We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Napa Valley Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlark Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Napa Valley Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights in the Meadowlark Inn in November to visit wineries in the area. Our stay was perfect. We arrived late but there was an envelope taped to the door welcoming us and telling us to make ourselves at home. The fireplace was going making the inn cozy. Our room was right off the entrance, had it's own fireplace, was large and roomy, spotless and equipped with everything you'd expect in a top-notch B&B. Perfect. Luxurious robes were in the bathroom so even though it was very cold out we went down to the hot tub in the covered spa area surrounded by candles. The pool was clean and, if it hadn't been November, inviting.

We met Richard and Kurt in the morning at breakfast. Breakfast was outstanding. Fresh coffee, crunchy cereal to start and then a special entree like my favorite, eggs Benedict. Richard goes out of his way to make sure each guest has everything to their liking including how soft/hard the eggs should be, any allergies or dislikes. Kurt charmed everyone with his stories and background. Both are intelligent, interesting to talk to and made our stay special. They have been in Napa a long time and share insider information about wineries and special places to visit. We met other very nice couples who we hope to see there next time.

Upon arriving home, we discovered my husband was missing a sweater. We called Richard who found it plus another sweater my husband didn't know he'd left and shipped them to us overnight. Excellent service!

Room Tip: We loved Room 5 right off the lobby. The two-story pool suite looked wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
298
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I recently got home from a 10 day trip around San Francisco, Tahoe and Napa Valley. I love B&Bs and found the Meadowlark Country House on tripadvisor so I am excited to share my experience and help others find this wonderful and charming B&B for themselves!

We had a late dinner with friends before checking in and the Inn couldn't have been more accommodating. There was a note on the front door for us and we showed ourselves to the room. When we woke up the next morning for breakfast we were greeted by Richard and Kurt. We sat for breakfast and enjoyed fresh OJ, cereal, and the best fresh egg and mushroom crepes with veggies from the beautiful kitchen garden. Even better than the breakfast was sitting around the table and getting to know Richard and Kurt. After breakfast Richard pulled out and map and helped us plan for our day. It was our first trip to Napa Valley and we hadn't made one reservation or planned one tasting. Richard was so helpful and suggested an itinerary for our day and even called and booked reservations for us for dinner both nights of our stay.

We were upgraded to a larger room that we had booked for no reason other than it was available and that is the kind of place it is. Our spacious room had an unbelievably comfortable king sized bed with 3 sets of french doors overlooking the garden and mountainside. The bathroom was lovely with a large 2 person soaking bath tub.

Our first night we enjoyed taking a bottle of wine down to the pool and lounged in the hot tub and sauna. It was magical.

We loved our stay and couldn't ask for a lovelier place to stay. We will certainly always stay at the Meadowlark Country House whenever our travels take us back to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDaanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked a room very last minute and was lucky that someone just cancelled. The pool wasn't as warm as I thought it would be, but the sauna and the hot tub was very nice. There is also a barn, horses, chicken, and the owner's garden at the property which you could stroll around to. Richard and Kurt are some of the friendliest hosts we've had at B&Bs. Breakfast was TWO egg benedict, homemade granola and cereal mix, OJ and coffee, definitely fill our tummies.

The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because our room is downstairs and I'm a very light sleeper and heard creaking noise from the floor board upstaris all night light (I think the couple upstairs had their dog with them) so I didn't get much sleep at all. Not to discredit the room though, it is spacious, beautifully furnished and it even comes with your own whirlpool and private porch area. If you are like my husband who can sleep through anything, this wouldn't be a problem at all.

I would love to come back in the summer time but be sure to book an upstairs room next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellehu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurt s, Owner at Meadowlark Country House, responded to this review, 8 September 2015
Of course the pool was cold in November. November is a the beginning of winter here andwe do not heat the pool when this starts. No one told anyone one to go into the pool and swim when the water is cold. I would not do this even when there is a hot tub close by.
If the guest had let us know they were noise sensitive we would have put this in an upstairs room. All the rooms are beautiful, upstairs or downstairs. Just let us know you are a light sleeper. Next time we put you upstairs.
Looking forward to having you here in the near future.
Kurt and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We've stayed at the Meadowlark three times now and each time the experience is more memorable. From the perfectly appointed rooms to the sweeping views of the mountains and horse farm, a stay at the Meadowlark is a peaceful escape from city life. The clothing optional pool, hot tub, and sauna give a European touch to an already pleasurable experience. Hosts Kurt and Richard delight with a different hot breakfast every morning and great conversation around the long table You'll make new friends from all around the country. And you'll get timely advice on where to taste boutique wines and gourmet food in the valley. If you're looking for the perfect relaxing getaway and a place to make new friends, the Meadowlark is it! We hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: We love the Mountain View room but any room is a good room at the Meadowlark. Tell Richard what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougmayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

After a five day conference in San Francisco my husband and I drove out to Calistoga for a quick little romantic get away in wine country. We arrived late in the afternoon to the Meadowlark. We were so excited to see the well kept and charming bridge,entry to guest house and surrounding gardens. Exactly as the website portrayed. The suite was spacious and well appointed. The French doors opened to two decks and the weather was so nice we immediately went out the doors to stroll the gardens and up the hillside to look out over the valley and watch the sunset. Our hosts were charming and entertaining. The food was excellent, breakfast, freshly prepared egg dishes. We were welcomed like family and encouraged to enjoy the property. I highly recommend the Meadowlark to anyone who enjoys life.! We will absolutely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This review is long overdue but I wanted to make sure people knew how nice this place was...we only stayed one night during our whirlwind tour of Northern California but it was a wonderful part of the trip. We arrived mid-afternoon and no one was there but there was a note on the door specifically for us that gave us great instructions on how to get to our room and that they would be back soon. We were upgraded to a nicer room which was very nice and we got settled in and wanted to take a quick dip in the pool. We really enjoyed the clothing-optional pool, it was just us and another couple at the pool and they were in suits so it's no big deal either way. It was a little chilly/windy that day so we took advantage of the really nice hot tub and it was really relaxing with wonderful views. One of the owners ended up joining us in the hot tub and pretty much gave his life story on how he ended up with the place which was a neat story. We had a amazing meal in town at SolBar...it's pricy but it was worth every penny. The next morning we woke up to a brisk morning and I took another soak in the hot tub and it was one of the best mornings of my life...so relaxing. We had breakfast with the other guests on the porch and had an AMAZING eggs benedict, fresh fruit and granola and talked briefly with the guests/owners. Most others were staying longer but we were headed to San Francisco so we headed out quickly after breakfast. When we return to Northern California, we will DEFINITELY be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donjohnson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have been coming to the valley for 13 years, rented some very nice homes, & stayed at some fantastic B&B's. This was by far the nicest B&B. It was a true Shangri-La. Beautiful rooms, grounds, pool, horses. I did not want to leave. Richard & Kurt were awesome. I will never look elsewhere when choosing a B&B again.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. look at the pics on the site. There are no bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorcycleTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Property: Meadowlark Country House
Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing