We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the wine country B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #3 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2006

My partner and I spent 2 fantastic nights at the Meadowlark Inn to celebrate our 10th year together. We were beyond ourselves to have picked "heaven on earth". Our hosts were fantastic and very knowledgeable of the entire wine country area. Our suite was perfect in every way. Our breakfast was first class. The pool area, sauna, jacuzzi were delightful. We found out that all you had to do was inform the host of our desires for "where to go, what to do, where to eat" and our choices were perfect. Rooms and private decks were very exclusive. WE WILL RETURN!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2006

My husband and I are enjoying our stay at the Meadowlark as I write this note. We are relaxing before we head out for another lovely dinner. Our stay has been outstanding and we are reluctant to leave. Our hosts could not be more inviting. We look forward to seeing them and the other guests each morning to exchange notes about what we have been doing. We have enjoyed the opportunity to have a pool, hot tub and sauna at the end of each day. Although clothing optional, there is nothing uncomfortable about the environment at the poo. Our sentiments would echo those of nearly eveyone who has written about this place. The one guest who was offended by the CO pool area should probably have thought about that before she selected this place. Our room is lovely. The bathroom is contemporary and very clean and the breakfasts are delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ireney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

My husband and I planned a trip to share with my mother. After reading the review in Fodor's, we decided to stay at the Meadowlark Inn. Our only hesitation was the Clothing Optional Pool and Sauna. In advance of our trip, we called the inn to discuss this unique feature. We were assured that their decision to build a clothing optional pool was based on the owner's European background. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find multiple nudist magazines that promoted the nudist lifestyle scattered throughout our rooms and the pool area. Needless to say, these magazines made us uncomfortable.

In addition, the rooms, although relatively expensive, felt more like a friend's guestroom than a sophisticated B & B. The rooms desperately needed to be updated, painted and generally cleaned. We certainly appreciate a more laid back atmosphere but felt the lack of amenities including a new bar of bath soap is taking it too far.

The grounds felt very similar to the poorly maintained rooms. Our walk of the grounds was quickly detoured due to garbage and debris from a not so recent renovation that blocked the path. The trash had clearly been there a great while by the cobwebs that covered them.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

While searching the internet for a good place for a few days in Napa, my wife and I were attracted by the clothing optional pool. Having taken a modest au natural plunge in St. Martin a few years ago, this really appealed to us, but wondered what the living arrangements would be like. The only thing better than the private and quiet location, and beautifully decorated rooms, were the owners Richard and Kurt. They are truly warm and wonderful people who make you feel like you are their most important guests. We are not surprised that people become regulars here. Their suggestions for food and wineries and other sights were extremely helpful.

Oh yes, the pool/sauna/hot tub area was lovely and relaxing with about half of the people enjoying the "optional" option. Great hosts and great breakfasts (including the conversations each morning with the hosts) will definitely bring us back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank GDMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

Couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Meadowlark. Kurt and Richard were friendly and helpful. The pool area and grounds are a delight and the breakfast was remarkable each day!

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank slipstream9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

My husband & I just got back from a long weekend at the Meadowlark. We loved it there! We had a much needed relaxing vacation. The hosts Kurt & Richard were so very warm, friendly & helpful- both the perfect hosts! We stayed in the smallest room because we were on a budget & it was perfect for us. It was comfortable, attractive, private & quiet. We wanted to visit Calistoga & really wanted to stay at a place with a pool. There are not very many places in Calistoga that have great pools & Meadowlark definitely has a fabulous pool! We loved coming back in the late afternoon, took a dip in the pool, then relaxed by the pool & chatting with other guests. The pool area is clothing optional, we DO wear swimsuits & we felt totally comfortable. We had gotten married up in the Napa Valley a few years before, so I had checked out all the B&B's & hotels in Calistoga & St Helena, so I have seen lots & lots of places. And Meadowlark is most certaintly at the top of the list of places to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank DarleneSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

After your first visit to Meadowlark you will be hooked. My wife and I have been coming here for 6 years since our wedding night and loved it every time. Kurt and Richard are very gracious hosts and really make you feel at home, it's like visiting family that you actually like! The rooms are comfortable, the pool is incredible, and the company is the best. The morning breakfast conversations are great and there is always a real sense of community amongst the guests. Don't be afraid of the CO pool area, it is not creepy in any way shape or form.... take it off and I gaurantee you'll not want to swim any other way.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mschonfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1.8 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#4 of 27 in Calistoga
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £178 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing