We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit”

Castello di Amorosa
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th-century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours, food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award-winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone," the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were there in during the afternoon the middle of May and didn't find it particularly crowded. Suspect it, like any other attraction, will be crowded at other times. I found the tour of the castle fun and interesting with a wine tasting to top it off. Our guide was very informative and even suggested that couples who didn't mind sharing a glass might want to expand their tasting experience by selecting different wines off the menu and sipping from each other's glass. We took advantage of that option.
Take a little extra time to look around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,470
    923
    381
    149
    100
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Absolutely beautiful castle with interesting appeal for all ages. My pre-teen children loved feeling like they were in a13th century Italian castle. The grounds are pristinely kept and the self-guided tour was enough to enjoy with children. We loved the delicious wines and family toasting. This winery is family friendly and an absolute must while visiting the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
413 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We enjoyed our time at Castello di Amorosa & did the wine/food tasting. It's hard to believe that this castle isn't centuries old as it looks authentic! The grounds are beautiful & the castle itself is great. The food was excellent as was our host. Everything was presented beautifully in the private apartment upstairs. The wine itself was good & has an excellent pricepoint! Definitely worth a visit!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle...and the wine is great, too!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our experience at Castello di Amorosa was fabulous! The castle itself is impressive, and you must take the tour of the facility. It was a hoot to see a medieval torture chamber, complete with the accessories! Seriously, the castle and surrounding grounds are beautiful. We also took part in the wine tasting/pairing, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our tour guide was funny and also well versed with the vintages and the food pairings. This has become our favorite wine, both red and white.

You should call ahead and make reservations for the Castle tour. Worth devoting a day to the experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle, tasty wine”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place really is unique. It is worth a visit just for the castle itself. Be warned that for the castle tour you should call ahead and make an appointment. For just tasting though you can generally just turn up and they can accommodate you.

I enjoyed the fact that our tasting was in a "cellar" and our pourer was certainly knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about the wine. Be careful about getting too excited and committing yourself to a wine club - they do turn the crank on you quite hard to sign up.

Overall an enjoyable visit - I would certainly recommend to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank missaero69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing