We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa Valley Weekend Getaway”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Napa Valley Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very clean room, carpet was a bit worn. We stayed in Room 17, King bed very comfy, sitting area with 2 couches with fireplace and an additional table with 2 chairs. (Very large room). Also included a Jacuzzi tub with shower. Also in the room (need for wine country) was a wine bottle opener and 2 glasses

Staff was friendly, basic Continental breakfast was included. Parking was included.

Walking distance to downtown Calistoga. Overall nice place and location, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaHonu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    175
    38
    17
    23
See reviews for
44
324
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and we wished we'd just stayed the whole week here! I know that all the rooms are a little different so for the record, we had Room 14. This was a medium sized room with a king bed, private patio and spa tub.
From the second we pulled into the parking lot of this place, we felt immediately relaxed. The check in process was very quick and professional (loved the nice touches of having free coffee and cookies for you in the lobby, and having you sit down across from the front desk person while they checked you in - we felt very well taken care of). Loved the key cards that you just hit against the lock rather than having to swipe - so easy with luggage! The room was so pretty, fit right into wine country. We loved the sliding doors out to our little private patio, which while small was very peaceful and private - no neighbors could see in and there was even a little fountain to provide a nice relaxing trickling water sound! Great place to sit and read and enjoy your coffee or wine during downtime. The bed was big and soft and comfy, and the TV was great - appreciated the HD and lots of extra channels since lots of hotels really cheap out on the TV, wanting you to buy pay per view stuff. Loved the spa tub, and the bathroom in general. The carpet is a little dirty, I think because of the way the bathroom is set up - there is only a tiny bit of tile outside the bathtub, otherwise when you get out of the shower/tub you have to walk on the carpet! So my guess is dripping water over the years has worn out the carpet. Didn't bother us; otherwise the room was spotlessly clean. 5 minute walk to downtown Calistoga. Quiet at night. Included breakfast was good, a step above your usual continental breakfast (cereal, granola, yogurt, pastries, bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs), and there's a nice little patio by the lobby to eat. Also felt that this was a good deal relative to other options in the area. Really can't say enough how much we loved our stay here, we hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed just for one night with my husband. The hotel is very cozy and parking is available on-site! We booked a room on the first floor with private patio and garden. We had a wonderful time. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. 5 minute walk from downtown Calistoga. Affordable price and nice hotel. We were happy with Christopher's Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_TravelSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is in general very nice and the room maids did a very good job.
Room was small but cosy and big enough for just one night.
But however, the carpet was that dirty that we didn't take of our shoes and avoided to run on it without shoes or socks.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mossy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mossy,

Thank you for taking the time to review Christopher's Inn, Calistoga. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned, the carpets in some rooms are due for replacement. We recently acquired Christopher's Inn and have completed several upgrades with more to come, including new carpets to be installed this year. We have professionally cleaned all carpets twice in the past 6 months, however some carpet stains could not be removed. We look forward to another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The manager, Sandra, and her staff provided excellent customer services, attending to every
request, from early room cleaning, extra coffee, and use of the staff refrigerator. Our room was very clean and maintained that throughout our stay. Daily chocolate cookies were also a nice extra treat. There was no pool, so ignore the rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankdbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Pretty little room, but clean, friendly and very centrally located. Free wifi and free breakfast. A good choice with a reasonnable price. Just 5 minutes walking distance to mainstreet Calistoga. The only thing I didn't like: the room was very hot, couldn't sleep very well. But hey - it's summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was looking for a short getaway for my wife's 60 birthday. Found Christopher's Inn online and thought it looked interesting. Room was very nice and clean. I had a patio room but the patio was not very big. But what made up for that is that we had a great sitting room in front to hang with our friends and play games or just relax and not have to sit on a bed. Very close to downtown Calistoga and all the spas and restaurants were within walking distance.
In the morning we had a nice comfortable continental breakfast but a little more than coffee and a muffin. Lots of local pastries, cereal, hard boiled eggs and a nice espresso machine as well. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly even while they were training future hosts at the time. Sandra the manager knew all the good places to go and great attractions. She was a a wealth of knowledge and really seemed to enjoy her job and it showed.
All in all a great trip. Next time I will try and get cabin #10 with its huge patio for our use. It seems like the crown jewel:) Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing