We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a Diner than a Cafe”
Review of Cafe Sarafornia

Cafe Sarafornia
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More like a Diner than a Cafe”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It's OK for what it is. Location is good, service is fast enough, and food quality matches the prices.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Venera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    218
    90
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, NV
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

coffee was very strong - portions were average, food was average - service could have been better. Atmosphere was very nice - loved the decorations!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sparksnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcome to the notel Sarafornia!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was so good we had to eat here twice! Seriously though, it is just the best breakfast spot in Calistoga for sure. Always good when you see locals frequenting a place, that way you know they're for real and not just a touristy spot. This was just good home cooking and a cup of coffee that was ginormous! If you're a breakfast foodie like me...this is your spot in Calistoga!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hesitate”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a rough time at Cafe Sarafornia. It was the only disappointment we had in Calistoga. It started with a waitress dropping the coffee grounds container on the floor and picking it up to put it right back in the machine. Then, everyone's (party of 5) food was mediocre except for mine, which was terrible. The waffle was as hard as a rock. I couldn't cut it with my knife. The eggs were so dry, I could barely cut them with my knife. I write very few bad reviews, but this deserves it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank familyfunMBSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not what it was.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I've eaten here many times over the years, and the food is not what it was. Avoid the waffles. The huevos rancheros were ok but not great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sarafornia also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cafe Sarafornia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing