We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Amorosa

Castello di Amorosa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is the one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours,food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone" the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a touristic attraction, popular with those, who want to taste Californian wines, not cheap, but interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tatianakh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,301
    893
    368
    144
    98
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steve's awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We did the tour of the castle and it was fantastic!!! You will learn so much about wine and castles. Bring your camera. Steve K was our tour guide and he was great! He didn't make any mistakes (that we knew of) and he was very entertaining "a one knight stand" LOL! You will have to take to tour to get it. Thank you for making a wonderful memory and experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disney for Wine Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

What Fun! This stunning castle set in Napa Valley should not be missed. Do take the guided tour as you will learn so very much about both wine making and Italian castles.
The tasting at the end is perfect.
Well worth the money. Take your camera, you will want photo's.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose a few wineries to see during our 2days in the Napa . This was first on the list , closest to our accommodation . Our time spent and money spent were well worth it. Loved every minute there. The staff were all so friendly , informative and just nice. Of all the wineries this one stands out as my favourite. Even though it is a large establishment each person we came in contact with went out of there way to be helpful . Not too mention the castle itself was amazing. I only wish we had taken the longer tour so we could have seen more. All in all a #1experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Should be on your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful romantic castle, and great wines! Take time to wander the grounds or get a tour. There are lots of nooks and crannies in the castle, and some fabulous artwork. Take a taste of the grapeseed oil and check out the gift shop...some cool stuff in there too!
If you can afford it, take the premier tasting where you go upstairs at a table (vs standing at the bar). It might be harder to leave once you sit down and taste all those wines, but it was quite pleasing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing