We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I reserved the room near the pool with the kitchen unit. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. We have been coming for years and like the ambiance at Roman Spa. The only thing we were disappointed with was the temperature of the pools, and that was the main reason we go. They were definitely not as hot as in past years. Several of the guests we spoke to felt the same. I would give it five stars if they would fix that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I will take your concerns to our maintenance department related to the pool temperature. We maintain the indoor pool at 100 degrees and the outdoor whirlpool at 103 degrees. The large outdoor pool is the only pool that fluctuates in temperature. Typically, we run that pool at 96-98 degrees in the winter and 92-94 degrees in the summer. Depending upon how warm the day will get, we have to adjust the morning temperature so it won't get overheated by the afternoon. I'm not sure what temperatures you experienced in the large pool during your visit but we strive to maintain the same temperatures as we have for over 30 years and hope your next visit is more satisfactory related to pool temperatures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
There are newer reviews for Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Mud bath was fun. My husband and I did it together. The bath attendant checks on you and brings you water and cold cloth for forehead, but gives you privacy to get in the tub on your own. They also let you get out of the mud bath and into the mineral bath on your own. I liked this better than having people in the room while I'm getting in and out of tubs.

Massages were great. Also, you can use the mineral pools for an hour before and after your treatments. We met some regulars there who told us that Roman Hot Springs has some great deals if you get them at the right time. We did the "Friday Special", which was mud and mineral baths for two, and 50 minute massages for two, for $225 (plus tip).

The waiting area is almost non-existent. We didn't mind, but if you like the fancy waiting areas with snacks, etc. It's not here. It's not a fancy place, but does the same quality services as other places in the area for much less money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Indeed, a mud bath experience is "fun." Our staff is very attentive to each guest which then translates into an amazing experience.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The good aspects were the beds were very comfortable and the location was perfect for walking to food/drink and shopping in downtown Calistoga. The Spa itself was also only OK. The mud bath, I would recommend as they add peat moss to "fluff" up the mud which I understand it much better than the "sticky" kind you find elsewhere in the area.
The not-so-good was the shape of the pools and what you get for your money. We came to Calistoga to soak in the mineral baths and went with websites to guide our choosing the Roman. The "hottest" pool wasn't that hot and the jets did not work well. There were loud guests (until 2 am) next door to us one night (one night was fairly quiet) but the management did not monitor the noise level and ask the guests to be quiet. For the money there should have been at least a continental breakfast and decent coffee. There wasn't. We did a little comparison shopping while we were there and
I would not stay at the Roman again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riasacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I appreciate your comments and I am sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. I am rather surprised by your comments about our pools, all 3 of our pools were completely renovated in the past month and the "hottest" pool (the outdoor whirlpool) was completely re-piped to reduce noise and works extremely well. The temperature of that pool is not permitted by the health dept to be above 103 degrees, so if you felt that wasn't "hot enough," there is nothing we can do to change that and I apologize if you prefer a higher temperature.

Regarding the issue with loud guests, I know there were a few nights during the holiday season that required a lot of monitoring from our after hours caretakers and they did speak with guests during each occurence. Once again, I apologize if you did not receive the satisfaction you desired.

I'm sorry to hear would not stay with us in the future but do hope you will find a different Calistoga property that will meet your needs and desires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was a fun place to stay...it's a little but motel-like but the rooms are clean. I liked they they had a fridge and a little kitchen area so you could keep your own wine and snacks. It's really close to town...just two or three blocks. The best part of this place, of course, are the mineral pools. They even stock your room with a few plastic wine glasses so you can bring your glass of wine to the pool so you can drink and soak at the same time. Would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed having the convenience of the kitchen and the stocked kitchen items. The go-vino glasses for the pool are a relatively new addition and one that guests really enjoy over your typical plastic cups.
The wonderful mineral pools are of course the highlight for each of our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed soaking. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Roman Spa is a very pleasant small hotel in Calistoga. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained. You can relax floating in the hot mineral pool or sitting in the hot tubs. The hotel is centrally located, close to a great variety of restaurants. One of the best choices for a stay in Calistoga.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jog4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and are honored that you believe we are "one of the best choices in Calistoga."
We do hope to see you again in the near future and look forward to serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was treated to the most beautiful weekend in Calistoga at The Roman Spa. Even with the pool being renovated the property was wonderful The front desk staff were so helpful with recommendations and suggestions, friendly and warm.

The spa experience was simply incredible; mud bath, geothermal soak and then a couples massage, wow. The spa was clean and so well run. We loved the staff, our bath attendant and massage therapists were fabulous. We really felt pampered.

The room was clean and comfortable although on our next stay we want to stay in the Jacuzzi Suite across from our room, it is gorgeous!!

We will be back. Thanks for a fabulous getaway

Room Tip: If you're up for a treat ask for the remodeled rooms upstairs. The Jacuzzi Suite was stunning.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 131Hiker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for your gracious comments. I'm pleased that your gift of a room and spa weekend was so well received and thoroughly enjoyed. When you return next time you will also have the added pleasure of soaking in our outdoor geothermal pools under the stars which is always such a wonderful end to the day. Indeed, the Jacuzzi Suite is the ultimate experience, we have two of these rooms for those looking for a private 2 person geothermal adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent a mid-week night at the Roman Spa Resort in Calistoga using the Manager's Special, which was a king-size non-smoking room, plus two massages, and two mud baths/mineral baths for $299.00. From the outside the Roman Spa doesn't look like much; my first thought was that it was built in the 1970's, however, that's the look of many of the lodging places in Calistoga as the town still retains a bit of funkiness.

Our room was fantastic. Quite large with a heavenly king-size bed, wonderful pillows, large HD tv with more cable stations than I've ever seen. The room was impeccably clean.

The outside pool and spa were closed for renovation, which we knew about in advance. Despite the process of taking a pool down to it's bare bones being quite dusty, our room was located out of sight of the renovation and we weren't impacted by it in the least. The indoor spa pool and his/her dry saunas were working and very enjoyable. The indoor spa is heated to a perfect 100 degrees and is large enough to do laps in, but that kind of defeats the point of mineral water relaxation, in my opinion.

The included mud bath was a first for both my wife and I. It was incredible. As this was our first, I don't know the typical ingredients in a mud bath, but this one consisted of peat, volcanic ash, and mineral water. Sort of like laying in 103 degree quicksand I suppose but our bodies were suspended and we never sunk to the bottom of the tub. Loved it. During the treatment an assistant came in several times to place cold towels over our foreheads and to provide us with sips of ice cold water. Very nicely done. After 20 mins or so in the mud bath we showered off and then relaxed in a jetted mineral bath, which was also quite nice.

This was followed by a 60 min massage for each of us. My wife is a massage regular and proclaimed this one to be among the best she's received. I'm a noob but I was impressed that the masseur took the time to ask me if I had any muscle or soreness issues he should address. How good was is? Well, he had to wake me when it was done. Pure bliss.

One of the highlights of staying at the Roman Spa is that downtown Calistoga, with all it's shops and restaurants, is located 1/2 a block away. Great downtown to poke around in without having to drive. We ate dinner at Checkers Restaurant (yummy, and good value), and had breakfast at the Cafe Sarafornia (food was just okay and a little pricey for what you get- won't be back).

This trip was an anniversary outing and we liked it so much we've decided to make an annual pilgrimage to the Roman Spa Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanBuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind and gracious review. It is always a pleasure to know that not only did we meet but exceeded your expectations on many levels. We truly strive to make each guest and each visit memorable. When you return next year for your anniversary you will be able to enjoy our newly renovated outdoor geothermal pools and surrounding pool area, which will be another added bonus. It's really quite delightful soaking under the stars and having the mist rise up around you.
Once again, happy anniversary and we look forward to serving you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £176 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revitalize at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga, the vacation getaway of the Napa Valley Wine Country. A hot springs paradise of invigorating waters intimately set among flowering Mediterranean gardens, private patios, splashing fountains, and a staff dedicated to your ultimate relaxation and pleasure. This is the perfect Calistoga hotel and spa to explore the wine country, stroll through Calistoga, sample Napa Valley's best restaurants, or pamper yourself with intimate spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing