We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else...”
Review of Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hideaway Cottages
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else...”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Although it's been a few years since I stayed here, I still think about it. I've stayed here on 3 seperate occasions and was delighted each time. Within walking distance to the store and some cute shops. Everything you need in these adorable cabins, and the service was fantastic. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed during midweek during harvest. We enjoyed the location and the wonderful grounds surrounding the cottages. Having breakfast provided really helped keeping the costs down. We didn't use the amenities much due to a busy schedule but enjoyed a morning soak in the jacuzzi. We were never able to log onto the internet with my friend's ipad and asked a couple of times about it but we were told it was spotty sometimes. However the staff was very helpful in printing out anything we needed. If you want full service without any effort on your part, this isn't the place. Many times I had to call Dr. Wilkerson's front desk (two blocks away) for anything needed (extra pillow, sheets for the pullout, wifi service, if keys don't work in door, checkout, etc.) .
If you want privacy and intimacy the cottages are fabulous. We mainly ate out in St. Helena and Yountville. The location in Calistoga was close enough to everything but far enough away to be out of the crowds. We loved it. The only reason I gave sleep quality a lower score is that the fridge made strange noises all night long and I am a light sleeper. If you are staying with friends and one snores, the walls are not thick enough to be a barrier and there are no doors on the sitting room or the bedroom to keep out noise. I slept on the pull out bed in the small but cozy sitting room and found it to be very comfortable. James was a perfect gentleman and was always charming and went out of his way to be a perfect host.

Room Tip: Bring a cell phone with a charger. You may need to call the front desk or confirm reservations and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a wonderful adults only place to stay. It feels like a small resort with the expansive lawn, lots of shady trees, outdoor seating and of course the mineral pools. It has a retro chic to it, with all of the rooms named for a city. Rooms are spacious with comfortable living room, small kitchen and large bedroom. There are lots of windows making it bright. Each room has outdoor seating for dining or just enjoying the beautiful setting. It is a lovely and quiet place to stay. The mineral pools include an outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi fed by Calistoga's famed hot springs. Each morning a Tote Breakfast is available to be picked up and enjoyed on the property or on the go. Staff are friendly and helpful. This is only 2 blocks from Dr. Wilksinson's Hot Springs, so be sure to book an appointment for "The Works" - two hours of bliss; you won't be sorry! Grocery store is close by if you want to purchase snacks or food to prepare.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank InternationalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I have just returned from another wonderful weekend staying at the Hideway Cottages. My friends and I always book Vienna and Rome so we can have a courtyard between us and have wonderful meals outside. The rooms are well set up and comfortable with we need always provided. And if we need something else, it is always available. James Hackwood and his
staff are wonderful. Thank you James for making our stay so great. We will see you next year!
Michelle, Helen, Donna, Rosemary, & Ilene

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you al!

As always, Teresita, Lieska and I look forward to your arrival each year and each try to make your stay with us more memorable! Your kindess and generous spirits are always a welcome addition to the Hideaway Cottages. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor! Please know that we look forward to seeing you again soon and that we continue on a daily basis to make Hideaway an even more relaxing getaway!

Best wishes,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The cottages are so cute and the kitchen made it possible to save some money for spa days! Clean, cozy and private. Also, this property is 18 and over which is perfect for our annual getaway. The breakfast tote was carb heavy but tasty! Good coffee too. Nice pool and also a short walk to the main street of town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave the great review. We make every effort to create a quiet and friendly atmosphere at Hideaway. Although only two blocks away from historic Lincoln Avenue, the property does have an intentionally "rural" feel to it! On your next visit, please let us know and we are happy to make your breakfast tote less carb heavy, perhaps adding more organic fruits in place of the carb heavy, but yummy pastries.

We thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We loved Hideaway Cottages! The cottages are super clean, well maintained and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and so nice to be able to relax in your cottage with a cup of yummy coffee. Hideaway is just two blocks from the main street so it was within walking distance of restaurants, spas, etc.. A charming place to unwind!

Room Tip: Just remember to ask if the cottage you're getting has doors on the bedroom, especially if snor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your very kind review! We make every effort to maintain a quiet and peaceful atmosphere for our guests.

As we do not accept guests under the age of 18, the grounds, as you stated, are usually very quiet and rleaxing.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at the Hideaway Cottages about two week ago with my girlfriend, Emily. We loved the place. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The lawns and gardens were well maintained. It was two blocks from the main street so there was no traffic, and it was a quick walk to all the restaurants and bars. Day and night, it remained quiet and peaceful. Because of the weather, we didn't use the swimming pool but we did enjoy the hot tub. I also enjoyed the no kids policy. Five stars, will recommend to friends and return in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend the Garden Fronts, best view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IRockHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.8 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cottages

Property: Hideaway Cottages
Address: 1412 Fairway, Calistoga, CA 94515
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Resort Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing