We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love at first bite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanric Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chanric Inn
Ranked #10 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love at first bite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Simply put...Chanric has the most AMAZING three course brunch complete with fresh coffee, gourmet tea, and fresh orange juice. Some ingredients come from their organic produce at their home. This is worth paying for alone!

CHAN & RIC-Amazing hosts. Chan and Ric both are more than willing to help you eat and drink at top notch places. They are an excellent resource for anything in the area. Ric is a professionally trained chef and it shows through his works of art in the A.M. They both are funny, personable, and will do anything to help you feel "at home".

ROOM-We stayed in the room w/ a queen bed and shower. It was perfect for us! The beds and pillows are soooo luxurious. Lots of natural light, black out shades for morning, chocolate biscottis & water provided daily.

HOME-Refreshments provided for guests (soda, water, sparkling water), refrigerator may be used to store personal items such as wine or gatordade, pool, jacuzzi, outdoor patio for dining, picturesque front porch, comfy living area with games, plenty of parking, and Dennigan...the most adorable yellow labrador retriever. They re-painted the house and it looks amazing!

Chanric is PERFECT for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, unique "home away from home" experience. We hope to be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlassHalfFull17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
276
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We just happen to stumble upon the Chanric and booked it for our honeymoon. From all the reviews we read we figured this was a great place, we were wrong. THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PLACE. In a day and age where customer service has been completely forgotten, Channing & Ric the owners, understand how to make everyone's stay perfect and make them feel welcome. Everything here is done to perfection from the pristine condition of the house and gardens to the fabulous brunches that taste as beautiful as they look. The Inn is located walking distance to downtown Calistoga where you can dine and shop. Ric & Chan can make wonderful recommendations. Caistoga is much more peaceful than Napa proper and we could not be happier we chose that location and the Inn. If you are looking for a romantic get away where you can relax and be hosted by two of the greatest guys ever, the Chanric is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyhensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Chanric. The innkeeper was very helpful and gave us some great suggestions for dinner and winery visits and even helped to get us a couple last-minute tastings (a couple wineries even gave us a little extra love when visiting when we said the Chanric sent us). Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the service was excellent. The room (room 1) was clean and nice and reasonably spacious, though the shower was a bit cramped. And in this room the traffic noise was definitely noticeable, though we were so exhausted from gluttonous eating and wine drinking that it didn't both us as much as we would have guessed. Calistoga is an ideal place from which to visit Napa Valley, and this is a good home base.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusewordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The Chanric Inn was a delight to find. The two guys who own it make you feel so welcome and the place is very relaxing, tranquil and restful. One of the owners is a fantastic chef who cooks the most amazing brunches every day which is served most excellently to you in the open plan kitchen/dining area. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and it seems like every last detail has been taken care of and that nothing is too much trouble. There is a great pool and hot tub which is great for either daytime sunbathing or in our case a nighttime dip to look at the stars. There is even a dedicated room for massages which looked really good although we did not take advantage of this facility. The inn is very conveniently located in Calistoga, a picturesque, small town at the the northern end of the Napa Valley and from here you have access to fantastic wineries and restaurants as well as a few shops. I was visiting with my husband and we found this to be the perfect place for couples wanting a quiet, classy get away from it all experience. It was a real home from home. I would not recommend this as a place for those with children, in fact I believe there is a no under 16 policy at the inn (do check though) but for the discerning traveller looking to get away from it all in true Napa fashion and with great hospitality, I cannot recommend it enough. I have marked the value for money down slightly but this is only because Napa in general is an expensive area to stay - in terms of cost, this accomodation was really only the same as other comparable places in the region but represented good value for money taken in that context.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McIntosh-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Chanric should be your next stay when you travel to Napa Valley (or Sonoma, for that matter). Chan and Ric are absolutely delightful gentleman- a true pleasure in conversation. When you first arrive, one or both of them greet you at the door, escort you around the property, and make every effort to to put you at ease and feel comfortable in the space. Chan offers to schedule any dinners, wine tastings, or spa treatments right away, so all you're responsible for is relaxing- what a treat! As we said in the title of this review, the house itself is beautiful, peaceful, and stylish. Not only is the building itself gorgeous, but we stayed in one of their King Rooms With Bath, which was the perfect balance of charm, style, and space. The bathroom was certainly cozy; with the space so clean, tidy and well thought-out, though, you certainly don't notice the size of the bathroom while you're in there. The furniture in the bedroom was sleek, and the bed was very, very comfortable. We prefer uncluttered spaces, so this was the B&B for us. As a newly married couple (just the day before we stayed at the Chanric), we were hoping for an "adult" space to spend the duration of our vacation, and this was truly it! There is great attention to keeping the noise level in the B&B at a minimum, and we really appreciated those efforts. Now, everyone mentions this, but the breakfasts are truly amazing. Ric has a remarkable talent for creating three courses that are visually stunning, expertly portioned, and delicious! The pool is a cool retreat at the end of the day, and the garden surrounding the house is peaceful. The location is just north of the main street in Calistoga, which is great at well- just far enough from the hustle of the town, but close enough to 29/128 and the Petrified Forest Road to Sonoma. We actually missed the turn the first time we tried to find it, that's how secluded it feels! What else can we say? I am a wine buyer, so my husband and I travel to the Valley a lot. With all of the hotels we've frequented, this B&B certainly ranks at the very top. We were so happy to have had the opportunity to stay at this gorgeous place, and we will definitely return in the future. Chan and Ric- cheers! We can't wait to see you both again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdfglaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chanric Inn over Thanksgiving week and let me tell you, it was a treat to remember. The room was lovely, very modern and very clean. We had a package that included in-room champagne, pre-arranged wine tours and a monogramed robe. We tacked on a massage to the package as an extra treat and it was worth every penny! Since it was Thanksgiving week, one of the wineries included in our tour was closed. To make up for it, the owners arranged for us to spend the evening with a talented wine maker. This was one of two highlights of our trip. The second highlight was the breakfast at the Chanric Inn. The gourmet breakfast was to die for! I could not ask for more in a B&B and would recommend you stay here if you are looking for a truly special experience in the Napa Valley.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missdiaz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Rick and Channing get everything right - outstanding food, great rooms, arranged excellent massages, great wine tastings - would highly recommend the Chanric Inn

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andre7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanric Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanric Inn

Property: The Chanric Inn
Address: 1805 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624 (Formerly Culver Mansion)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chanric Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanric Inn, recommended by Condé Nast Johansens, offers exquisite service and enticing packages. Focused on the discerning culinary traveler, indulge in a multi-course, chef-prepared brunch and complimentary wet bar, late afternoon hors d'oeuvres with wines, Schramsberg at night . Also, enjoy soul-soothing massage treatments in our tranquil spa, hot Jacuzzi and nice pool with view. Take advantage of special rates with our packages that combine all the best that Napa Valley has to offer. We adhere to an eco-friendly and green philosophy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Chanric Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanric Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing