We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing and wonderful...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #3 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Carbon, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So relaxing and wonderful...”
Reviewed 21 July 2007

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in Napa Valley, and were really ne rvous about where to stay and what to do in Napa. We chose Meadowlark from Fodor's guide book, and everything we read about from the book and from Trip Advisor was exactly right. Meadowlark is amazing. It sits right outside of Calistoga on a big chunk of land set back from the highway. The ground includes a horse stable, beauitful gardens, and great views of the surrounding areas. The owners, Kurt and Richard are the greatest people in the world. Kurt takes care of the grounds and the horses, while Richard cooks the meals, helps new guests find things to do in the area, and attends to needs in the room. We got there, and found a wonderful note saying that our room was ready and that they were out on the town running errands. We stayed in the Mountain View room, and it featured a huge deck for our room, a 4 post bed, television with DVD and VHS player, along with a mini fridge and couch and siting area. The bathroom was beautiful and included a 2 person jacuzzi tub, that was so relaxing. In the mornings, we went to the main house and were greated with a wonderful breakfast. A bowl of cereal, orange juice, and coffee were all waiting for us at our table. After we sat and ate, Richard came out with the main course, which was different everyday. One day we had custard filled french toast covered in strawberries, another was what Richard called a fluffy omelete, and the third day we had poached eggs. During breakfast, Richard would sit down with us, and talk to us and answer any questions we had. He knows the valley so well and suggested places we go everyday (including restaurants to eat at, wineries to go to, and places not to go because they were tourist traps or had bad reviews) Everyone of his suggestions was perfect. The property also includes a pool, jacuzzi, and sauna that is clothing optional. Our stay at Meadowlark was so relaxing and wonderful. When we go back to Napa Valley, we will be staying at Meadowlark again. They made you feel so wonderful and welcome.

  • Liked — Richard and Kurt were so accomadating
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank m_wartick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
307
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

This was our first forray into the smaller Inn/B&B experience and we just couldn't say enough positive things about this place. We stayed in the Mountain Room and it was just a little slice of heaven. Very large room with three sets of french doors which you can leave open all day long if you like - with a nice breeze blowing through.

Kurth and Richard let us have the run of the place - anything we needed, just go downstairs and grab it - like glasses, plates or such if we were wanting some private time on the deck of our room.

The breakfasts were great for us - the portions weren't over-the-top and Richard really does do an excellent job. We're health conscious and he was great about that.

The pool area is something I am surprised isn't written more about in other reviews. It is something else! Like something you would find any four star hotel in terms of opulence. It is indeed clothing optional but unless you're a prude you would be fine with this - quite tasetful.

This is being a tiny bit nit-picky but the only thing I winged about was the noise from the road which you can hear in the house. This really is splitting hairs though - after the first day I didn't notice.

We would go back in a heartbeat and would highly recommend this to anyone!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank #1Vancouverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

What a wonderful inn! A piece of heaven on earth. I would recommend the Meadowlark to anyone looking to get away from it all in beautiful Napa. My husband and I were in San Fran for business and decided to do a long weekend in Napa. Based upon the strong reviews in Trip Advisor we decided to try the Meadowlark. We are so glad we did. We stayed in the Mountain room which is in a separate building from the main building and kitchen. It gave us amazing privacy, we had our own patio overlooking the mountains, barn and horses.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, ours with a four poster bed. Also, the location is just a few short minutes from down town Calistoga which has cute stores, a coffee shop and some great little restaurants. We hired a driver and toured the country, highly recommended for a day of wine tasting.

  • Liked — Charming hosts, great rooms
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SunnyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

There are so many great things to say about this B&B that it’s almost exhausting to try to justify its beauty and charm in a review. On a scale of relaxation it’s beyond the charts peaceful and tranquil. Since it’s in Calistoga, which from San Francisco allows you to drive through most of the wine country first, we stopped at some of the furthest wineries on our way to the hotel. As a result we got in later in the day and there was a sweet note on the door welcoming us. They let us know where our room was, how to get the key, when breakfast was served, and that they had upgraded our room.
BREAKFAST: Breakfast of course was beautifully charming and tasty, always with a bowl of cereal along with one day pancakes and the next day eggs Benedict. The hosts Kurt and Richard are the sweetest people ever and we looked forward to seeing them each morning at breakfast. They would spoil us with good food then sit and join us for breakfast. They have all the information you could ever need and help you pick the best way to spend your vacation and help you get reservations where their needed. They were extremely helpful and made us feel like family. They even gave us a baggy of fresh picked cherry’s from the garden. It doesn’t get much better than that.
ROOMS: I’ve attached pictures of various rooms because Richard was sweet enough to walk us around the property and show us all the different charms of all the different rooms. The pictures speak for the amazing modern taste of Kurt who decorated them, the bedding even made my husband want the same comforters for our bed at home. The water is all natural mineral water which makes your skin feel beautiful, and we tried to drink at least a glass a day since it’s suppose to be very good for you. All the extra comforts of home are mixed with the beautiful modern styling’s such as; a small fridge, robes, wine glasses, chocolates, and even a perfectly relaxing mixed CD in the stereo.
I can’t say enough wonderful things about this hotel or Napa itself. We had the most romantic vacation of our lives here, and that’s saying a lot seeing that we travel often. We are already trying to plan our next trip back within a month and want to bring our families and friends. If you’re looking for a modern room with all charm of a tranquil retreat then I can promise you happiness with this B&B.

  • Liked — The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, the hosts are great!
  • Disliked — Leaving. i didnt want to leave, cant wait to go back
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pearsonwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

Oh my gosh, what a wonderful experience! My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't be more pleased. Our hosts, Richard and Kurt, were gracious and so welcoming. Kurt gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner as we spoke with him while we were in the hot tub - so relaxing. Our breakfast each morning, prepared to perfection by Richard, was so wonderfull and filling that it was enough to keep us going all day until dinner! The grounds are wonderfully kept, as well as their horses and stables (beautiful animals). The room we stayed in was quite comfortable, tasteful and clean (loved the jacuzzi).
The guests we met there were all so friendly and warm.
We loved the clothing optional pool area; it's quite liberating.
We will definitely be coming back.
Thanks Richard and Kurt!

  • Liked — Very quiet, clean, and great breakfasts!
  • Disliked — No visible temperature control in room i.e. air conditioner?
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PRTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

To celebrate my wife's birthday this year, we decided that a long weekend in the wine country would be an ideal way to combine our desire for some relaxing "down time" with our appreciation of fine wine. While we were thrilled to spend much of our time visiting the wonderful wineries and fine restaurants in the area, our greatest discovery was Meadowlark Country House.
Not knowing where to stay in the area, we did extensive online research before settling on Meadowlark. Our research really paid off.
Richard and Kurt were delightful hosts...friendly, attentive and helpful. On Saturday morning, Richard spent quite a bit of time with us after breakfast recommending some of his favorite wineries and making dinner reservations for us at two outstanding restaurants. His recommendations were right on target, and we discovered two wines that immediately moved to the top of our "favorites list". His restaurant choices were superb.
Breakfast at Meadowlark was not only delicious, but a fun opportunity to get to know other guests. Our spacious room was beautifully decorated, included a fireplace, and opened to a private patio. On Sunday afternoon, we decided to take a dip in the jacuzzi, and enjoyed complete privacy (and a newly-acquired bottle of wine) for nearly two hours. In the evening, after dinner, we relaxed on the front porch watching the horses graze and the wild turkeys running about. Delightful!
We have decided that whenever we return to the wine country, the Meadowlark Country House will be our only choice. I can't imagine a better choice.

  • Liked — The friendly, intimate B&B atmosphere
  • Disliked — I liked everything about this accomodation.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack_and_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

This is a great place for a wine-country escape. My wife and I just spent a weekend there. To get the basics out of the way, the location is great, the house is beautiful, and the rooms are tastefully decorated and have all you may need in a B&B. We enjoyed the whirlpool tub in our room as well as the shared facilities (tub, pool, etc). Of course, this is a B&B, not a high-end hotel, so somethings are not perfect, but all if you have to do is ask the people that run the place...

Which brings us to the best thing about Meadowlark, the people that run it, Kurt and Richard. They really make you feel like home during your stay. Staying with them is a relaxing experience. Make sure you reserve a couple of hours for the breakfast. Apart from the great food, the discussions with them and the other guests were on the highlights for our whole trip. Moreover, do get their advice for where to go in the Napa Valley. Their restaurant, winery, and coffee recommendations were just amazing.

Overall, we loved the place and would definitely go back...

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CA+GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
554 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Property: Meadowlark Country House
Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing