We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing winery and wines!”

Castello di Amorosa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 136,000 square feet, the authentically-built 13th-century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours, food and wine pairing tours and a cheese and wine tour. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award-winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone," the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points. The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing winery and wines!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The castle is breathe taking and they built it to look and feel like an old, authentic Tuscan castle! Job well down! The grounds are beautiful, the staff are warm and welcoming and the wine is incredible! They do not mass produce and market their wines. You must be a wine club member to get them. To be a member you have to commit to one case a year! I highly recommend visiting this winery on your visit to wine country!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracystefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,538
    955
    395
    151
    104
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Inviting & educational tour!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Toured the castle today and found it most informative and loved the attention to detail. Sam was our guide and provided an interesting and comfortable tour ensuring that all of the guests on our tour were at ease. The wine tasting was good and loved the animals on the property.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good stop on any winery tour”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really had fun at this place. Only did the tasting, would like to go back and tour the castle as well. Went with a group of 5 people. Our Sommelier (or salesman) was very entertaining as well as telling the stories of their wines. It was crowded with several friendly, happy wine lovers enjoying the wines and the social aspect of the place. They did a good job of accommodating the crowd.

They start out by indicating you get to sample 5 wines from their non-reserve list for the initial fee. After you indicate an interest in purchasing a few bottles that rule disappears. We received many samples including some from the reserve selections. He also starting pouring more when we indicated we would be leaving soon.

Our group bought a case between us with some discounts. I'm not an expert but did like many of their wines as much as any of the 6 vineyards our group visited that day.

Checkout at the cashier was a little slow but our order was a little weird so maybe that explains it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I thought this winery was over priced and very cheesy. Was very dissapointed when we got there. I would recommend going to other wineries in the area or smaller ones to get a true experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christielucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the castle, not the tasting”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If the wine tasting is the most important part of your experience then this is not the place for you. If you want incredible landscape VERY unique architecture then you will enjoy this. I can't say enough about how wonderful the castle is. Every single detail was authentic and the owner should be commended for his attention to detail. It would have been worth just visiting the castle. Here is the thing, it cost $90 for my wife and me. The wine was great, but the tasting was so thrifty, miserly, awkward, and weird. For $90 you'd think you could try most of the wines and seconds on some that you were on the fence. This place gives you a sip for maybe 20% of the wines available. The guide sure to give you a sip, and no more. I was on the fence about buying a wine, but that ship had sailed because he wasn't going to pour any more. They were weird about glasses too. My wife had dirt stuck to the inside of her glass. The guide merely poured the wine from the dirty glass to a new glass. He didn't start with a new pour. That was awkward. The wines were great, it's just one of the worst tasting experiences in my experience. Is it worth $45 per person? Probably not. I think you can get a general admission and just tour the grounds. I'd consider that to be fair. For the record I did buy a case of wine anyway. It is good wine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfrinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing