We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven right here on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven right here on earth”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

An Amazing experience from time of arrival to departure. The rooms and grounds are of the highest standards. The staff throughout are helpful, quiet and very polite. The pools are clean and extremely well cared for, the water just perfect in the varying temperatures. What an absolutely perfect get away. I will return time and again. Thank you for the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main pool area. We were in the 30's just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    254
    70
    22
    37
See reviews for
118
346
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have stayed at the Roman Spa several times -- both for romantic getaways and weekends with just girls. It's an oasis in the heart of Calistoga. The pool is pleasantly warm and the gardens are beautiful. There are BBQ areas on the grounds, as well as kitchens in some of the rooms, if you wish to cook meals on site. Otherwise, there are many wonderful restaurants in Calistoga! Everything you could want is within walking distance. There are several wineries in the vacinity, and a short drive to St. Helena is always fun! The service is great. I especially like working with Judy -- she is lovely, helpful, and very welcoming. I highly recommend Roman Spa the next time you want a relaxing getaway in the wonderful Napa Valley.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you Jillian for your thoughtful comments. Calistoga is a very special place and we are very fortunate to serve so many who enjoy and appreciate the natural geothermal water, our gardens, and our hospitality. I greatly appreciate your comments about Judy and will be sure to pass along your kind words. Every staff member from front desk, to gardeners, to housekeeping, to maintenance are all very committed to providing a memorable guest experience.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We do a girls spa trip here the last week of September every year. We always have a wonderful time; love the grounds and pools. The staff is great they always make us feel welcome. All the rooms are clean and having a kitchen is very useful for light meals and snacks. Looking forward to my trip next month for fun and relaxation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but we like to face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PENChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We're looking forward to your return! September is just around the corner!
Several new updates since your last visit- pool resurfacing and tile, remodeled indoor pool, additional pool seating groups and pool umbrellas for more shade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The oiifce personnel were most accommodating when there - the office is only open from 8-8 or so. Not sure what happens if one has a need at night or late checkin. The facility is old but updated and well maintained. The garden setting and pool are very inviting. Rooms are a bit pricey but there is more demand than supply so I guess that works out. The grounds are immaculate and several BBQs are available for picnicking. Housekeeping is very efficient and cordial and there are plenty of them. If you can deal with the $200-$300+ room rate, it is an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Room 114 was next to the pool but it was not noisy. No problem sleeping (the wine helped, I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrForgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I'm not sure how are weekend could have been any better. The staff at Roman Spa was phenomenal as was our room.

Everything you need is within a 2 in walk of the Spa with some great dining options.

If you haven't been to Roman - you need to check it out!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RickRokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I went in for a massage, it was heaven. They have great service and a great staff. If you want to relax; this is the place to come to. I had a body massage, facial massage, and a foot refresher. This is a head to toe package. They offered it and I loved it. It's called (The Ultimate Bliss) plus the next day I went in for a Mud bath since I never had tried that. Love this place. I call it beauty world. I was so relaxed. I also love that they close at 9PM. This Spa represents Calistoga very well. I will return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Kitty,
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I'm so glad you found the spa treatments "heavenly," our staff is truly amazing and provide customer service that goes beyond "excellent." We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Roman Hot Springs for three nights in July. We booked a superior king room, which was nice. The bathroom was clean and sufficient. There was a fridge and wine glasses, too (even plastic wine glasses for poolside). The mineral pools were super relaxing after a day at the wineries! The grounds are clean, the gardens are pretty and the mud bath was amazing! You can walk to the little town where there is plenty of places to eat, shop, etc. Calistoga is a nice location in general- lots of wineries close by and many tasting rooms on the main street, Lincoln Avenue. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanSpaManagement, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Mia,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our lovely quaint town of Calistoga. I'm also glad to hear you experienced a mud bath which is truly a unique and amazing experience that one can't find many other places in the world!

We do hope you have the opportunity to return to our lovely Valley in the future and allow us the pleasure of serving you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
535 reviews
3.6 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing