We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Park Cottages
Ranked #8 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We visited Aurora Park Cottages in mid June and had a fantastic experience. The location is perfect if you were starting your wine tasting experience in Sonoma like we did and worked your way up. The cottage was cozy and quaint with an amazingly soft bed. The cottage also had a mini-fridge perfect for chilling a bottle of sparkling we picked up along the way for a late night toast. The ambiance was peaceful, private, intimate and perfect for a couples day retreat. We woke up in the morning and had coffee on the picturesque front porch with hummingbirds buzzing by and beautiful Napa as a backdrop. The check-out was speedy and on the drive back, the location provided easy access to wineries we wanted to try that we hadn't had the opportunity to the previous day. Thank you for an amazing experience and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennab522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Park Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was up in Napa wine tasting and the Aurora Park Cottages are the ideal location to spend the night. Driving up from San Francisco stopping at wineries along the 29 and Silverado Trail to end up in Calistoga at the cottages was a perfect ending to a fantastic day. Kate was very accommodating with our later check in time due to winery excursions. The cottages are very discrete and private with a cozy interior and great bathroom. The bedding was cloud-like and provided a well deserved rest to a busy day. We enjoyed the continental breakfast from the patio that overlooked Mt. St. Helena before another day of winery exploration before heading home to San Francisco. FYI Schramsberg, Costelo di Amorosa, Chateau de Montelena, Greystone Culinary Academy, Cindy's Back Street Kitchen are all close by and worth checking out. We can't wait to come back on the next Napa adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msaltray2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our second time at Aurora Park Cottages and it was just as nice as the first time. The weather wasn't as great as the first visit, but eating indoors was still good. We really like the location - easy walk to downtown Calistoga, easy drive to both Healdsburg in Sonoma and all of Napa Valley. Plus Silverado Trail is the way to go when driving on weekends in Napa Valley. I suggest you go there just to see what everyone is saying about the sheets - they're great! The only thing I wish they had was more storage space to put clothes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We highly recommend staying at Aurora Park Cottages when you go to Napa Valley. It's in Calistoga, within very easy walking distance of downtown Calistoga, which is a perfect combination of adorable and funky, with some great restaurants, winery shops and galleries. Calistoga feels much more authentic than Napa or St. Helena, or even Healdsberg. Because Calistoga is at the north end of Napa (which presents no problem if you're headed to wineries in Napa -- such an easy and beautiful drive), it's an easy drive to decent hiking at Mt. St. Helena and Robert Louis Stevenson State Park. But what made Calistoga exceptional was staying at Aurora Park Cottages. Owners Celeste and Joe, and innkeeper Kate, went out of their way to make our trip easier and better than the trip we would have planned. Our trip was scheduled last minute for one day and two nights, and we had no time to research wineries or restaurants in advance. Luck got us into Aurora Park, and dear Kate basically planned our entire trip for us, with great input from Aurora Park owner/wine and food conossieur Joe. She called several restaurants to find one to accommodate us for dinner following our late Friday arrival. Friday night, we mentioned we'd like to hike Saturday morning. Kate: "I'll print out some trails for you!" and -- boom -- several great suggestions with Joe and Celeste's helpful comments about parking and scenic views. They scheduled the highlight of our trip -- a thoughtful and detailed private tasting / wine and food pairing tutorial with Dean at Sequoia Grove Winery. We would never have known of that opportunity, much less had the connections to schedule it, but for Aurora Park. They also made Saturday dinner reservations for us at Cindy Pawlcyn's Back Door, sister restaurant to the chef's Mustard's restaurant in Napa. Again, a spot on recommendation that perfectly fit the type of food and budget we'd told Kate we wanted. It was conveniently located near where Kate and Joe knew our tastings would end Saturday afternoon.
Finally, about Aurora Park's accommodations: The grounds are covered with rosemary and lavendar and other herbs and beautiful greenery. Inside, the studios are immaculate and comfortable, with luxurious bed linens, robes and bath towels. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The toiletries are high quality and I'm ordering the lemon-eucalyptus soap and lotion for home. The style is simple (but not spare) and very high quality. Kate delivered a great pastry, fresh fruit and juice breakfast to our door each morning. She even delivered extra early the morning of our departure to be sure we'd have something for the road. Overall, our stay at Aurora Park was probably the most personal and thoughtfully detailed hotel/B&B experience we have ever had, anywhere. Hilary - 39 yo, Tampa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Napa Valley at Aurora Park cottages. It is located in Calistoga, which is about a half an hour drive from Napa itself, but route takes you along all the vineyards in Yountville and St. Helena.
You have your own individual cottage, porch & parking spot, which is nice. The room was furnished nicely, and was spacious. The bathroom was also big, and stocked with nice bath products.
There were a lot of Napa Valley brochures and coupons welcoming us.
Kate (owner?/manager?) brought us breakfast in bed every morning - croissants, fruit salad and juice, that was nice.
There is a coffee maker, tea maker, coffee, tea and wine glasses in the room, as well as mini refrigerator if you picked up any wine / cheese on the way.
Only minor complaint was that the bed was too soft for our liking - we sank into the beds.
The TV and internet worked fine in the room. Overall, nice, cozy stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoratheExplorer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was our first visit to the Napa Valley region and I loved Calistoga. I definitely recommend staying at the Cottages. Our cottage was adorable. Super clean, super comfy, especially the bed. Kate, the manager, was very helpful to us. My husband and I were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and Kate gave us a lot of great suggestions for restaurants, wineries, and activities around town. Be sure to use the area's shuttle called Mudrunners. We were able to be picked up and dropped off to the area wineries. It was an easy call to be picked back up when ready to head back to Calistoga.
Also a great way to get around the area was to rent a bike. We picked up bikes at the Calistoga Bike Shop. They were very helpful by marking out a suggested route. Calistoga has some great bike paths that keep you away from a lot of the heavy traffic on Hwy 29. We had a fantastic day riding our bikes through the beautiful vineyards.
I wish we didn't live so far away. I would be planning a trip out there whenever I had a long weekend. My husband and I hope to be able to get back very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We wanted to relax and enjoy the Calistoga area at a B&B after spending a few days in San Francisco, we started searching and we were very lucky to find Aurora Park Cottages. We immediately fell in love with the internet photos and we were not disappointed upon arrival. The reservation process was smooth and friendly and after meeting Joe and Celeste face to face we found out why. Our Innkeepers (as they call themselves) were all atention and attention was paid to all details, from the clean surroundings in the verge of the woods to the daily baked fig bread from which Joe is now famous.

Their advice on activities and recommendations of wineries and restaurantes never failed, and was spot on.

We went there in 2005, sometime we will return...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManoloMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.9 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.4 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Park Cottages

Address: 1807 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £139 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Park Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Park Cottages is your private vacation retreat in Napa Valley wine country. Located in beautiful Calistoga - the spa capital of California - our peaceful, country haven is just minutes from world-class Napa Valley wineries, excellent restaurants, and quaint gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Park Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Park Cottages Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing