We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quaint.”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Everything about this little inn was wonderful. Our room had a fireplace and the complimentary breakfast was beautiful. We will definitely recommend this little gem. The front desk staff lady was so helpful. Easy to find and easy to walk to the little town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

We contacted James in December regarding our wedding room block for April of 2013. He was helpful, and provided us with comprehensive info including a rate card differentiating between 3/29/13-5/30/13 (Spring Rates), and 5/31/13-11/9/13 (Summer Rates). We had another wedding celebration overseas in December in honor of my future mother in law... So needless to say, it was an insanely busy period. Because we trusted James and the details he provided, we focused our efforts on the December event.

Upon returning home, and less than 4 weeks from our last communication with him, we asked James to send us a contract to complete.

Lo and behold:
1) He rescinded upon the original AAA discount that he agreed to (although he claims this was a "misunderstanding", I have an email from him - and from this email I quote "Yes, I can set the entire group block up for XX% discount off with AAA")

2) He jacked up the rates in the contract without giving myself or my wedding planner a heads up... Surprise surprise, "Summer Rates" now apply for our stay in April. Any unsuspecting and trusting person, who wouldn’t think of cross checking the rate card, would've been duped.

We completely understand that flights/hotels use demand-driven pricing models. Further, in hindsight, we should've pushed to complete the contract before heading overseas - all fair, and we will consider as lessons learned. However, we are appalled at the manner in which he materially changed the pricing on us - without at least a courtesy notice especially since his rate card outlined dates for all of 2013, and without honoring previously agreed to terms.

All in all, this is simply dishonorable business practice.

If considering this hotel, take heed of our experience... Proceed with caution

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank itsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Itsytravel,

I sincerely apologize again for the confusion with your wedding group block request. As I had mentioned to your wedding planner, we did in fact have another wedding group that reserved the same dates that you had requested before you decided to move forward with your group block. Our room rates that were quoted were still spring season rates, but because the other group finalized their contract before you, the rates quoted to you were higher. I was also willing to offer the 10% discount for each of your rooms booked as I was made aware that you were AAA members, but with the rates being higher, your wedding planner informed us that there was no longer any interest in moving forward with the group block. I would be happy to assist you with finding suitable accommodations for your group. Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Warmest Regards,

James Farquhar
Hotel Manager
(707) 942-1112

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This hotel is a very cozy stay. The rooms are very charming, and the staff is very inviting. I stayed in room 18 while in town for a job interview. The room was on the second floor and was quiet as well as relaxing. Comfortable beds and a jacuzzi in the shower were both pluses. If you need a place to stay in the upper Napa Valley, then Christopher's Inn is the place to be!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

First things first, Sandra is delightful. Energetic and helpful, She watches over the Inn like a mother hen. The rooms are varied and eclectic. We stayed in 15 loved the open bathroom, but the front door has a gap on the bottom that whistles when you have the fireplace is on. 16 was a perfect room for gathering, 18 was a loft style room and each had a fireplace. The rugs are stained and are in the process of being replaced. The new owners are working on the rooms. The lobby s a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee or a snack.
The Inn is very close to town and many nice places to eat. All are within walking distance.

Room Tip: 16 is very nice 15 is ADA compliant. 18 near the back is upstairs and has a day bed built into the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel was excellent, the hotel staff was very helpful and our stay was very relaxing. The hotel staff (Sandra and Erwin) were also very helpful with "things to do, places to eat and wineries to visit". They also served up a very nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Check out all the rooms depending on what you want to spend. The property has a new owner who is get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Front desk clerk was super helpful.
Room 6 was where we stayed for 1 night.
Early check in was accepted two hrs. early.
Fire place, good size bathroom, fast wi-fi, direct tv, quality soaps and gels. CLEAN WARM COZY BEDDING AND BED. AC/HEAT, market across the street, gas station on corner.
Easy walking distance to town(lincoln st.)
Excellent location and short drive to the vallys winery's
Totally Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed overnight for my birthday, and were lucky enough to get Room 16, which features a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room's French style and amenities (wine glasses with corkscrew, cotton balls in the bathroom, plush robes) were wonderful! The bed was just the right kind of soft. Normally I can't wait to get out into wine country, but I didn't want to leave the room after we checked in.

Downtown Calistoga is just a short walk away, and there are at least 15 excellent wineries within 5-10 minutes drive time. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.1 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £108 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing