We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“return again”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Second time returning to this excellent spa and hotel. We upgraded this time from one bedroom to one bedroom suite. Both were better than expected with plenty of room and out of this world beds. The bathroom were not only roomy but very luxurious. Staff is very helpful and will do anything you ask. The spa and bathhouse are very clean and have lots of staff to meet your needs. I would recommend the "Mud Slide" and soak in the natural mineral pools. The solbar restaurant is a gourmet experience not to be missed. We will return again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    150
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
130
533
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Since it's the first week of spring, we promised our doggies for a hiking holiday. Unfortunately it was a week of deluge. We needed a spot that we won't mind not being outdoors, will welcome the doggies, have Spa activities for the human and have good food. Solage met all our expectation. We booked the room on the day of arrival, we had requested arrangement of the the Spa treatment and restaurant reservation. Both were taken care of by the time we checked in eventhough both were fully booked otherwise. Solage treated the dogs just like any other well behave kids with responsible parents, with comfortable beds and no long list of "don'ts". The room and grounds are eco-friendly with native plants and meant to blend the indoor to the outdoor. The rain actually added to the ambience. The Spa treatment is professional and relaxing. Floating on the geothermal pool and watching the sky changes from rainy/cloudy to peeks of blue is lovely. THe studio we are in are attached to another, however, in between there is a housekeeping "storage/electrical" area that essentially isolates the rooms to ensure soundproofness. We had both dinner and breakfast at the Solbar restaurant with fantastic food and service. All personnel we met are helpful and solicitous. It is a wonderful stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My wife and I recently enjoyed a Valentine's Weekend stay at the beautiful Solage Calistoga!

We have stayed at many high-end resorts but the staff at Solage is absolutely amazing! From the second we arrived till the time we exited the property, the staff could NOT have been kinder or more attentive.

EVERY SINGLE ONE of the employees was so very polite and caring and never failed to greet us with a smile…morning, noon and night.

We dined in the highly regarded Solbar Restaurant for breakfast all three days we were there and dinner one evening. Fabulous food! All so fresh and creatively prepared. Solbar is obviously a favorite with the locals as well so, if you go, be sure to make reservations well in advance.

World-class wine tasting is literally all around the hotel. Rombauer was our favorite and just down the road from Solage.

My wife decided that she is going to live there and asked me to go back to San Diego to get the dog and come back to the hotel!

We could not provide a stronger recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VagabondJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Stayed for 1 night to enjoy the area as well as take a break at the spa. Everything is wonderful here --- the location, the rooms, the staff, and most importantly the spa and fitness facilities --- exactly what I wanted for my quick break.

The room was luxurious even though I was in the lowest tier room. Extremely quiet and clean with a very comfortable bed and bath like a personal retreat. The spa is now one of my favorites --- the mud treatment was much nicer for me than the traditional mud bath. I loved the private sunning/relaxation areas -- it was like having my own private pool.

I can hardly wait to return and am planning a romantic trip with my special someone for the spring.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My husband booked three nights for us over my birthday weekend. It was our third stay at Solage and nothing compares to their hospitality. Our city-wearied souls go though a complete transformation during our stay here and we leave feeling refreshed, relaxed and rejuvenated. The service and hospitality is impeccable. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly without being cloying. The environs are soothing, the food DIVINE. The bed incredibly comfortable. I had a flawless hot stone massage (shout out to Peggy) and my husband luxuriated during his 'Solage' massage. The spa/ thermal pools are wonderful and the eucalyptus steam is invigorating. Our only complaint...having to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGoddess123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Nicely located on Silverado Trail just outside of Calistoga center, Solage offers a fairly relaxing off-season environment, with all of the amenities you need. The resort was crowded during our first on-season visit and much less serene. Solage attracts a young crowd, which can occasionally get noisier than the more typical middle aged resort demographic. However, the units are spread out, and it's very peaceful in the rooms and their patios. The outdoor hot tub in our suite was a plus. Free (inclusive) wet bar was a special treat, but I don't think this applies to all rooms.

Service is generally attentive, rooms are clean, and spa treatments were good to great. However, the bus boy who showed us to our rooms via bicycle, seemed to be going through the motions when describing our room amenities - perhaps because we were returning guests. Our dinner at SolBar during our second visit last year was good, though the menu tries a bit too hard to be eclectic and exotic (pork belly, etc.) - not that we haven't been exposed to various cuisines before. During our latest trip, for lack of ANY traditional offerings at SolBar, we took room service - simple burgers and fries - and it's probably the first time I've had room service fries that were crisp and not soggy upon delivery. The gym is decent sized, with maybe 10 aerobic stations w/ TV's and a good selection of weight stations. There appeared to be an active series of exercise classes as well.

Solage is approaching a critical age at which it can begin to renovate and sharpen its attention to detail or let things slip. We hope they maintain the former route. But so far so good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorjeJaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The service was great across the board- in the spa, restaurant, front desk, concierge, housekeeping... Food was fantastic in the restaurant and we ate every meal there- morning, noon, and night. We ventured into the town of Calistoga for food once and had an awful meal so figured we might as well spend the rest of the time eating well and only went to SolBar (the hotel restaurant/bar). We read other people's reviews and ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes for breakfast. Delicious ! We are from the San Francisco Bay area so we have been wine tasting a zillion times but still managed to hit a few wineries. The B winery is across the street which makes getting there from the hotel very easy. Unfortunately, most of the other decent wineries are a bit of a drive, so it was nice to be able to walk to this one from the hotel. I have only great things to say about the place, if I were trying to find something negative, I would say the room that comes with the fireplace and soaking tub were a bit of a disappointment. The fireplace is ok, the only time you can see it is if you are sitting in a chair directly in front of it, it would be nice if you could lie on the bed and be able to see it too. The soaking tub is small, room for only one, two if you squish in. So if you want to have a romantic bubble bath with champagne for two, you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfbaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
16.9 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
10.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
678 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
17.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
888 reviews
16.8 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solage, an Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage, an Auberge Resort

Property: Solage, an Auberge Resort
Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515-1100 (Formerly Solage Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solage, an Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage, an Auberge Resort brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Solage, an Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing