We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Hydro Bar and Grill
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Although its not listed as having breakfast, we had a very nice breakfast at Hydro. We stopped here when the Café Sarafornia was packed. What a great find. The food was good, the service excellent. It feels like a bar, but it was clean and pleasant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    207
    79
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok food but needs some interior upgrades.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for breakfast. They had a decent selection of food mainly Mexican inspired. Service was ok but nothing to be proud of. The building had a strange odor to it might be from all of the old bricks inside and the bathroom was gross. In the evenings this restaurant is a bar.

Helpful?
Thank KaliMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not an award winner”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I decided to try their "award winning" hamburger. I cannot imagine what award this hamburger won, but it was a bit off-tasting and not what I would expect from a gourmet burger.
The mustard tasted off-the-shelf, the cheese was grocery-store quality and the lettuce, onions, and tomato slices were sub-par.

The iced tea was acceptable, as was the chocolate brownie.

When I pay above-average prices and receive a meal that is on or below the level I can get at a diner, I am disappointed.

Honestly, for the price I paid, I expected a home-made toasted bun, a high-quality locally-produced flavourful cheese, grass-fed organic beef and an experience and level of service to impress me.

I was greatly disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WalkaboutTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok plus - food is ok not great”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

atmosphere is ok plus, drinks are good.


One thing:
The high ceilings and the sparse decoration makes the sound bounce a lot so if you are unlucky in sitting in the wrong booth you will have to get loud for your partner to hear.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rolf_the_viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Food was quite good with the exception of one dish we ordered. However, this dish was removed from the bill with no questions asked. Service was excellent and speedy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tahotart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hydro Bar and Grill also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hydro Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing