We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadowlark Country House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Calistoga
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort(Calistoga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bergson(Calistoga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa(Calistoga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EuroSpa & Inn(Calistoga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
393
10
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
10
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe clothing optional poolmountain view roompond roomcovered bridgepool houseother gueststhe main houseb bhot tubgracious hostswrap around deckbeautiful horseswine countrynapa valleythe wrong placebeautiful propertybreakfast each morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this wonderful B & B in the heart of the wine county.

THE ROOM:

This time we stayed in the 'Pond Room'. It is well appointed and has an amazingly comfortable bed. It also has a large very private patio which gets full afternoon sun --perfect for working on your 'all over tan'.

The bathroom has a large Jacuzzi for two and -as all rooms do--comes complete with a corkscrew, wine glasses and a champagne bucket.

The only down side to this room is the fact that it has the afternoon sun. On especially warm or sunny days, this room would likely get warm as the blinds do not block al the sunlight.

This is only a minor point however. Many guests we spoke with say they would actually prefer such a location.

THE GROUNDS:

Take a brief walk and see the horses, parakeets, parrots, chickens, Guiney hens, etc. that populate the grounds. See the gardens where Richard ( one of he owners ) gets his herbs and other ingredients for his famous breakfasts.

BREAKFAST:

When you stay in a place that features ' breakfast' in its name--you MUST sample it. Richard is a marvelous cook and each day brings a different entre-from eggs benedict( terrific) to mushroom omelets or pancakes. All with a bowl of hearty granola cereal--which I prefer to eat without milk-- like a trail mix, and fresh fruit, juice and coffee / tea.

THE POOL / SPA / SAUNA:

Be advised this area is clothing optional and most, if not all guests tend to enjoy this area nude. That said there is no pressure -- rather you may or may not ' disrobe to your comfort level'. Some do--some don't -- no one cares or judges either way. Unfortunately on this trip the weather was too cool and rainy for us to enjoy this area. ( The day we had to leave, the weather was sunny and 85).

THE OWNERS:

Kurt and Richard are the most gracious and helpful hosts you could ever hope to find.

Richard will go out of his way to call and use his connections to get reservations at area restaurants or wineries. Kurt will give his expert and unbiased opinions of wherever you
plan to visit. Both will sit and chat with you at breakfast as if you're an old friend.

Since our first visit--my wife and I agreed that this is our only place to stay on our annual visit to the wine country.

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad room in the place. But, I do prefer the Mt View for the morning sun and the view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamminj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently returned from our CA vacation, with three nights at the Meadowlark in Calistoga (Sept. 2013). We arrived at the inn late in the afternoon and it was quiet and we did not see anyone around. A note was taped to the front door with our name to guide us to our room. It was immediately apparent this was a very relaxed, stress-free place. We spent three nights in the Garden Room, which was perfect for us. It had a queen sized bed, private patio with two lounge chairs, and a large bathroom with a huge whirlpool tub and separate shower. When we arrived there was music playing in our room, which set an immediate welcoming and relaxing environment. We soon after met Richard who warmly greeted us and suggested a dip in the hot tub by the pool (the pool area is clothing optional, and while this is not something we have every tried before, we fully embraced it and it was surprisingly comfortable as anyone by the pool is there to enjoy themselves, judgement-free). Kurt and Richard suggested a late-night nosh for us in the town of Calistoga and we then returned to the inn to pass out from a long day of traveling. In the morning we headed to the main hour for breakfast. Each morning it was exciting to see what would be on this menu. This was not a simple fruit and pastry breakfast. Each morning Richard and the staff cooked an amazing breakfast feast: eggs Benedict (best I have had), omelets, crepes; each and every morning was great. Another highlight was meeting other guests from all over the country and learning about them and their daily lives as well as their Napa experiences. While we never stayed at a B&B-type inn before, this was a great introduction. When we did check-out, we left feeling like friends and family with the owners and guests, and after a big hug we set out. I'm sure if we are in the Napa valley area in the future we will return to the Meadowlark.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjz1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

There is very little I can add to the many positive reviews you will find below. Your hosts are delightful. Richard is gracious and is a fantastic cook. Kurt has some of the funniest stories you will ever hear. We enjoyed their company so much we invited them for wine and cheese and Richard was able to join us that night. Both love their horses and work hard to preserve a natural and relaxed setting. If you are trying to cram as many winery tours into one day as possible, you will not be taking full advantage of this B&B. Not designed for a fast pace and that is a good thing. We stayed three nights and that is a nice length of time. Calistoga, by the way, is the antidote to the city of Napa which is nice enough but it looks more like a suburb. We stayed in the Pond Room and our friends stayed in Mountain View but any room would be fine. It is highly likely we will return. P.S. they take complaints very seriously, and the very rare ones shared here, in my opinion, are a function of people who are looking to complain about something no matter where they are.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BoomerBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spend 2 nights in this wonderful place.
Richard - one of the owner - welcomed us warmly and show us around.
The place is located in the a green forest, far from any city noise. It has a beautiful swimming pool.
The breakfast on the porch was very tasty and one can see that much attention was given to the table arrangement, food presentation, quality and test of the food
We received helpful tips from Kurt & Richard regarding where to eat, and which Winery are worth visiting.
If we'll visit this Napa Valley once again - we will surely be staying there for again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having just become empty nesters, we thought it time to try something new. Having always stayed in Hotels, some 5 star, we didn't quite know what to expect, this being our first B&B. What a wonderful stay, we will never forget our two days here. We stayed in Suite 2 and it was fantastic. From now on, when we need a getaway, this is it. We will now judge all other places on our "Meadowlark" scale. Kurt and Richard are two of the warmest, gracious and kindest people we have ever met. Staying here was not like staying at business, but more along the lines of visiting with close friends or relatives that we had not seen in a long time. From the Breakfast in the mornings and wonderful conversations, to the recommendation for lunch and dinner. Everything was just perfect. Oh and I forgot to mention the pool, the water temp was absolutely perfect and the hot tub just divine. I feel as if we not only met wonderful new people, but actually extended our family by a couple. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews