We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Roman Spa is the perfect place to stay in wine country. Best location, greatest staff, beautiful grounds, peaceful and relaxing! We go there twice a year. I highly recommend the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBertuccelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    248
    68
    22
    37
See reviews for
112
340
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Roman spa is a perfect place to stay, in Calistoga, for some R and R. The spa on the grounds is great and the resort is right in the middle of downtown. You're walking distance from all the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were in town for a wedding and originally tried to stay at another spa but they had a 3 night minimum and we only were staying for two. THAT WAS THE BEST THING!! Because we found this gem of a hotel. It is an OLD property- where you have keys instead of key cards! That being said, the paint was fresh, the rooms clean, the beds comfy and the grounds were gorgeous! There were always staff members walking around cleaning, checking the mineral pool, etc. very well maintained. Many pergolas with wisteria vines growing on them..walking underneath with blooming, VERY fragrant Jasmine at your side...hummingbirds all around. It was wonderful! One large pool kept between 92-96 degrees, a few other, hotter pools. Spa services on hand. Terrific. So close to Main Street for a quick walk into town. Calistoga is easy, relaxing and gorgeous and this hotel made the experience that much more enjoyable!

Room Tip: Room 169 is a second story room away from the hustle and bustle of the pool. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcf0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. We take tremendous pride in our facility that has been family owned and operated since 1975. As you mentioned, we may be "old" but we are far from worn or tired. We are continuously working to keep our resort well maintained and the grounds, outstanding.
I hope we have a chance to serve you again in the future when you travel to the West Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my first trip to Wine Country, and in researching places to stay, I found lots of "extremes" in this area: inexpensive, yet very rustic places (think American youth hostels), and super-ritzy, exclusive resorts for $500+ per night. There were few options between the above-mentioned descriptions. Luckily, I struck gold with Roman Spa. I was traveling with my wife and a friend of ours. The room was immaculate, and had plenty of space for three adults (only one of whom is a light packer). We were super-appreciative of the kitchenette, as it had everything we needed and allowed us to save a lot of money that would have otherwise been wasted eating out. The pools were incredibly clean, perfectly warm, and were always fully-stocked with towels, even when the pools were busy. The staff were polite, helpful, available when needed, and often observed working hard to maintain the resort. We were never once disturbed by noise of any sort. Calistoga is small and compact, but it is still worth noting the fact that we could walk anywhere in town in minutes from the resort.

My wife and I travel quite a bit, and it's worth mentioning something that defines this resort as a sort of rare gem: Everything actually worked as described! The pools, the climate control in the room, the television and WIFI, all the kitchenette appliances, etc. I can safely state that this alone makes this place a minority. Thanks for an amazing and refreshing trip!

Room Tip: We were in a room 162. The first floor was helpful because it meant not dragging all our stuff upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreymatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your thoughtful comments and taking the time to describe your stay. We like to think of ourselves as a hidden gem in the Napa Valley. We strive to provide a restful, relaxing, getaway with superior customer service and attention to detail throughout the entire property. Each staff member takes great pride in their work and performing to the best of their ability.
We hope when you come our way again you have the opportunity to visit with us.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have been visiting Roman Spa for over 20 years. This past three days were by far the best. Great pools, wonderful staff, clean remodeled rooms, and the best pillows ever. In fact, we purchased four on our way out. I could not get the pools in my suitcase or I would have taken them too! Truly a delightful, relaxing and enjoyable get away.Loved having a kitchen, walking distance to the market. Never had to use the car! Can't wait to return next month! Yes, we booked again!!
Thank you Roman Spa Staff for a truly fantastic few days!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your very delightful comments. We truly enjoyed having you and your mother stay with us. It was so nice to reconnect with both of you since it had been a few years since your last visit. We look forward to your visit next month and serving you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We came to Roman for my 50th birthday, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The pools were clean, large, and warm. The room was very clean and neat, with a comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly, even while in the middle of routine maintenance chores. I recommend Roman to anyone looking for an uncomplicated getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejones911ssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Once again, happy birthday, we were honored that you chose to spend a very special day with us.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, CA.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great pools, friendly helpful staff, walk downtown, PERFECT place for a short get away or even a week. Kitchenette rooms available and outside grills. The mineral water pools are therapeutic and relaxing. The rooms are very clean basic rooms, WE come here for the POOLS ! We try and make it here at least once a year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hogheadRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. Indeed, the geothermal water is one of the main reasons so many come year after year. The amazing benefits of this water bubbling under the town is what has brought people to Calistoga for hundreds of years (and of course long before the town became famous by Sam Brannan, the Wapo Indians knew the benefits too).

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.3 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.6 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#8 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing