We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, modern decor and best breakfast ever!”
Review of The Chanric Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chanric Inn
Ranked #10 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at this B&B. We love staying in unique places when we travel and this fit the bill. It is a beautiful old home but is updated in a chic modern way. I love the decor because, I have to say, I get a little overwhelmed by floral wallpaper, and bedding, and rugs, etc, that you might find in your usual B&B. The bed is comfortable, bathroom clean and room has all you need. As for breakfast, here's an example - We started with cappuccino followed by fresh melon in cognac sauce, next we had salmon on broccoli mousse with a maple/soy glaze and ended with blueberries and blackberries in coconut cream. The small servings were perfect -one amazing bite after another. A great start to a day of wine tasting. Finally, we purchased a package that included a couples massage with Sue and PJ and they were fantastic. Easy going experts! Enjoy the Chanric Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 1 upstairs. If we get a chance to return I'd request a room downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardinalCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Your review is such a delight to read — we are so pleased to know that your visit was a true pleasure and a relaxing getaway. One amazing bite after another! It's great to know we hit such high marks. Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation! We hope we will have a chance to host you and prepare new remarkable bites for you again in the future!

Joel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

This is tough to rate... The place is lovey! Very sophisticated decor, nice amenities . The booking process was alittle questionable ? We were quoted one price in our decision making and 24 hours later the price had increased based on availability ? After arrival we quickly learned there is only one other couple? The location is on the hwy and extremely noisy...we got little sleep due to no air conditioning thru the night and u can't sleep with the windows open. After expressing our concerns to reservations???? Basically too bad? Should have done more research on our stay! Unfortunately when you make a decision based on what you read and are sold over the phone is not always true. They take full payment no refunds? we being the other couple in peak season speaks for itself! It's unsettling to feel deceived !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1lolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Mrs. “lolo”
We are stunned reading your review! We are available 24h/24h and we do not understand the reason you did not talked about all these issues at the INN; we would have made our best to find solutions. This is a real surprise! You and your husband were so kind in the evening at the wine & cheese, at night enjoying Schramsberg sparkling, in the morning at brunch it looks like you have appreciated, but even that we are not sure anymore … Even at the last moment when you left the Inn (remember we were chatting about your trip from Montana and you asked us to meet our doggy) you have told us that your stay at the inn had been fantastic! Only half an hour after your departure you called our answering service saying you were upset with many issues! Generally the guests, when they have issues, try to fix these during their stay…
We are very glad you and your husband have enjoyed the complementary room upgrade with courtyard view, the complimentary Schramsberg sparkling and the drinks served at the pool…
Our future guests will separate the chaff from the wheat.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night--just a short getaway to the Napa Valley to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary.

We found this Bed and Breakfast to be excellent, quaint, clean, and modern. Joel was a great host. He met us to check in, served us welcoming champagne, and gave us a quick tour of the Inn.

Service was excellent. Breakfast was served gourmet style--3 courses, sweet or savory/salty dishes with juice, water, coffee/tea. And the early evening wine and cheese snacks was also a very nice touch.

Overall, we had a relaxing and fantastic trip. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a higher end, modern, yet still boutique B&B.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dyangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

From breakfast to the goodbyes, we want to give each of our guests a truly outstanding, relaxing experience. It's wonderful to hear that we could help make your anniversary a little more special! It sounds like we really lived up to our goal, which is exactly what we want. We'd love to see you again next year!

Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Well this is our second time in this Beautiful B & B; the 1st time 8 months ago before the remodel of the house(beautiful before all so)but the owner's want to give the house a special and personal touch, well is so Spectacular that you never want to leave, is Elegant, comfortable,and at the same time they make you fill at Home.The owner's J & J are always checking the minimal detail to assure you have the best time ever; the staff that help on the house are Respectful and so Nice,the food Oh!!My Good Exquisite. Something special always happen for us this trip was more than one Bottles of Delicious champagne and new friends that ones that give you the filling that is like family; know tank's to The Chanric I have a sister from a different mom.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinthya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear C & J, it was so nice to see you again! As you say I had the feeling to receive family members at home! We are so happy to hear that your visit was so spectacular, Cinthya! And thank you for the terrific review here on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your kind words. We're glad to know that we're still living up to our reputation for elegant excellence. See you soon! Joel & JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Chanric Inn is one of the most well-run B&Bs I've ever stayed at, and might be *the* most well-run. The ambiance and decor are chic and classy, the entire grounds feel like a well-designed retreat, and the breakfast food and service are on par with a fine restaurant. The proprietors are lovely and welcoming.

A few reasons for the four-star rather than five-star rating:

1) It's right on the main highway through Calistoga, which results in some road noise;
2) The shower in our room had limited water pressure;
3) Depending on the level of privacy you want, noises in the upstairs rooms are all pretty audible to the other rooms on the floor.

Please don't get me wrong though, we'd happily stay here again and think the hosts are doing a superb job creating a special place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We are so happy to hear that your visit with us was so wonderful, Mike! We make every effort to ensure that the ambiance is just perfect and that all of our guests feel completely at home and relaxed when they join us. We hope that you both will join us again in the future, and if you remind us, we'll try to get you into one of those quieter upstairs rooms. Also the city of Calistoga is finally in the process to improve the water supply of the city...
Thanks a lot for your kind review,

Joel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Where to start??

Great location. I love calistoga with its bucolic charm and trees so much more than the rest of seemingly artificial Napa.

The hosts. Simply perfect. Kind generous professional and thoughtful.

Every detail is high end. From the truffles at night to the best 3 course gourmet brunch to the best toffee ever to multiple choices of sparkling and Still water and sodas available constantly.

Hi end toiletries and blow drier. Great waffle bath robes.

Black and white silent films playing from a projector in the living room above the fireplace.

Coffee and tea available at all times and served by the bedroom at 730 and as part of breakfast.

Wine, champagne and hors d'oevres every afternoon served on the patio or pool or wherever you want.

The place was fully renovated by the new owners. Modern but warm and eclectic. Great clean pool and lounge area.

The hosts. So great. One morning I didn't want the special salmon breakfast and offered to make myself an egg. They made me a cheese and potato soufflé.

When we were by the pool at 530 and not wanting to leave to go to the cocktail hour, without asking--they brought us everything poolside.

I loved the toffee and the owner have me extra when I left.

He brought bottles of water to the car for us on a particularly hit day before we went out.

I will never stay anywhere else in napa.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear S and K, wow, what a review ..."Simply perfect." — We are truly honored by the words of kindness. It is wonderful to know that you had such an enjoyable, relaxing and exquisite time in Calistoga. That is all we hope for, and it is a delight to hear, and it was relatively easy, you have been the perfect guests... happy you liked the cheese souffle. Reviews like yours make the work worth it. Next time you visit Napa, we do hope you'll join us again! Do not eat too many toffees!!!

Joel, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My only complaint is that i didnt stay longer. The service and attention to detail were top notch and the host, Joel, was warm and welcoming. The room was so clean, the bedding superb, and decor throughout the house was chic and nothing you'd imagine at a bed and breakfast. I can't wait to go back! One can get used to being greeted with gourmet food and drinks and no other place but The Chanric Inn will do!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimef2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanric, Owner at The Chanric Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Aimée and Elias, "Warm and welcoming" is what we hope to be, and it's truly touching to know that you had such a wonderful time with us. Thank you for the very kind review. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
1.0 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
974 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanric Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanric Inn

Address: 1805 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624 (Formerly Culver Mansion)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £189 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chanric Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chanric Inn, recommended by Condé Nast Johansens, offers exquisite service and enticing packages. Focused on the discerning culinary traveler, indulge in a multi-course, chef-prepared brunch and complimentary wet bar, late afternoon hors d'oeuvres with wines, Schramsberg at night . Also, enjoy soul-soothing massage treatments in our tranquil spa, hot Jacuzzi and nice pool with view. Take advantage of special rates with our packages that combine all the best that Napa Valley has to offer. We adhere to an eco-friendly and green philosophy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Chanric Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanric Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing