wed. and it could not have been nicer and definitely was worth the money for us, as we love being able to WALK EVERYWHERE!!!

Room Tip: As always? Expect to hear some upstairs foot "traffic" if you get a downstairs room...Was...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your 1st experience with us. Harvest is indeed a beautiful time of the year to visit and the weather has been excellent! I'm glad you enjoyed our healing geothermal waters, the small garden areas and our proximity to the town. Our staff are amazing individuals with a true desire to serve and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return visit and serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The whole staff were friendly and accommodating. The location, 1 block from the main street, was a great location and a farmers market across the street on Saturday was awesome. If you want some where to relax, enjoy a mud bath, massage, and taste local food and wine I highly recommend the Roman Spa Resort! They have a pool that you could float for hours in and a hot tub that is just the right temp. We all agreed we would stay again next year, for our second annual girls trip.

Room Tip: I would try an upstairs room next time. The mornings we wanted to sleep in we could hear the people...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your "girls getaway" with us, it was our pleasure to serve you. How nice that you mentioned the farmer's market across the street, it has so many wonderful vendors and so much to offer, many of us partake each week of the local fare.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £175 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revitalize at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga, the vacation getaway of the Napa Valley Wine Country. A hot springs paradise of invigorating waters intimately set among flowering Mediterranean gardens, private patios, splashing fountains, and a staff dedicated to your ultimate relaxation and pleasure. This is the perfect Calistoga hotel and spa to explore the wine country, stroll through Calistoga, sample Napa Valley's best restaurants, or pamper yourself with intimate spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing