We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful spot, friendly people, great massage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Roman Health Spa is a lovely place and it has been around for awhile so it has a homey feeling. The beds were terrific! We noticed it has a barbeque area for those who want to cook. Rooms are large and have a fridge for those wanting to bring drinks etc.
A lovely spot close to everything.

Room Tip: We were close to the pool and had some lovely tables close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved our beds! We get so many comments on how wonderful they feel and what a wonderful night sleep our guests have.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

An early Mother's Day gift. We enjoyed the luxury treatment of the total spa experience. Chose the mineral bath instead of the mud bath. An easy walk to bars and restaurants. Our package included 2 meals at Cafe Serafornia. We split the meal and there was plenty of food for us to make the coupons last for two days. The sound of the fountain outside our room made it a relaxing and fun getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Jennifer,
We are honored that you and your daughter chose to celebrate an early Mother's Day getaway with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your spa treatments, the mineral water is a very special and unique natural source that is so soothing and healing.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our one-night stay at Roman Spa. It's not extra-fancy, but the room was well-equipped and the beds were comfortable. The room had a small table and chairs right outside so we had a nice little spot to ourselves in the afternoon. The swimming pool and hot tub were pleasant and there were flower gardens here and there. We treated ourselves to mud and mineral baths, which were a fantastic experience, followed by massages to banish any remaining tension. The spa facilities were clean and graciously hosted. The spa/resort is located one block from Calistoga's main street, where there are several good restaurants, plus a lovely city park (good for picnics) so we never had to get into the car until time to leave. The staff was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Not a luxury resort (or as pricey as one) but has all you need for a pleasant and relaxing getaway. We would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: We stayed conveniently near the swimming pool and did not find it noisy but it was a little bit dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm so glad to hear you experienced a mud bath and massage which as you stated "was a fantastic experience." Our spa staff are quite amazing healers, tailoring the treatment for each individual guest.
We look forward to return and serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had originally stayed here during our daughter's wedding in September. Enjoyed the hospitality and the facilities so much we decided to return for a short visit! We were not disappointed! Three different mineral water pools/jacuzzis and a dry sauna offer more than enough for rest and relaxation. Located a block off the main street, it's a short walk to dining and any of the local offerings in Calistoga! This is not a fancy facility, but it's a wonderfal environment, and that's what we like about it. We will certainly return to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WIH220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed this visit as much as you did back in September. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I checked in for just one night and had a couples massage as well. The resort is very pretty, walking distance to everything! Now, for as much as we paid for a one night stay I'm rating this place a 2 because the quality of the bedding and our nights sleep. We stayed in the king room nothing fancy no jacuzzi or fireplace. The bed was horrible, basic mattress, pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. I woke up all throughout the night with my neck and back hurting. The pool was overcrowded with kids and adults as well so we hung out in the inside warmer big tub. I would suggest maybe bringing your own pillows and hopefully the resort management will take into consideration how much they charge they might want to get some foam mattress pads and upgrade their duvet with a light down comforter. When I pay the big bucks I want a comfy bed that I don't won't to get out of. The massage was just ok, I got stuck with a male as they didn't have enough women working and he just lightly rubbed me, I look forward to my feet getting rubbed, he waited to do my feet last, rushed through it and barely did anything to my feet. For the money we paid I'm disappointed. The place and environment is just amazingly beautiful and the staff was very nice but considering the price and level of comfort I'm just not impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Vivian,
I appreciate the time you took to write this review and I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations in relationship to our bedding and our spa.
Since 99% of our guests find our standard pillows to be a favorite (and they are on the softer side) and the king size pillows are on the firmer side, I will need to communicate with housekeeping to look into the room you occupied. Additionally, our mattresses are top of the line Serta (firm) for hospitality and the comforter is a light weight microfiber. It sounds as if you desire a softer mattress and a firmer style pillow. We do have pillow toppers for the mattresses when a guest makes a request for a softer mattress. We would be more than happy to accommodate if would choose to return.

I am also sorry to hear that your massage was not as you had hoped. It sounds as if a foot massage was of great importance to you and letting your masseuse aware of that would have had him allocate his time differently. Additionally, communicating throughout the massage the amount of pressure one desires is helpful to receiving the desired outcome.

I hope you will reconsider visiting us in the future and allow us to provide you with the exceptional service we strive for daily with each guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I come here every year with a girlfriend of mine - we leave the husbands and kids at home and head to Calistoga. We love it here because it's not fancy, it's casual. If you are looking for luxury spa weekend, this is not your venue.

They have this wonderful mineral pool which is at about 95 degrees all the time, plus a hot tub and then an indoor huge hot tub. We just go and sit in the water and sip cocktails or wine that we brought and float around aimlessly in the pool. Everyone else there is on the same program - it's super chill. Do not bring kids here, they will HATE it, it's not that kinda pool.

Bring robes - some of the higher end rooms have them, but most of them don't, so we always bring our own. The towels they provide are small, and if you are in and out of the pool as much as we are, you'll want a robe. The rooms aren't fancy, but you aren't spending time in there anyway.

The grounds are lovely - freshly planted flowers for each season (gorgeous Tulips for this last trip), perfectly manicured - lots of hummingbirds. It's very relaxing and nice, but again, it's not mega luxury - the rooms are a bit dated, but some have kitchens which is nice.

The location is perfect. You are one short block from the main street, and their spa is on the grounds. Highly recommend if you just want to unwind and check out for a couple of days. If you are someone who needs to constant ly be busy, this is not the place for you :)

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room - the sound travels, and if you have loud neighbors, being on top is bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milinxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoy your time with us soaking in our wonderful geothermal pools and relaxing on our grounds. Indeed, the tulips this year have been quite amazing!

We look forward to serving you and your girlfriend again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel and spa has amazing pools; great updated king room; has a great location walking distance to the main strip; and has a very nice spa!! We did the mud bath and that was a nice experience! Also, the website's pictures do not do this hotel justice. It is much nicer in person! It is a very well maintained and beautiful hotel. The staff were very nice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: The renovated room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your kind comments and how much you enjoyed the experience. It is also refreshing to hear that you feel our website photos didn't fully capture the beauty you found in person. As you recognized, the efforts and pride we place in our grounds and landscaping are tremendous year round.

Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £174 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revitalize at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga, the vacation getaway of the Napa Valley Wine Country. A hot springs paradise of invigorating waters intimately set among flowering Mediterranean gardens, private patios, splashing fountains, and a staff dedicated to your ultimate relaxation and pleasure. This is the perfect Calistoga hotel and spa to explore the wine country, stroll through Calistoga, sample Napa Valley's best restaurants, or pamper yourself with intimate spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing