We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chien Blanc Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Way Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bergson(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount View Hotel & Spa(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$566
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$905
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$649
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
20
6
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
6
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conditionercharming bungalowsprivate gardentwo blocksthe main streetliving roomfull kitchennapa valleybottle of winechelseabateauxprosspaslaundrydryerconstasting
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

There is no smoking inside but there are nice tables and seating around the grounds to have a smoke. It is more like a vacation rental and private no people snooping around. If you rent all three of these units, it is private and you have the whole place including the common room that is really cool, for late night hangouts while others sleep. The units are very clean and cozy, and the kitchenette is nice, because the market around the corner has tasty treats and yummy stuff for all if the spa goers. The Chelsea is next door and is very similar and around the corner is the Hideaway so large groups could stay like at a wedding. I would stay again. If you have a family, children, dogs etc.. this is the spot. You can go to any spa in town get a service and use the facilities all day, and Mount View has a 20$ day use.

Room Tip: The middle suite has a day bed for a couch and 3 people and or 2 kids can sleep together in it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've actually stayed at this property at least 4 times over the past 8 years or so. Most recently went to Calistoga with two other moms of elementary age children, well deserving of a break. We all three loved the apartment (Chinon bungalow) and it's location - easily walkable to the main drag, spas, restaurants and shopping in the little downtown area of Calistoga. The furnishings are eclectic and somewhat retro and have so many little personal touches, that make you feel you are staying at a cool friend's place rather than a hotel, or generic condo. If you want the hotel experience, you might be happier next door at the sister property Chelsea Inn, where they have a pool and breakfast. As far as décor, for someone who has lived in the Bay Area and San Francisco in many older but charming flats, I find it very pleasant. If you want an updated more generic "hotel" room, it may not be your cup of tea. The Game Room is a plus, extra space and a comfortable place to relax, make a fire, shoot some pool and laugh with friends, especially when you are all disheveled from spa treatments and don't feel like making the lobby scene in some hotel or other public space. The trundle bed in this unit comfortably sleeps 2 additional people, and the fact that you have two rooms means you can travel with friends or a partner and have some personal space, or let that special someone sleep in while you make coffee in the little kitchen (coffee thoughtfully provided but sadly no cream or sugar... so make sure to pick those up at the market the night before!) and read the morning paper. The price is very competitive - we paid about $250 plus a $30 charge for a third person, as opposed to the Mt. View Hotel which I have also stayed at and considered, where a double is closer to $400. It would be nice if there were no extra charge for more than 2 people, since there is clearly room for more than 2, but that seems to be a hospitality standard really, so no real complaints. Chien Blanc is also pet friendly and would have let me bring my dog, who declined as she is not into spa treatments. It was easy to book online, and to receive a code for the lockbox and self check in and out. I would classify this as more of a vacation rental than a hotel, but "specialty lodging" really describes this. If you know the area and want a great base to explore and enjoy from, and to be able to park your car and stroll around town in a low key, relaxed way, this is the spot for you. Having the fridge and kitchen means that you can bring some appetizers and libations to enjoy in the Game Room, tho the fridge could have been quieter... and there is even a washer/dryer in the unit, which would be nice for a longer stay. all in all a very unique and well designed property in my opinion and that of the many friends who have accompanied me to Calistoga for spa-ing and dining... Thanks for another great escape, Chien Blanc!

Room Tip: Have also stayed in Avignon bungalow - which is a bit funkier but also GREAT.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Napa Valley's become so much for the privileged anymore ($30 wine tastings the norm), that a comfortable, spacious place for you and maybe your dog for less than a ransom is worthy. Much still in the 1950s, but with updated touches. Responsive owners that treat you like a guest, not an income stream on a spreadsheet, nor, like some other places, that obsequiousness snaking around for a big tip. Walk to spas and restaurants in a few blocks. Full kitchen so you can get that midnight snack. Separate bedroom if you get annoyed with your travel partner.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank bosslady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was tasked with organizing a collage roommate reunion for the 5 of us and our wives. I had the challenge of balancing different expectations of comfort and budgets and this fit the bill perfectly. We took over the entire bungalow court plus the cottage at the Chelsea Inn next door. The bungalows were clean, well appointed and quite charming. Some other reviewers said dated but that is part of the allure for me. The Kitchens have old fashioned stoves and ovens but we managed to cook two great dinners and a big breakfast in them. The only reason it did not get five stars is that I save five stars for true luxury(think Biltmore). The only improvement is the game room needs to be kept up a little bit better. Other than that a great spot in a great town. The manager on site was most helpful and we would definitely return. While in town make sure you dine at Jole.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at the Chien Blanc over Thanksgiving 2011 with friends.

Pros are its great location near the center of town and the spacious accommodations - they are basically one bedroom town homes. They are also very clean, and provide free WiFi.

A major drawback is the dated facilities. And I don't just mean the decor - I mean everything, including the infrastructure. For example, the electrical wiring is from the 1950s - two prong outlets that are few and far between. Consequently, the owner provides multi-outlet strips to accommodate your appliances. There was a very dangerous situation in our unit where up to five appliances are plugged into a grounded electrical strip that was plugged with a two-prng adapter into a two prong outlet - very dangerous! Another example - the sealing around the door of the wood stove in the gameroom is falling off.

In both cases, I am surprised that the place hasn't caught fire. I am also surprised that the local authorities (whom I assume inspect these properties on a regular basis) allows these conditions to continue.

The owner also doesn't seem to bother to do some very simple things, like replace burned-out lightbulbs in the lamps. We couldn't find the owner to replace these bulbs, and finally just did it ourselves.

It is also a shame to stay in Calistoga and not have access to a hot spring or mineral pool. There are facilities available in town, but you must pay dearly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarvSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews