We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meadowlark is Best B&B in Calistoga!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meadowlark is Best B&B in Calistoga!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked for three nights and ended up staying six! My husband and I were looking for a relaxing, romantic and quiet getaway and we were particularly pleased that this is an adults only B&B. The property is off the main highway so very quiet. The rooms are all beautifully appointed, extremely clean, and the beds are very comfy. We danced in the moonlight at the gorgeous pool and lazily sipped our wine on our private patio as we gazed at the stars. The breakfasts were all superb and we had the best eggs Benedict we have ever tasted! We met wonderful, interesting and unpretentious guests at this dog friendly B&B. We so enjoyed our time with the Owner, Kurt, and his friendly little dog, Sparky. Kurt is extremely hospitable and very knowledgeable of the Napa and Sonoma area. Enjoy his recommendations because they are all excellent! We also had a great time getting to know Kurt and Richard's absolutely beautiful show horses. I think we bonded! What a memorable stay. We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfy but be sure to look at the website to choose as not all rooms have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
308
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Meadowlark as the last stop of our honeymoon. We chose Meadowlark after looking into almost every guesthouse in the Napa Valley and were won over by it's setting and apparent warm welcome for all. We weren't disappointed. Kurt and Richard were great hosts who offered all the insights we needed to make the most of the area - best vineyards and restaurants. We had room 4 on their recommendation and loved the view from the huge private terrace, four poster bed and spacious lounge area. In contrast to a previous review, we were pleased to see that the owners provided large shower gel and shampoo bottles instead of the unsustainable little plastic bottles corporate hotels provide. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on the communal terrace each morning and enjoyed chatting with Kurt and other guests. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The proprietors Richard and Kurt made sure that our visit was relaxing and enjoyable. The property was lovely and the rooms were comfortable. Was thouroughly impressed with the breakfast each morning on the veranda, and the pool lent a rest bit after a long day of wine tasting. The property is located conveniently right outside Calistoga city center, and minutes from quality napa valley vineyards. Even though we had loosely planned our itinerary, Kurt and Richard provided excellent advise on where to eat and drink. Thanks to their knowledge of the valley we enjoyed every moment of our stay. Would wholeheartedly recommend staying at this charming B&B.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventureseeker342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Meadlowlark is on a beautiful, wooded property, complete with horses and chickens and magnificent flowers everywhere. The mountains create a dramatic backdrop to every view. I woke up in the morning listening to the sounds birds chirping, and relaxed on the spacious, private deck in my room. I believe that most rooms have private decks. Richard and Kurt are warm and welcoming hosts, and strive to make all of their guests feel comfortable and at home. They are charming and engaging, and very knowledgeable about Napa Valley and the surrounding area. They have great suggestions for restaurants and activities. We enjoyed their company and warmth immensely. Breakfast is delicious and relaxing, served outside on the veranda overlooking the property. We look forward to returning!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NJm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Meadowlark is a Beautiful Property with Mountain Views. Wonderful Breakfasts are served btw 8:30-9:30 by Richard in the main guest house. He's great with restaurants, directions and winery suggestions. Kurt shows up later to greet guests. They live elsewhere on the estate.
We stayed in the main guest house. Downstairs is large attractive common area. Only place to get reliable wi-fi. Room #4 is large and features a great wrap-around veranda with Mtn views.
Bit dated with old TV & chairs; Bathroom amenities are bulk reused soft soap and warehouse sized shampoo/conditioners. No bar soap or shower curtain.
My wife & I were aware of the clothing optional pool so we avoided it. However some guests didn't restrict their nudity to the pool and paraded around the main driveway past the other rooms.
They were repeat guests and got the impression it was OK with the owners. Other than this we enjoyed our two day stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 (Main Hose). Wonderful wrap around veranda with Mountain views. Spotty wi-fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC197561000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurt s, Owner at Meadowlark Country House, responded to this review, 8 September 2015
Yes WiFi is not everywhere. 20 acres is a big span but if you are in or close to the main house, in the guest wing or at the pool area, you just need to ask to connect to WiFI with no security code.
Some TVs are not the latest model but they do the job. We do plan to replace some of the TVs with the latest models when we are ready to do this. We think this is not the most important reason guests come to Meadowlark and the Napa Valley. There is so much more to do and not enough time.
We believe little plastic and glass bottles filled with shampoo or conditioner to be thrown away when once opened is an environmental irresponsibility . When do people realise they are polluting and doing damage to the environment. The large sized bottle of soap and conditioners does less damage and is just as efficient and less wasteful and we are happy to do our part for the environment. A shower curtain would help with the spray which goes on the floor but sitting in a whirlpool tub for 2 and having a shower curtain glued to your back is not very inviting . Having a little water on the marble-tiled water proof floor is no issue for us. There are many towels available and the maid will provide as many as the guests need.
The clothing optional aspect of Meadowlark applies only to the pool area. We have not been aware and have never seen any guest nude outside the pool area. Our guests and definitely our repeat guests are respectful and are aware that nudity is not accepted outside of the pool area. No body has ever complained to us in all these years about seeing any person walking nude outside the pool area. We cannot imagine anyone would be that bold.
We are happy that regardless of the above our guests enjoyed their two day stay. We are looking to seeing them in the future.
Kurt and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Let me say this is the first time I was moved to review a stay and I am glad it was for such an amazing experience! I travel a lot for work and it has been a long time since I actually paid for a place to stay (I usually use points) but my wife wanted to do something a little different for our stay in wine country. After much searching I came across Meadowlark. I looked at all of the reviews I could find on various sites and I was convinced this was the place for us. It is a very laid back place and atmosphere. The room was wonderful (Mountain View room) and the view was spectacular. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and tranquil. I thought that things could not get better until I met the owners, Kurt and Richard. They were so hospitable and friendly that I felt I was staying with old friends or family. Do yourself a favor and stay for the incredible breakfast and conversation that goes along with it. Not only will you meet some great people also staying, but you will get a chance to spend some time with your hosts. If you have not decided where to eat or what wineries to visit, Richard can help you plan some things out (Every suggestion was a winner!) And Kurt....He has such an engaging personality and we found ourselves getting lost in conversation every morning. While this was our first visit to Meadowlark, it will certainly not be our last. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Every room is great but Richard and Kurt can help you chose the room that is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent three nights at Meadowlark and loved it. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with horses, chickens and other birds providing some background interest. The pool area is spacious, sunny and clean, a perfect place for some tanning and relaxation.

Richard and Curt are outstanding, gracious hosts, who often enjoy the sumptuous breakfast with you. (One of the best we've ever had at a b&b.) The experience was a great part of our Sonoma/Napa vacation and we'll always stay there when we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericnelsonchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
555 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
910 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Property: Meadowlark Country House
Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing