We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High priced but special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calistoga
1 review
“High priced but special”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you haven't visited Calistoga Ranch, you really should. It reminds me of what Napa used to be before traffic jams and wine trains. The rooms are small cottages with little outdoor living rooms and some have hot tubs overlooking forest. Prices are HIGH, so if you can't afford at least $1,000/night, don't bother calling. Ask for a room that is away from the electric cart path so people aren't staring at you every time they drive by. Also, if you want sun on your deck, say so. Last time we were in #127, which was great except it never got sun so even in April it was chilly. Fortunately, there's an outside gas fireplace to make you feel cozy with two comfy chairs and ottomans. The inside living room is connected by outside deck to the bedroom/bath, which seems odd at first but you get used to it. The big bathtub and the outside shower are fab. Make sure you visit the small private bar at the restaurant, and bring mosquito repellent for the evenings (they provide a bottle in the room; use it.) Two bocce ball courts and a big outdoor pool, on property hiking trails, spa and fitness room help you work off that great Napa Valley food. Nearby is cute little Calistoga and some up and coming wineries. Avoid driving south if you can.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John & Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear John & Julie D,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your time with us! We are so happy you love the layout of the resort, the hiking trails, bocce courts and the room amenities, and agree that the small town of Calistoga is a must-visit.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    87
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
88
488
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

From the point of arrival we loved this place. Very casual, very relaxed and very well presented. Accommodation was superb - from the luxurious beds to the spacious separate living area everything has been thought through and to the highest quality and finish. Walking between the rooms and grounds it was like having your own country ranch with your own staff who were always there to help - even in the rain nothing was a problem. Breakfast was brilliant and we were able to really enjoy our English pancake day in American style with fresh blueberries and maple syrup. Dinner atmosphere was a bit lacking and the menu did not match up to the variety and quality of breakfast. Saying that room service is highly recommended and with such sumptuous living accommodation it was a shame not to use it. Location excellent for exploring the quality end of Napa Valley.

Room Tip: To be honest you don't need a room with a hot tub considering the extra cost and amount of times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iannorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear iannorman,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your time with us at Calistoga Ranch! I am glad you enjoyed the casual and relaxed atmosphere of the resort, as well as the service provided by our team.

Please visit again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place was one of the best stays we have had. Great food and great rooms and the location was spectacular.
A high end way to be in Napa and they can set anything up for you. Don't forget to do the hikes!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chifftom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Chifftom,

I am so thrilled you enjoyed the food, room amenities, location and beautiful hiking trails offered at Calistoga Ranch. We are so fortunate to be located in such a beautiful canyon here in the Napa Valley. Please visit us again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

As two under-sunned and over-worked individuals from New York, my boyfriend and I were looking for the ultimate getaway, and Calistoga came through 100%.

The grounds were breathtaking, from the winding and exclusive entrance to the natural beauty overlooked by the restaurant and even to the hills peeking over the walls of your outdoor shower. There's a vineyard with three adorable sheep chomping on the grass, a stunning pool area and two trailheads that leave to incredible hikes and views of the valley.

Our cabin was perfection. The bedroom and living area are split up with a gorgeous deck, private jacuzzi and indoor/outdoor fireplace connecting the two. Upon arrival I spent a couple of hours just decompressing next to the fireplace and couldn't have been happier or more comfortable.

Each and every staff member we encountered was both friendly and knowledgable. They understand how to take hospitality to another level with genuine care. Not enough could be said about the overwhelmingly gracious staff. Spearheading this truly amazing operation is Coni Thornburg, the General Manager of Calistoga Ranch. She made us feel so incredibly welcome upon our arrival, and tended to our every little need along the way.

The amenities are incredibly chosen. We spent a day riding bikes to the different wineries in the area. As soon as they knew we were from Calistoga Ranch, we were treated like gold there too!

We really can't say enough about this amazing resort and look forward to returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear CKLittle,

Thank you for the wonderful response! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the grounds, amenities and the genuine care that our team shows each and every one of our Guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just returned from five nights at Calistoga Ranch in Napa Valley. Early Spring in the Valley is gorgeous, the hills and mountainsides green, many vineyards carpeted in bright yellow mustard flower, pear and plum trees in bloom, and rain, of course, which we need desperately so I shan't carry on about the wet days and nights. During the week, at least, there is almost no traffic and it's easy to get around especially in the Mercedes two-seater kindly lent by the Ranch. What a hoot for us!

The setting is in a small canyon is very special and many of the lodges are close together, more so than you'd think or like. Privacy can be had but it's not impermeable and it costs very much more. We chose to upgrade to a two-bedroom lodge at a special rate (which still was hefty). We very much enjoyed the larger quarters with its marvelous outdoor living room (couch, comfy armchairs, outdoor gas fireplace, grill, marble-topped dining table, ceiling fan and heaters). It's covered so it can be enjoyed whatever the weather. I don't think I'd return if I couldn't enjoy the larger lodge. Which brings me to cost. At over $2,000 a night (at the special, discounted rate) only breakfast included, I just can't justify it. I'd compare it with Vermont's Twin Farms which costs about the same but gives so much more and more reliably. I don't mind paying mega bucks if I receive the splendid experience it ought to provide. Calistoga Ranch isn't there yet although it is by no means a pedestrian experience.

Service overall was generally spectacular and sweet and genuine. The fetching to and fro in little golf carts was prompt and kindly. Concierge service was not as attentive as expected at these prices. We each had spa services (massage and facial) and these were extravagantly outstanding.

Beautiful trees, moss, lichens, plantings and abundant birdlife are plusses. Luxurious bedding and linens; everyone loves the outdoor shower. There are limited food options on site, probably exacerbated by our low-season timing.

Room Tip: Two bedroom lodges feature the best outdoor living spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatalinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Catalina W,

thank you for the review of your stay with us! I am pleased you enjoyed our Mercedes Program as well as the lodges and beautiful scenery of the resort. I do apologize that there were some aspects that didn't meet your expectations, but am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Privacy respected, suggestions at the ready, no request too small! The Calistoga Ranch has it all, and if for some reason you think what you need is missing they will make it happen. A wonderful escape for one or two OR go big and have a life event celebration. Beautiful surroundings that are completely private. Amazing beds with down comfort everywhere. Fireplaces and hot tubs are standard fare. Take a hike, a tour, enjoy gourmet cuisine and a location that keeps you within minutes of everything Napa. Love this place. It was SO hard to leave.
My favorite thing? The out door private shower's giant rain heads and the amazing steam room at the spa. A squeaky clean aromatic soaps and lotions dream.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a hot tub- you won't be sorry. Overall the value at the Ranch is fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Lee M,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us! I am so pleased you were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings, the lodge amenities as well as the service our team provided to you during your time here. We definitely hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Headed to the wine country of the Napa Valley? Do you need a special place to rest and relax? Are you celebrating a life event? Consider the Calistoga Ranch, you will find a secluded paradise that will transport you completely, body, mind and soul. I would encourage you to check out the amenities and realize the value of a resort that is the complete package. Beautifully appointed rooms, amazing cuisine, attentive staff, a spa to die for and activities at the resort and the surrounding area to keep you entertained and wanting more. Trust me you can't miss if you stay at this resort. A fantastic value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Coni T,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your time with us and for the comments on our beautiful rooms, cuisine, staff and activities throughout the resort. We agree Calistoga Ranch is a peaceful and secluded location perfect for feeling pampered and relaxed.

Please do visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
8.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
712 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
23.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
14.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Property: Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 50 Free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing