We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Nearby Hotels
EuroSpa & Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solage, an Auberge Resort(Calistoga)
US$576
US$495
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$173
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bergson(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
US$204
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
US$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa(Calistoga)
US$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort(Calistoga)
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
649
92
36
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
92
36
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerlakehouse restaurantgolf cartliving roomhiking trailsbedroom lodgedouble sided fireplaceconcierge staffoutdoor living areaseparate buildingsroom service isfrench laundrylarge deckchicken coopwine countryrental carbeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have visited the top hotels in Napa and this was the last on our list. Based on word of mouth reviews, we expected a 5 star experience with top notch dining and service. The property was nice but the rooms were well below what you expect for $1000+ a night (and we didn't book the lowest quality room). Also, its a timeshare property so there other ways to access the property without going through the hotel. The pool is beautiful. The pool bar and staff are excellent and they work their butts off. The gym is interesting; its indoor/outdoor so when its hot out, it does not make for a great experience (and it gets HOT). Also, for $1000 a night, I would expect the TVs on the equipment to work and WIFI. Neither worked. Strange since the rooms all work on a iPad based system that is not very intuitive. Our one experience with room service was a fail since it took an hour to arrive (they committed to 20 minutes for breakfast: bagels and breakfast sandwich) and the kitchen was literally 50 yards from our room. They did the right thing and comped it. The restaurant has a beautiful location but it took forever to get service and the food was sub par. To cap off our stay, the kitchen oven/stove smoked all night from its chimney and blew directly into our room and kept us up all night. When we complained we were offered a free night.....Who is going to fly to Napa for 1 night to check in at 4 and out at 11. Sorry guys but too little to late. There are three other exceptional 5 star hotels in the Napa area that are significantly better than this property and in some cases, half the price. Try them first.

Lastly, the staff worked hard, but they were understaffed. It is clear that whoever is creating the staffing charts is working with a seriously tight budget. Thanks to the concierge team who were excellent and worked hard to help us enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Stay downwind of the restaurant and ask for an upgrade. Some rooms are a LONG way from the pool and gym.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charlessouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear charlessouthey,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the pool as well as several staff members however I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short. It is our highest priority to ensure each guest has a wonderful time and I am so sorry to hear of these shortcomings. I would love to talk further with you about your stay, please feel free to reach out to me at coni.thornburg@aubergeresorts.com.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Coni Thornburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rare place that like LDB pictures are great but place is even better. All staff is crazy nice and attentive without being in your way. This is a perfect couples retreat. Concierge set up great winery tours. Only regret is we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasCars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Texas Cars,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us and for the compliments to our staff. We too wish you could have stayed longer, and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This resort is definitely worthy of the many accolades it has received. Quietly tucked on a beautiful hillsides property, the place instantly spells "luxury" the moment you enter its winding driveway. Each private villa is integrated in the property's impressive landscape. I distinctly remember the guide telling me that no tree was cut during the resort's development. Expect "oh so hush" discreet service as you lounge in the spacious and well-appointed villas.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank djmontano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear djmontano,

Thank you for the wonderful detail of your stay with us. I am so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the luxury of the Ranch as well as the room appointments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Calistoga Ranch in the future.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many places around the world and so far this was the best. I like so many things about this place its beautiful outdoor setting the amazing rooms with garden showers , the restaurant setting and amazing food, the outdoor style gym the list goes on and on.
What really stood out was the hospitality, and the fact that there weren't a ton of hidden charges. Yes the stay here is not cheap, but I really liked the fact that after spending the initial investment we didnt pay overnight parking fees and pay for water and snacks in the fridge like so many other luxury resorts charge for.
We even got offered to drive one of their loaner Mercedes benz convertible for the day wine tasting .My wife and I were amazed by all aspects of Calistoga Ranch and cant wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shakayseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear shakayseth,

Thank you so much for all of the wonderful compliments and for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy you enjoyed the outdoor setting, our shower gardens and the delicious food at The Lakehouse Restaurant. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nestled among beautiful trees and rolling hills, it is incredibly calming. The service was good. The food at The Lakeside Restaurant good too.

We booked one of the lodges that was 1,200 sq feet, with a hot tub, one of the more expensive lodges. Our goal was complete relaxtion so we planned to stay in the lodge the entire 3 days we were there. BUT, we had neighbors right next door and we could hear every word they said and could see them in their lodge and on their deck. So, for the expense of $1,500.00 per nite I would have expected much more privacy, much more.

Also, the technology of the lodge is outdated. No blue-tooth and ipod docking stations are outdated by several years so connecting your own music is not doable.

These are first world problems, clearly but for the expense -- was disappointed in the lack of privacy. Won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Allison H,

Thank you for being our guest at Calistoga Ranch and for the wonderful compliments on the service you received as well as the cuisine at our restaurant. I would like to apologize for the areas we fell short of your expectations and will use your comments in order to improve our guest experience. I hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Calistoga Ranch so that we may create a wonderful stay for you.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews