We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That was it?”

Old Faithful Geyser of California
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
Old Faithful Geyser Admission
Ranked #15 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Like its more famous Yellowstone counterpart, this Napa Valley geyser erupts at regular intervals - every forty minutes, in the case of the Calistoga gusher.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“That was it?”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were so excited to check out the Geyser and petting zoo. We couldn't find out the prices online, so we just figured it couldn't be that much. - $14.00 dollars per person.... and you saw the Geyser, and the "petting zoo" - which you couldn't really pet the animals. We took our VERY busy 16 month old son. He would have loved to touch the animals. Had we known the price we would have not gone. Save your money and go to the local park.
I debated on a Poor or Average rating. Gave them the benefit of the doubt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iwishso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    201
    205
    132
    112
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I thought this was a bigger attraction that it was. Not worth the regular price - gladI found Groupon txts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old Faithful Geyser of California...”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There it is! Maybe not the top of the list of great things to do in a rich environment of top things to do... Maybe not in the top one hundred.
The good news is it's right there in Calistoga a top five place to be in the world by my count.
This is part of what fuels the local Calistoga hot springs pools and that is a very Hot stop to enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped here before we left Napa Valley and viewed the geyser. At that point it was erupting every 10 minutes so once you saw it that was about it. There is a small petting zoo for the kids but not much to do otherwise. Overpriced for what you see and do. We will keep driving next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ILuvtotravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Over-priced and a Tourist trap - would avoid!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We knew what to expect, having read other reviews, but thought as we were doing the Silverado Trail, it would be worth going.
It is a geyser shooting water, a very poor shop, some goats and animals and that's about it!
It definitely isn't worth the entrance fee and certainly wouldn't go there again!
On a positive, you are pretty much guaranteed to see it go wooooosh!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Faithful Geyser of California also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Old Faithful Geyser of California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing