We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Overnight Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #3 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Kurt and Richard are amazing and this was the best travel experience I have ever encountered! The property is amazing and the hosts are wonderful, intelligent, enlightening, compassionate individuals who want you to relax, unwind and experience the beauty of the property and each other. Our dogs were welcomed and loved and relaxed on the back deck as much as we did. This was a perfect surprise getaway. Richard cooked a wonderful healthy breakfast and taught us a different way to pouch an egg. Kurt's enlightening advice and perspective is wonderful and I could listen to him talk all day about his views on life and people. If you truly need to relax, unwind and reconnect with nature, enjoy this stay. It will leave you feeling refreshed, relaxed and wanting to stay longer! Thank you Kurt and Richard!

Room Tip: The Poolside Suite is amazing and you walk right out of your room to the Hot tub, Sauna, and pool. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinlover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
310
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed two nights in the Mountain View room on a weekend for my boyfriend's birthday, January 10 & 11. This is a lovely relaxing vacation retreat. The owners, Richard & Kurt, were so sweet and accommodating. We arrived very late on Friday night to find our room nice and warm and all the lights on to welcome us. The room was beautiful, clean, contemporary, and cozy. We slept very well on the super comfortable bed and wonderful country silence. In the mornings we awoke to a lovely view of the Calistoga mountains, a charming red horse barn, cute pond, and lots of forestry. Richard's breakfasts in the morning were fantastic! Richard served us sheared eggs one morning with ham and the next morning eggs benedict with delicious Hollandaise sauce. The table presentation was very homey complete with orange juice, coffee, tea, milk, and cereals. Meadowlark is also located within easy driving distance of many Napa highlights with convenient access to local downtowns (St. Helena, Yountville, Rutherford). Richard and Kurt are also excellent advisors on local restaurants, vineyards, parks, and interesting places to visit. Just let them know what your interests are and they will guide you in the right direction. Overall we had a lovely time and will definitely return whenever we need a relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Can't say enough about Richard and Kurt. They were the most excellent hosts. We found them fascinating and very engaging. Richard's breakfasts were amazing and the breakfast conversations, which went past 11:00 am, were perhaps the highlight of the weekend. The location was perfect, minutes from downtown Calistoga yet secluded. Very low-key, laid-back atmosphere which allowed for total decompression. Being January the pool was not available, unless you wanted to do a polar bear swim, but the hot tub was available and quite pleasant. The pool area is clothing optional. We were the only couple on property so this was not an issue, but Richard and Kurt make everything so accepting that we would have been perfectly comfortable with a larger group. If you want a great get-away drop your inhibitions and head to Meadowlark.

Room Tip: Room #4 has a huge wrap-around veranda with great views of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Get yourself to Calistoga, CA and spend some time at the Meadowlark Country House.

We spent this past Thanksgiving week here. The place was all I hoped it would be. We had the Mountain View, Garden and Pond rooms which gave us our own wing to ourselves. I stayed in the Garden room and it was perfect. The room had all I needed and more. A hot soak in the Roman tub with jets was the perfect way to end the day. The bathroom lights can dim so you really can get swept away to wherever your mind takes you.

Breakfast with Richard, Kurt and guests was always a fun way to start the day. Richard and Kurt had a lot of insider information on where to go as well as stories about a lot of the places. Breakfast was tasty and the conversation interesting. We were never in any rush so we were glad to hang out for this leisurely morning.

We enjoyed spending time talking with Kurt and Richard and hanging out on the property while they were tending to the horses and other chores. One afternoon we sat on the deck of the Mountain View room and looked at the beautiful view while sitting around the patio table relaxing. While the place is clothing-optional, you can get as involved or uninvolved as you want to with that. Don’t let that deter you from staying here if it’s not your thing.

I highly recommend taking some time out of your busy life and spending it here. Thanks Richard and Kurt for everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The Meadowlark inn is all that we expected. It's romantic, charming, clean, warm and welcoming. The setting is peaceful, private, well cared for, comfortable yet an easy drive to all of the wineries.

Meadowlark states clothing optional, but I wouldn't let it intimidate. What I found is all the guest were mature and behaved well. We stayed for a weekend and never felt uncomfortable. Lastly, breakfast was fresh and a great way to start the day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights in the Meadowlark Inn in November to visit wineries in the area. Our stay was perfect. We arrived late but there was an envelope taped to the door welcoming us and telling us to make ourselves at home. The fireplace was going making the inn cozy. Our room was right off the entrance, had it's own fireplace, was large and roomy, spotless and equipped with everything you'd expect in a top-notch B&B. Perfect. Luxurious robes were in the bathroom so even though it was very cold out we went down to the hot tub in the covered spa area surrounded by candles. The pool was clean and, if it hadn't been November, inviting.

We met Richard and Kurt in the morning at breakfast. Breakfast was outstanding. Fresh coffee, crunchy cereal to start and then a special entree like my favorite, eggs Benedict. Richard goes out of his way to make sure each guest has everything to their liking including how soft/hard the eggs should be, any allergies or dislikes. Kurt charmed everyone with his stories and background. Both are intelligent, interesting to talk to and made our stay special. They have been in Napa a long time and share insider information about wineries and special places to visit. We met other very nice couples who we hope to see there next time.

Upon arriving home, we discovered my husband was missing a sweater. We called Richard who found it plus another sweater my husband didn't know he'd left and shipped them to us overnight. Excellent service!

Room Tip: We loved Room 5 right off the lobby. The two-story pool suite looked wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I recently got home from a 10 day trip around San Francisco, Tahoe and Napa Valley. I love B&Bs and found the Meadowlark Country House on tripadvisor so I am excited to share my experience and help others find this wonderful and charming B&B for themselves!

We had a late dinner with friends before checking in and the Inn couldn't have been more accommodating. There was a note on the front door for us and we showed ourselves to the room. When we woke up the next morning for breakfast we were greeted by Richard and Kurt. We sat for breakfast and enjoyed fresh OJ, cereal, and the best fresh egg and mushroom crepes with veggies from the beautiful kitchen garden. Even better than the breakfast was sitting around the table and getting to know Richard and Kurt. After breakfast Richard pulled out and map and helped us plan for our day. It was our first trip to Napa Valley and we hadn't made one reservation or planned one tasting. Richard was so helpful and suggested an itinerary for our day and even called and booked reservations for us for dinner both nights of our stay.

We were upgraded to a larger room that we had booked for no reason other than it was available and that is the kind of place it is. Our spacious room had an unbelievably comfortable king sized bed with 3 sets of french doors overlooking the garden and mountainside. The bathroom was lovely with a large 2 person soaking bath tub.

Our first night we enjoyed taking a bottle of wine down to the pool and lounged in the hot tub and sauna. It was magical.

We loved our stay and couldn't ask for a lovelier place to stay. We will certainly always stay at the Meadowlark Country House whenever our travels take us back to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDaanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
511 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.7 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
927 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Property: Meadowlark Country House
Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing