We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil location, amazing hosts, modern decor, this place has Everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlark Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tranquil location, amazing hosts, modern decor, this place has Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

There are so many great things to say about this B&B that it’s almost exhausting to try to justify its beauty and charm in a review. On a scale of relaxation it’s beyond the charts peaceful and tranquil. Since it’s in Calistoga, which from San Francisco allows you to drive through most of the wine country first, we stopped at some of the furthest wineries on our way to the hotel. As a result we got in later in the day and there was a sweet note on the door welcoming us. They let us know where our room was, how to get the key, when breakfast was served, and that they had upgraded our room.
BREAKFAST: Breakfast of course was beautifully charming and tasty, always with a bowl of cereal along with one day pancakes and the next day eggs Benedict. The hosts Kurt and Richard are the sweetest people ever and we looked forward to seeing them each morning at breakfast. They would spoil us with good food then sit and join us for breakfast. They have all the information you could ever need and help you pick the best way to spend your vacation and help you get reservations where their needed. They were extremely helpful and made us feel like family. They even gave us a baggy of fresh picked cherry’s from the garden. It doesn’t get much better than that.
ROOMS: I’ve attached pictures of various rooms because Richard was sweet enough to walk us around the property and show us all the different charms of all the different rooms. The pictures speak for the amazing modern taste of Kurt who decorated them, the bedding even made my husband want the same comforters for our bed at home. The water is all natural mineral water which makes your skin feel beautiful, and we tried to drink at least a glass a day since it’s suppose to be very good for you. All the extra comforts of home are mixed with the beautiful modern styling’s such as; a small fridge, robes, wine glasses, chocolates, and even a perfectly relaxing mixed CD in the stereo.
I can’t say enough wonderful things about this hotel or Napa itself. We had the most romantic vacation of our lives here, and that’s saying a lot seeing that we travel often. We are already trying to plan our next trip back within a month and want to bring our families and friends. If you’re looking for a modern room with all charm of a tranquil retreat then I can promise you happiness with this B&B.

  • Liked — The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, the hosts are great!
  • Disliked — Leaving. i didnt want to leave, cant wait to go back
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pearsonwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
298
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

Oh my gosh, what a wonderful experience! My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't be more pleased. Our hosts, Richard and Kurt, were gracious and so welcoming. Kurt gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner as we spoke with him while we were in the hot tub - so relaxing. Our breakfast each morning, prepared to perfection by Richard, was so wonderfull and filling that it was enough to keep us going all day until dinner! The grounds are wonderfully kept, as well as their horses and stables (beautiful animals). The room we stayed in was quite comfortable, tasteful and clean (loved the jacuzzi).
The guests we met there were all so friendly and warm.
We loved the clothing optional pool area; it's quite liberating.
We will definitely be coming back.
Thanks Richard and Kurt!

  • Liked — Very quiet, clean, and great breakfasts!
  • Disliked — No visible temperature control in room i.e. air conditioner?
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PRTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2007

To celebrate my wife's birthday this year, we decided that a long weekend in the wine country would be an ideal way to combine our desire for some relaxing "down time" with our appreciation of fine wine. While we were thrilled to spend much of our time visiting the wonderful wineries and fine restaurants in the area, our greatest discovery was Meadowlark Country House.
Not knowing where to stay in the area, we did extensive online research before settling on Meadowlark. Our research really paid off.
Richard and Kurt were delightful hosts...friendly, attentive and helpful. On Saturday morning, Richard spent quite a bit of time with us after breakfast recommending some of his favorite wineries and making dinner reservations for us at two outstanding restaurants. His recommendations were right on target, and we discovered two wines that immediately moved to the top of our "favorites list". His restaurant choices were superb.
Breakfast at Meadowlark was not only delicious, but a fun opportunity to get to know other guests. Our spacious room was beautifully decorated, included a fireplace, and opened to a private patio. On Sunday afternoon, we decided to take a dip in the jacuzzi, and enjoyed complete privacy (and a newly-acquired bottle of wine) for nearly two hours. In the evening, after dinner, we relaxed on the front porch watching the horses graze and the wild turkeys running about. Delightful!
We have decided that whenever we return to the wine country, the Meadowlark Country House will be our only choice. I can't imagine a better choice.

  • Liked — The friendly, intimate B&B atmosphere
  • Disliked — I liked everything about this accomodation.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack_and_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2007

This is a great place for a wine-country escape. My wife and I just spent a weekend there. To get the basics out of the way, the location is great, the house is beautiful, and the rooms are tastefully decorated and have all you may need in a B&B. We enjoyed the whirlpool tub in our room as well as the shared facilities (tub, pool, etc). Of course, this is a B&B, not a high-end hotel, so somethings are not perfect, but all if you have to do is ask the people that run the place...

Which brings us to the best thing about Meadowlark, the people that run it, Kurt and Richard. They really make you feel like home during your stay. Staying with them is a relaxing experience. Make sure you reserve a couple of hours for the breakfast. Apart from the great food, the discussions with them and the other guests were on the highlights for our whole trip. Moreover, do get their advice for where to go in the Napa Valley. Their restaurant, winery, and coffee recommendations were just amazing.

Overall, we loved the place and would definitely go back...

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CA+GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2006

My partner and I spent 2 fantastic nights at the Meadowlark Inn to celebrate our 10th year together. We were beyond ourselves to have picked "heaven on earth". Our hosts were fantastic and very knowledgeable of the entire wine country area. Our suite was perfect in every way. Our breakfast was first class. The pool area, sauna, jacuzzi were delightful. We found out that all you had to do was inform the host of our desires for "where to go, what to do, where to eat" and our choices were perfect. Rooms and private decks were very exclusive. WE WILL RETURN!

  • Liked — gay friendly
  • Disliked — as advertised
  • Tips/Secrets — keep this place in mind
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2006

My husband and I are enjoying our stay at the Meadowlark as I write this note. We are relaxing before we head out for another lovely dinner. Our stay has been outstanding and we are reluctant to leave. Our hosts could not be more inviting. We look forward to seeing them and the other guests each morning to exchange notes about what we have been doing. We have enjoyed the opportunity to have a pool, hot tub and sauna at the end of each day. Although clothing optional, there is nothing uncomfortable about the environment at the poo. Our sentiments would echo those of nearly eveyone who has written about this place. The one guest who was offended by the CO pool area should probably have thought about that before she selected this place. Our room is lovely. The bathroom is contemporary and very clean and the breakfasts are delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Modern bathroom, attractive room, great breakfast, wonderful hosts
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ireney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2006

My husband and I planned a trip to share with my mother. After reading the review in Fodor's, we decided to stay at the Meadowlark Inn. Our only hesitation was the Clothing Optional Pool and Sauna. In advance of our trip, we called the inn to discuss this unique feature. We were assured that their decision to build a clothing optional pool was based on the owner's European background. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find multiple nudist magazines that promoted the nudist lifestyle scattered throughout our rooms and the pool area. Needless to say, these magazines made us uncomfortable.

In addition, the rooms, although relatively expensive, felt more like a friend's guestroom than a sophisticated B & B. The rooms desperately needed to be updated, painted and generally cleaned. We certainly appreciate a more laid back atmosphere but felt the lack of amenities including a new bar of bath soap is taking it too far.

The grounds felt very similar to the poorly maintained rooms. Our walk of the grounds was quickly detoured due to garbage and debris from a not so recent renovation that blocked the path. The trash had clearly been there a great while by the cobwebs that covered them.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank lwaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Property: Meadowlark Country House
Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing