We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger”

Hydro Bar and Grill
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the Hydro Bar and Grill, after a morning of wineries. The place was jam-packed, as a World Cup match was playing. You had to seat yourself, and I found this to be problematic. The locals already knew this and would quickly scout a table and seize it, even if it wasn't their turn. It took us a few minutes to realize this.

Anyhow, we got a table and everything was fine. I ordered a blue cheese burger and fries. Delicious! The burger was tasty and the fries were perfectly crisp. I dislike soggy fries, what can I say. I can't comment on the bar bc I'd been drinking all morning.

Minus one star for this seat yourself(even though it's busy as hell) establishment. All in all, great food... I'll go back.



Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MandaGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    203
    78
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Burger in Town!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Really hip spot with good wine and great burgers. Very casual place. Friendly staff and good food. Even the Turkey Burger was off the hook! Good cocktails too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank meandmanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great beer options”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice wine and beer choices. Music won weekends. Didn't try the food, but many food choices. Lighting is cool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HomeSweetOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“friendly bar staff w sports tv”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Best bartender. We watched the 49er playoff game there and he was one of the group! Good bar food and great, friendly atmosphere. Going back again!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 784michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kick back place for a beer & great burger”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The town is alll about excellent wine & excellent food - but sometimes u just need to kick back with a good cold draft and a great burger (meat, turkey or veggie). This was our place for that - and we went back more than once. Good cocktails too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Net45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hydro Bar and Grill also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hydro Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing