We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preparing for our third stay”
Review of Hotel d'Amici

Hotel d'Amici
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Amici
Ranked #19 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2007

We are preparing for our third stay at the d'Amici. We do think it is our secret little hotel that is slowly becoming more popular, especially since we recommend it to all of our friends going out to Napa Valley. We love the spacious rooms and the location is unbeatable in the cute town of Calistoga. It's nice to arrive and have that half bottle of wine awaiting us in the mini-fridge and awake in the morning to a basket of fresh baked goods and fruit. We stayed in Room 2 on every stay, and the little shared balcony is great - especially since we've traveled with another couple each time and they stay in Room 1 and share the balcony with us.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SnAnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2007

My husband and I love this little hotel. We have stayed here 3 times and it's always a favorite of ours when choosing where to spend our anniversary. We always request the same room too, so it feels more like our home away from home. Before we were married, we would always spend our dating anniversaries here and we look forward to visiting again in February, only this time as newlyweds.

The room is so cutely decorated and the bed has comfortable sheets and a down comforter. The bathroom is fantastic and has a gigantic tub, for which the hotel supplies you bubbles. =) The only problem with this gigantic tub is that it takes forever to fill up. So make sure to turn it all the way to hot and let it fill up over the next hour. Then once the tub is full, let it sit for a few minutes so as not to scald yourself when getting in. It's certainly big enough for two people!

One of the things we love the most about this hotel is the obvious lack of people to deal with. There is no lobby to check in with. You simply show up at the hotel and walk in the door that you're assigned (you get this assignment and confirmation with directions to the hotel in a package in the mail) and find the keys to the hotel on the table. Be sure to put the "do not disturb" sign on your door the night before because they do come by early in the morning with the paper and a bucket of breakfast goodies (muffins, rolls and juice).

The room we usually stay in (which I think is either suite 3 or 4) is situated toward the back of the building near a restaurant... and so on the weekends, you're generally awakened nice and early by the sound of bag upon bag of bottles being thrown into a recycling bin. Quite a lot of clanging for so early on a saturday or sunday morning. But this is a mild problem considering the great room you get. The winter prices for these rooms completely make up for the high chance of rain you're to experience when visiting during the wetter times of the year.

The restaurants around the hotel are really delicious, as well as the ice cream shop and bakery across the street that has some really good gelatto as well.

Overall, this is one of our favorite places to repeatedly visit. The ambiance and pleasant feel of wine country is an experience of which we never tire. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet, romantic place to spend the weekend, or the week.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TheNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

This B&B is a great hidden find. Four rooms are located above the shops on the main drag of Calistoga--and I couldn't hear any street noise below! Because it's in the middle of Calistoga's main drag, as soon as you step foot outside the door, you can walk to all the great shops and restaurants in Calistoga.

I've stayed twice and the rooms are spacious enough. They're well decorated, clean and comfy enough to make you want to stay in. The rooms have gorgeous hard-wood floors; the tubs are oversized (perfect for two!); the towels are thick, fluffy, and absorbent; two of the rooms have their own gas-lit fireplaces (in the shape of an old-fashioned pot-bellied stove!); and the sofas and beds are comfortable.

I love the breakfast basket that's delivered each morning! Freshly-baked breakfast pastries from a local cafe, fruit and juice got me on my way just fine. Street parking has some restrictions but I didn't have a problem with those restrictions.

The two down-sides for me--the rooms only have queen-sized beds and during high season, the rooms get booked quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank aitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

What a find!!! My husband and I traveled to Napa with his sister and her husband over the July 4th holiday. Hotel d'Amici was absolutely fabulous! If you are looking for nice accommodations in a great location, this hotel is for you. There are 4 suites and we had the 2 facing the main street in downtown Calistoga (Suites 1 & 2). These suites are perfect for 2 couples traveling together because they share a balcony that overlooks the town. At first I thought it would be noisy but it wasn't at all. The rooms themselves were so nicely appointed and decorated. Each morning, we found a lovely basket outside our door filled with fresh breakfast breads, juice, coffee and the morning paper. How lovely! While there is no front desk, we found we had everything we needed and it wasn't a problem at all. They serviced the room each day and it felt like we were really being taken care of. I would highly recommend this hotel and the town of Calistoga. I think it is the best place to stay in Napa Valley! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hokie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2005

This hotel is great! I wasn't sure what to make of it based on the information I'd been given (B&B or hotel), but I'm very glad we chose the Hotel D'Amici. It's right on the main drag in Calistoga and you can walk to tons of stores and restaurants...even a winery or two. I would venture to say that this place is more hotel like, than B&B like. There isn't a check in desk. You simply walk up to your room, and your key will be inside. The room was super clean, with a great little bathroom and huge tub and even a separate living area. A bottle of wine and some water was also in the fridge when we checked. A nice perk! Plus, they leave a continental breakfast outside your door in the morning which was great for the two of us (3 pastry type items, OJ, jams/cream cheese/etc, a couple pieces of fruit and the newspaper). I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DaniLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
27
Reviewed 1 March 2004

Great place to stay!!

The wood floors, down comforter and gas fireplace we nice touches to the perfect location. The bathroom was thoughtfully made and large. I'm 6'4" and rarely fit under most hotel showers, but this place was one of few exceptions. The entire place was comfortable and complete with couch, air, etc.

The stairs lead right off of the main drag in Calistoga which was convenient. The place has more of an apartment feel w/o a front desk or onsite staff but we never felt the need for either. It was dead quiet and felt very private.

We've stayed twice. The first time the both of us dined @ The French Laundry (awesome) and the second for just a quiet weekend.

I would definately recommend this place to anyone visiting the area without hesitation.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2004

We were fortunate to secure a last minute, holiday cancellation for the suite in the rear of the building. Management was courteous and gave us a great deal. Overall we had a pleasant, enjoyable stay in spite of a few problems, which kept this from being a wonderful experience.

The hotel is located in the middle of the main street in Calistoga, and is very appealing from the outside. Unfortunately, we did not receive any instructions on how to get into the hotel when we first arrived as the main entrance is kept locked. As a result, we were very confused upon arrival. We finally called the number on the door, and were connected to the answering service. They didn't seem to know what to do either, but eventually were able to give us the code to enter the hotel.

There are two very large staircases up to the rooms, which should be kept in mind for anyone with ambulatory issues. The stairway and hallway areas are bright, clean, and modestly adorned.

We loved the decor and feel of the suite we had. A combination of rustic charm, antiquarian simplicity and contemporary Italian style.
Hardwood floors, colorful down comforter, beautiful wood furnishings, and a most stylish bathroom with separate toilet room. The hotel provides an excellent selection of coffess and teas, and you also receive a bottle of Rutherford wine and couple of bottles of water.
There also is an attractive collection of toiletry products.

But there also were some problems. Although there is a wonderful two person bathtub with rain forest shower head, the hot water in the bathtub/shower was not working consistently. We had to use the coffee pot to finish filling up the bathtub with hot water from the sink. The shower was very relaxing and pleasing when the hot water was fully operational.

The hotel provides a very nice breakfast package with juice, pastries, bagel and fruit. Unfortunately, ours did not arrive until well after 9:00am although it is advertised for 8:30. When we called the answering service to inquire, we were treated very rudely.

Finally, we had the most amazing experience of having a completely naked woman walk into our room at 5:30 in the morning!! We were assured by management that this has never happened before, and in retrospect we found the incident quite comical as it was New Year's Eve and we were situated next to two rooms filled by a wedding party. We suggest locking your door even though there is no reason not to feel perfectly safe in that building.

When we brought these problems to the attention of management when we returned home, we were treated very respectfully and generously. And we trust that management will follow-up on the various issues we encountered.

In short, a unique arrangement bringing together some of qualities of hotels and B&Bs. This property has a lot going for it, and it has even more potential. Some of the problems occur from not having on-site management, though there is an on-site Inn Keeper. The reliance on an answering service, particulary an ill-infomed one, is unfortunate. All that being said, we certainly look forward to returning and would recommend it to friends.

6  Thank ericsf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
993 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
0 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amici

Address: 1436 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1418
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £139 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amici 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel d'Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing